We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Oasis”
Review of Golden Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Lion
Ranked #4 of 5 Middlewich B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed in the converted cottages across the road from the pub which have been tastefully done and the accommodation is very good. The rooms are very contemporary, spacious and comfortable. There is a lovely garden at the back giving the whole place a feeling of peace and calm. We stayed at the weekend of the Boat and Folk Festival and where everywhere else seemed a bit raucous and busy, this was a quite little oasis.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahG17485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at this pub for 1 night only and expected it to be abit noisy as it was a saturday night . Ther was a party in the function room that went on until 2.50am. The noise was terfible as there was a balcony off the function room so most the party goers were stood outside shouting, talking, swearing, screeming and even vomiting!!! We had to be up at 6am so had very little sleep even with my earplugs in!!!!!! There is no wonder you have to pay upfront as we wouldnt have paid otherwise!! I have sent an email of complaint to the hotel but as yet they havent even had the decency to reply!!! Another 8 friends stayed the same weekend and they had no sleep the whole weekend!! What a joke the place is!! I have also complained to booking.com as we booked through them and they also have not even bothered to reply so beware and ignore these good reviews if I were you as I too think they are made up!

Room Tip: Avoid at weekend's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank dissapointedGoxhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

It was a last minute booking, and at £29 you couldn't really go wrong!
I arrived very late and (in the pub bar) was greeted by a lady who seemed to be the only one around, doing everything. It wasn't exactly the best check in process that I've ever had, but it was done very quickly. Although my booking confirmation said £29.00, on checking my debit card statement, it seems that inflation had caught up with this little hotel, and the sum of £29.79 was deducted!!! (Not worth the phone call to ask why)
I was told to "come this way mate" - my room was actually behind the pub and across the road. I asked whilst I was trying to keep up with her "what time does breakfast commence" and was told as I hadn't pre-booked it, I'd have to go to the mobile canteen across the road!
I was shown to my room and down the corridor to the communal toilet and bathroom.
It was very clean and comfortable - for a few hours kip, you don't need any more - and apart from the 79 pence, - very good value.
I won't have a problem staying here again, but will make sure that I pre-book the breakfast to avoid being told off!!!!!

Room Tip: If you don't mind not having a toilet in your room (or a sink in an emergency!) then all the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daitanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed here with a group of friends as we were attending a party in the area. The room we stayed in was lovely, it had a view out to the garden which was stunning! My room was clean, comfortable with an en-suite bathroom with bath & shower. Paid £39 for two of us for 1 night - superb value. The staff were so accomodating & friendly and went that extra mile! We had a few drinks in the bar and were amazed at the low prices and the vast choice of beers......will definitely stay here again. Would recommend to anyone. Thanks Golden Lion.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

stayed for the weekend, as i was at a family party. the room was AMAZING! loved the decor and how the flowers scattered around where so inviting!i felt so comfortable there, and everyone was so friendly! great value and i would totaly stay here again! loved every second of this hotel! top marks guys!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessica g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed for the weekend, the room was beautiful, Comfortable, Warm, Cosy, Quiet, Lovely view of the well kept garden. The bar was extremely friendly cheap beer prices, the landlady was very helpful and lovely she couldn't do enough, will defiantly stay here again. Highly recommend to anyone thinking about staying! Only a couple of minutes walk to the town! The whole place was kept clean at all times and decorated to an extremely high standard. The food served is explicit and haven't tasted better in England so far! Actually couldn't explain in words how much i enjoyed my stay in The Golden Lion, recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

All the comments under the Terrible banner are correct. Very expensive for what it is - with payment in cash in advance!!! - first time ever. No food at all other than a burger van in the car park. Accommodation at top of steep narrow staircase reasonably accessible for you are an olympic athlete providing you have light suitcases. In the morning there is no member of staff there at all so you are responsible for the entire place - open bars so help yourself!!
I cannot believe how this place has been rated so highly, must be friends or relatives of the owners and should be prosecuted for telling lies. This place is listed as a hotel, joke.
Only saving grace of the visit to Middlewich wa a superb meal at Blue Ginger.

Room Tip: Avoid it. There are no good rooms, although the TV was a decent size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 555Richard492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middlewich hotels
0.1 mi away
The Sandhurst
The Sandhurst
#2 of 2 in Middlewich
244 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Middlewich
Travelodge Middlewich
#1 of 2 in Middlewich
161 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Hotel
#3 of 5 in Middlewich
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kinderton House Hotel
Kinderton House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Middlewich
121 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hopley House
Hopley House
#1 of 5 in Middlewich
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lion

Address: 61 Chester Road, Middlewich CW10 9ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Middlewich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Middlewich
Price Range: £35 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular location in Cheshire, this popular hotel offers easy access to a variety of town & countryside destinations. Located in the heart of Middlewich, the Hotel offers fantastic transportation links being only 1 mile from Junction 18 of the M6 Motorway, the town of Winsford is only 1 mile away, Northwich is 3 miles & Crewe is 4 miles away. The Hotel boasts excellent travel connections being only 1 mile from Winsford Train Station & 2 miles from Sandbach Railway station. Manchester Airport is approximately half an hour drive. This is also a great location for short breaks & holidays with plenty to see & do. Nearby sites of interest include Jodrell Bank Science Centre, Delamere Forest & Oulton Park. The Golden Lion Hotel dates back to the 16th Century & offers a fully licensed bar offering award winning hand pulled Ales together with a wide range of other alcoholic & non-alcoholic drinks to be enjoyed in front of real log fires. The Golden Lion Accommodation offers modern clean rooms at good value. All rooms have flatscreen television up to 42", tea & coffee making facilities & free high speed wi-fi. Also available for all guests is a free on-site car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Golden Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Middlewich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing