We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Review Highlights
Go slow and relax

We hired a river barge as it was on our bucket list. The crew at Anderson were very helpful and... read more

Reviewed 11 May 2024
Mervyn S
Superb customer service.

Absolutely superb company to hire a narrow boat from. We had a week in April 24 that had... read more

Reviewed 12 April 2024
markhI6120UL
Read all 431 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveller rating
410
16
1
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
410
16
1
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews llangollen canal four counties ring narrow boat boat yard fantastic week central heating narrowboat holiday boat company lovely boat beautiful scenery hire company locks fjord monarch empress route handover
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
346 - 351 of 431 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We've hired boats before, but this was the first time from Anderson. It was the BEST by a long way. The boat really feels like a 'home', pictures on the wall, cushions, matching curtains and cosy bedding. We hired the Emperess, 6 berth -1 double permanently set up (my bed).
Everything was thought of, bin bags, dish cloths, fully equipped galley - you could easily cook a Sunday dinner on board - even a pen for writing a post card! Even the cooker worked like a 'normal' one, no half cooked food at all.
The piece d resistance, a bunch of flowers and a bottle of wine to welcome you aboard.
The staff are very friendly and patient, they'll take you through everything you need to know. They even covered the What ifs'. We WILL be back for sure!!

Date of experience: April 2014
2  Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Second time we've hired a boat from Andersen Boats for a day's trip with friends. Excellent value especially as get a boat than would be hired out for overnight trips. Had a very good handover and learned lots even though we have boated 4 times before. Thank you Pauline.

Date of experience: March 2014
1  Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My wife and I took Andersen's biggest boat, Fjord Emperor, for a few days of wandering the canals of Cheshire. It's an eight-berth, so lots of room to spread out..two loos, two double beds in lovely curtained alcoves, TV, CD/radio, decent cooker, nice shower/bathroom - everything you need, in fact, and in good, smart order.
We were escorted through the first three locks and reminded how it all works, then sent on our way, soon finding ourselves in beautiful countryside on the Middlewich branch of the Shropshire Union. We have taken a canal boat on this canal before, starting from Autherley Junction, and this northern stretch did not disappoint. We took in a little of the Llangollen Canal (and would certainly do the full stretch given more time) and we ambled up to Beeston, through the staircase lock at Bunbury. We found a few pubs we'd recommend along the way - the Cotton Arms at Wrenbury and the Badger at Church Minshull to name but two. We probably did not stray much further than 15 miles at any time from Middlewich, but the perspective you get from being on the canals means everything seems intriguing and different. Practically everyone we met on other boats was friendly and eager to help where necessary.
It's a bit of a challenge managing a boat this big when there's only two of you, but I enjoyed every minute of it.
I'd highly recommend Andersen Boats.

Date of experience: March 2014
1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

I know a bit about canals, Narrowboats and boat hire, as I run a narrowboat hire company in Sheffield, but this review is as a customer, currently sitting on one of their clean, nicely fitted out and we'll maintained boats.

The company is ideally situated to access what are, in my opinion, some of the most delightful of the UK's waterways. A friendly, family run and knowledgeable bunch, with 16 boats to suit all needs, I can't find anything to quibble about.

If you want to escape the tedious immediacy of high speed modern day life and bob along the canals at walking speed, you'll do well to hire from Andersen.

2  Thank Dr_Martyn_Bailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Cant find an entry under accommodation, so writing here, as this company is well worth using.
We regularly hire canal boats with friends, and this has to be one of the best run boatyards in the business.
This time we hired two large boats - both were in very good condition and well maintained, even though it was end of season. Layout is practical and comfortable, with plenty of room for sitting and relaxing inside if you don't want to be out in the weather. Good quality cookware meant it was easy to cook for a big group when we didn't feel like eating out.
The base at Middlewich is a good starting point - with lots of choice of routes.This time we went along the Caldon canal to Leek - really pretty countryside with a nice market town at the end.
The family run boatyard is really helpful - a nice friendly handover, making sure we knew how everything worked before we set off, a minor engine problem mid week was fixed within the hour, and they even gave us tips on avoiding the worst of the M6 traffic on the drive home!

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank latintourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews