We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Review Highlights
Friends long weekend away

Booked the 8 birth Norm fjord for a weekend getaway. We had a great time doing 34 miles in total... read more

Reviewed 15 October 2018
Sandra M
An Unforgetable Experience Ever 此生難忘 Carrie & Wah Gor

A couple of 60, from Hong Kong, had one week‘s exciting at first (as we are new hands... read more

Reviewed 13 October 2018
carrietse13
,
Hong Kong, China
Read all 364 reviews
  
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
350
13
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
13
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews llangollen canal four counties ring narrow boat boat yard cheshire ring great holiday great boat boating holiday central heating stockton heath fjord emperor tana fjord clean boat lovely touch wonderful week beautiful scenery welcome gift
Filter
Updating list...
290 - 295 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We decided at the last minute to book a 10 day trip so we had time to get to Llangollen. We love this canal in the Autumn.

The welcome at the boatyard was excellent as usual. We have hired Andersen boats lots of times so it was nice to see Jenny and Pauline and the rest of the crew.

Although it was the end of the season the boat was spotless and very smart. Several people asked us for more information about the Andersen Boats as they were very impressed with them.

The galley on our boat (Fijord Empress) is spacious and well equipped. I have cooked a full scale Sunday dinner in the past. On this trip I did not do much cooking as there are so many good pubs and restaurants on the route. We like the Black Lion at Ellesmere.

We had some rain but also lots of brilliant Autumn sunshine.

We hope to book a holiday in the Spring. Probably for a fortnight so we have time to get to Whalley Bridge.

We recently had a holiday in an apartment in Dorset for a change but we much prefer the canals as there is so much to do and see all the time, and you can leave the car behind.

We look forward to seeing you again next year

Cath and Mick

Date of experience: October 2013
4  Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We have just returned from a week during half-term on Tana Fjord completing the Cheshire Ring which is 92 locks, 97 miles which was challenging in itself with just the two of us working all the locks but hugely satisfying on completion
The boat is 58ft long which is a fantastic size for just two giving a large lounge, galley and bedroom.
The boatyard,owners and condition of the boat on hand over was excellent and they could not do enough to make this one of our best trips , now completing 8 weeks over the last 9 years.
We will not hesitate to go with Andersen Boats in the future

Date of experience: October 2013
1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Not having been on a canal boat trip before I was a little worried about 1 week on a boat with 4 kids but I needn't have worried. On arriving at the boat yard we were shown our 69ft boat and given instruction on driving and working the locks. The boat was in great condition and in comparison to some of the boats we saw it was certainly one of the better maintained crafts. We took the Llangollen canal route which was definitely worth it for the beautiful scenery and the amazing aqueducts. We made sure to moor up at pubs during the evening and the kids were happy to fish for several hours on arrival at our destination each night. We had trouble with the heating on one occasion but after a brief phone call with Andersen Boats we sorted out the problem. The feedback from the kids (age 10, 12 and 15) was excellent and they thoroughly enjoyed getting involved when needed and chilling out at the same time. Thanks Andersen Boats for a great experience.

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank Organisedbrunette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We have been on various narrow boating holidays before and once with Andersens doing part of the Cheshire Ring. We did a late booking. They were very flexible with dates and even with returning the boat. Fjord Princess was sensibly laid out with loads of storage and spacious bathroom with a good shower! We were made very welcome by the family. Dave gave a really clear guided tour and instructions were A1 in clarity, even though we have fair amount of experience. The boat never let us down and started effortlessly every morning.
We are wondering about buying our own boat but then again with hire boat companies as helpful as Andersens we may well put of that date a little longer!!

Date of experience: October 2013
3  Thank cathys59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Neither of us had been on a narrow boat for several years, but we were given an explanation of everything we needed to know, which was extremely helpful. We were even taken through the first three locks before we motored off on our own. We completed the full 4-counties ring, which involved starting at first light on three mornings so that we could get enough miles done. We had to keep going until almost 5 o'clock as well, so we were pretty tired by the end of each day. The boat was beautifully presented - clean and well equipped - and we soon got the hang of handling it.
Overall, we were very happy with the holiday and would definitely come back to Andersen Boats. They were extremely helpful and friendly and we would recommend them highly.

Date of experience: October 2013
3  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews