We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Friends long weekend away

Booked the 8 birth Norm fjord for a weekend getaway. We had a great time doing 34 miles in total... read more

Reviewed 15 October 2018
Sandra M
An Unforgetable Experience Ever 此生難忘 Carrie & Wah Gor

A couple of 60, from Hong Kong, had one week‘s exciting at first (as we are new hands... read more

Reviewed 13 October 2018
carrietse13
,
Hong Kong, China
Read all 364 reviews
  
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
350
13
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
13
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews llangollen canal four counties ring narrow boat boat yard cheshire ring great holiday great boat boating holiday central heating fantastic company stockton heath fjord emperor tana fjord clean boat lovely touch wonderful week beautiful scenery
Filter
Updating list...
311 - 316 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2013

A new experience for myself & husband as we have never been on a narrow boat holiday before. We received comprehensive instruction regarding working the locks, daily checks and steering. The boat is to a very high standard and fully equipped. On our journey we met people who had hired boats from other companies & they said that they were very disappointed & were impressed by the standard of quality of our narrow boat. Andersen's also allow dogs on their boats. I would definitely recommend this company & will be booking with them next year.

Date of experience: September 2013
2  Thank riker7773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Just had the pleasure of a wonderful week long hire from Anderson Boats. We took the Fjord Viscount for a trip along the Llangollen canal and what a wonderful experience it was too!
Anderson build and fit out their own boats and what a great job they do! The interior of the boat we had was beautifully done (and having looked inside another of their boats it seems their high standards are maintained throughout their fleet!) and very comfortable.
Anderson is a family run business (rather than a faceless big company) and it shows through in the welcome and care that they extend to their guests! Nothing is too much trouble (even to the extent of bringing another boat across the cut for us to view!) and even the silliest questions were answered with courtesy and good humour!
Boat was fully prepared for our arrival, spotlessly clean and even ready early for us!
Boatyard is in a good location, plenty of secure parking room and with hand carts available to take your luggage from car to boat!
Well recommended! By the way, I should point out that all fuel is fully inclusive as is the parking so the price you see is the price you pay with no hidden extras, nice!

Date of experience: September 2013
1  Thank gofor99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Myself and my husband decided to do something completely different for our wedding anniversary this year, so we hired a canal boat from Andersen boats. The boat it self was in very clean, tidy and to our surprise was very spacious. Being our first time on a boat we didn't have a clue what to do and the very kind people of Andersen were very helpful and made sure we felt at ease going at it alone! Wonderful weekend getaway highly recommended, we can't wait to do it again!

Date of experience: September 2013
1  Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We had fjord viscount for 1week. It is a family run business and that is what matters most to them, which for us is just what we wanted! They couldn't of been more helpful and our boat was beautiful with lovely touches added, ie fresh flowers and a bottle of wine! We had a lovely day in Chester and another lovely day at the anderton boat lift. It was an experience that we will be considering to do again next year and we would defiantly go with them again. Many thanks to Andersen boats xx

Date of experience: August 2013
1  Thank Kmannouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We hired a Tana Fjord (52 ft) narrow boat for a family of 4. The boat was very well outfitted, clean, very comfortable, spacious and totally reliable. The people at Andersen's were fantastic and provided ample instruction on boat operation, steering and mooring. The boatyard is exceptionally well located for stocking with groceries (Tesco) in the town and is next to a suite of 3 locks that the Andersen staff guide you through on gate operation. The rate fro the boat was the most competitive of a outfits we researched and the price included fuel The Llangollen Canal is likely the most scenic canal in all England and Wales and Middlewich is a great base to set out from. As second timers to canal boating we will do it again and will not hesitate to rent again from the Andersens. This company is a family business that has been in operation for over 40 years - they are seriously worth checking out if you want a great canal boat experinence,

Date of experience: August 2013
1  Thank MSLawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews