We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Friends long weekend away

Booked the 8 birth Norm fjord for a weekend getaway. We had a great time doing 34 miles in total... read more

Reviewed 15 October 2018
Sandra M
An Unforgetable Experience Ever 此生難忘 Carrie & Wah Gor

A couple of 60, from Hong Kong, had one week‘s exciting at first (as we are new hands... read more

Reviewed 13 October 2018
carrietse13
,
Hong Kong, China
Read all 364 reviews
  
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
350
13
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
13
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews llangollen canal four counties ring narrow boat boat yard cheshire ring great holiday great boat boating holiday central heating fantastic company stockton heath fjord emperor tana fjord clean boat lovely touch wonderful week beautiful scenery
Filter
Updating list...
307 - 312 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

There is no better way to see some of the most beautiful areas of rural England and Wales than from a canal boat and based on our experience no better firm to hire from than Andersen Boats. Everything about our experience was as good as you could wish. It's great to ses a family business so focused on making sure their customers enjoyed their holiday. Well done!

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We picked up the Salten fjord and were greeted with flowers and wine. The training we received was excellent and thorough. The boat was very clean and tidy and catered for all needs with DVD, flat screen television and cd player. All provisions catered for. The week was lovely and fun doing lock gates and seeing beautiful scenery. People that we spoke too highly rated the family business and friendly yet professional set up that Andersen boats are. Recommendations for facilities on board could be more hooks for coats, towels etc and maybe a welcome pack eg milk, teabags and biscuits and maybe basic cleaning equipment. This is a quality set up and would recommend these boats to anyone wanting to experience Canal Boating.

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank nikiabnett1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

I am writing this on our way home from hiring the Fjord Viscount from Andersen Boats because I just need to say how wonderful our holiday has been and how great Anderson boats are!

We had the boat for a week and on arrival the staff were all very helpful and friendly, the boat clean and tidy and lovely welcome gift of flowers and a bottle of wine.
Once on our way we had a wonderful time, running between locks, watching the wildlife and stopping at pubs!

Two days into our trip we thought there was something wrong with the boat so walked two miles to get a signal to call the boat yard and they were with us within an hour! Turns out it was just a tricky part of the canal but the chap who helped us didn't seem to mind and gave us tips on handling the boat and what to do! He was very helpful and friendly and easy to have a laugh with and even came up the canal with us to make sure we were happy!

We took our dog with us who seemed to thoroughly enjoy himself and it was lovely meeting so many people and chatting about their boats and holiday!

I would definitely recommend this company for hiring boats - family run, friendly and just fantastic all round. We had a great holiday and can't wait to come back again - we are saving up for the next trip!

Thanks Andersen boats for making our holiday so enjoyable and for helping it all run smoothly!

Date of experience: September 2013
2  Thank Char6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My partner and I have just spent the most amazing time aboard the Tanya Fjord! It was our 1st time on a narrow boat and everything about Andersen Boats made it all so easy and hassle free. The staff went over everything with us and the boat was very clean both inside and out. The trip to Llangollen and back was fantastic and we loved every minute even the 50 locks!! Having looked at other holiday boats and speaking with other people, Andersen Boats are definitely the best company for hiring boats and I would recommend them to anyone who was thinking of hiring a narrow boat.

Date of experience: September 2013
3  Thank Poshwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

A new experience for myself & husband as we have never been on a narrow boat holiday before. We received comprehensive instruction regarding working the locks, daily checks and steering. The boat is to a very high standard and fully equipped. On our journey we met people who had hired boats from other companies & they said that they were very disappointed & were impressed by the standard of quality of our narrow boat. Andersen's also allow dogs on their boats. I would definitely recommend this company & will be booking with them next year.

Date of experience: September 2013
2  Thank riker7773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews