We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Friends long weekend away

Booked the 8 birth Norm fjord for a weekend getaway. We had a great time doing 34 miles in total... read more

Reviewed 15 October 2018
Sandra M
An Unforgetable Experience Ever 此生難忘 Carrie & Wah Gor

A couple of 60, from Hong Kong, had one week‘s exciting at first (as we are new hands... read more

Reviewed 13 October 2018
carrietse13
,
Hong Kong, China
Read all 364 reviews
  
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
350
13
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
13
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews llangollen canal four counties ring narrow boat boat yard cheshire ring great holiday great boat boating holiday central heating fantastic company stockton heath fjord emperor tana fjord clean boat lovely touch wonderful week beautiful scenery
Filter
Updating list...
314 - 319 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We had fjord viscount for 1week. It is a family run business and that is what matters most to them, which for us is just what we wanted! They couldn't of been more helpful and our boat was beautiful with lovely touches added, ie fresh flowers and a bottle of wine! We had a lovely day in Chester and another lovely day at the anderton boat lift. It was an experience that we will be considering to do again next year and we would defiantly go with them again. Many thanks to Andersen boats xx

Date of experience: August 2013
1  Thank Kmannouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We hired a Tana Fjord (52 ft) narrow boat for a family of 4. The boat was very well outfitted, clean, very comfortable, spacious and totally reliable. The people at Andersen's were fantastic and provided ample instruction on boat operation, steering and mooring. The boatyard is exceptionally well located for stocking with groceries (Tesco) in the town and is next to a suite of 3 locks that the Andersen staff guide you through on gate operation. The rate fro the boat was the most competitive of a outfits we researched and the price included fuel The Llangollen Canal is likely the most scenic canal in all England and Wales and Middlewich is a great base to set out from. As second timers to canal boating we will do it again and will not hesitate to rent again from the Andersens. This company is a family business that has been in operation for over 40 years - they are seriously worth checking out if you want a great canal boat experinence,

Date of experience: August 2013
1  Thank MSLawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This was our first experience of canal boating and the lovely folk at Andersen Boats made it a real breeze. They helped me learn everything I needed to know about the boat and the locks to set us off and after that we had a wonderful few days exploring parts of England we would never have got the chance to see otherwise.
The boat was lovely, clean and a real home on the water during the length of our stay.
I will definitely be returning to them for our next trip, I couldn't have asked for a better introduction to the world of boating.

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank Eve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stavanger Fiord is a great family boat and easily accommodates four adults and two children in great comfort and luxury. This was our second hire of this smart narrowboat which is fitted out far better than many that we have used around the UK in the last seven years. The Andersen family cannot be more helpful and their friendly service is second to none. The trip to the Bugsworth Basin on the Peak Forest is easily done in a week and what a scenic trip it is! This must rate as one of Britains prettiest and interesting waterways, though a good team is necessary for the locks which are bunched together. There is no shortage of pubs! Well done Andersens for another fun-packed holiday with no hassle.

Date of experience: August 2013
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We hired the Tana Fjord for a family weekend break from Middlewhich. Immediately we were impressed as first timers by the very knowlagable family- run the company who gave us a comprehensive tour of the boat, taught us thoroughly how to use the locks, how to handle the boat and checked we had the right maps etc. They also impressed on us the importance of canal etiquette especially slowing down while passing moored boats. The Tana Fjord was immaculate inside and out, everything worked perfectly and especially reassuring, several other boaters that we chatted to en route said that they were "the best boat hire company around". We had a lovely time and would have no hesitation recommending Andersen Boats.

Date of experience: August 2013
1  Thank Eleri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews