We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Review Highlights
Friends long weekend away

Booked the 8 birth Norm fjord for a weekend getaway. We had a great time doing 34 miles in total... read more

Reviewed 15 October 2018
Sandra M
An Unforgetable Experience Ever 此生難忘 Carrie & Wah Gor

A couple of 60, from Hong Kong, had one week‘s exciting at first (as we are new hands... read more

Reviewed 13 October 2018
carrietse13
,
Hong Kong, China
Read all 364 reviews
  
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
350
13
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
13
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews llangollen canal four counties ring narrow boat boat yard cheshire ring great holiday great boat boating holiday central heating fantastic company stockton heath fjord emperor tana fjord clean boat lovely touch wonderful week beautiful scenery
Filter
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This was our first canal trip. I'm so glad we chose Anderson boats. They certainly have the best boats on the canal (also confirmed by the envious owner of Venetian Boats, further along the canal!). The Bergen Fjord was excellent - Well equipped, spacious, clean and warm. Everything was really well explained before we were let loose on our own. We all felt rather sad as we exited the last lock above the yard. Hope to be back soon!

Date of experience: October 2013
1  Thank jbaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We have been with Andersen for 7 years now and would recommend them, they are a friendly family run business that make you feel like part of their family. They are in the best position to teach you how to control the narrow boat and the challenge that comes with dealing with locks for the first time as there are three lock to go through to start your holiday. There is plenty of beautiful routes to choose and we always enjoy the Four Counties and this can easily be done in a stress free 2 weeks.

Date of experience: September 2013
2  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Three generations on a boat. What a way to spend October half term . Wonderful when you have Andersen Boats. Fjord Emperor is a super boat all mod cons. Warm and cosy central heating and heated towel rails. Loads of hot water and a great shower with a seat. Comfy beds. If you have wet coats there is a warm air drying room too. Our weather was mixed but we did sit out on the deck chairs. The countryside was beautiful autumn colours and great reflections in the water. The flat screen TV/DVD was really useful when it rained and in the evening. The children loved the tunnels and the ducks and swans. They had their own space too. We found that everyone looked at the boat as we went along. So come on Autumn is great on an Andersen Boat

Date of experience: October 2013
4  Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have just returned from a great weeks cruising on the canals of Cheshire and North Wales, using an Andersen narrow boat. The guys at Andersen where welcoming, helpful and very accommodating to our needs. We saw many a boater in strife with their hire craft on our travels either through poor instruction or poor equipment, but we just 'sailed' through. In fact we had many comments of how good our boat was in comparison to more expensive firms! Always choose Andersen boats and you will receive satisfaction and value-for-money. A proper family-run business. Well Done all and see you next time!!

Date of experience: October 2013
3  Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We recently hired Oslo Fjord in October having hired from Andersen boats 3 times in the past.
Even near the end of the season the boat was in perfect condition, the same as the first time we took her out on her maiden hire voyage 4 years ago. Even while we were out someone on a hire boat from another company asked us about Andersens because the boat looked so nice.

The Andersen family and staff are very welcoming and friendly and do everything to make sure your holiday gets off to a good start even down to finding an iPod lead for the on-board radio!

Andersen boats are well positioned for a multitude of route options including Cheshire and four-counties rings, Shropshire union and Llangollen canals. I'm sure the Andersens would help you choose the right route if needed!

Despite being a Monday to Monday hire, we brought the boat back on Sunday without any problems.

I would have no hesitation in hiring from Ansderen boats again!

Date of experience: October 2013
1  Thank SafetyNerves2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews