We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing boating adventure

We had a fab long weekend on Tana Fjord hosted by the knowledgable and helpful crew at Anderson... read more

Reviewed 2 November 2020
666JoC
,
Warrington, United Kingdom
via mobile
A Lovely Holiday

What a fantastic time we had, hosted by the marvellous folk at Andersen, Middlewich. Two of our... read more

Reviewed 26 October 2020
emarkm2018
via mobile
Read all 398 reviews
  
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveller rating
382
14
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
382
14
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews llangollen canal four counties ring boat yard fantastic week other companies fantastic break shropshire union stockton heath narrowboat holiday excellent boat a family run business narrow boating tana fjord comfortable boat night break on arrival anderton boat lift
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 398 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We hired the narrowboat Fjord Contessa from Andersen Boats for the May Day bank holiday week 2014. We have previousy used the company for similar hires a number of times in the past, over several years. As ever, in 2014 the service from Andersen was efficient, friendly and helpful. The boat was presented in a clean We had no problems with the boat throughout the week. Would recommend a canal holiday from Anderson Boats anytime!

Date of experience: May 2014
1  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Well what can we say! First trip on a narrow boat and a little nervous re some of the practicalities. However we were greeted warmly and shown around the boat. What a lovely boat too! Seemed to be far superior to some of the other hired narrow boats we saw. This is a family firm that take pride in their work. Once familiarised with the boat we were taken through two locks, before being left to it, ensuring we were confident with working the canal locks before departure. The boat had everything we needed and was a real home from home for our weeks holiday.
A mention should also be given to the "Kings Lock Inn", just a very short distance (3 locks up from Andersen Boatyard). It had a bad reputation but has been recently taken over. The atmosphere now is lovely, very welcoming staff serving very reasonable high quality food, traditional ales and farmhouse ciders. As well as some reasonable wines if you prefer!!!
Thank you Andersen Boats-we will return

Date of experience: May 2014
4  Thank Bobo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We hired a 69ft barge from Andersen boats. They were very helpful and the instruction prior to sailing was extremely professional. The barge was extremely well equipped and our party of 6 were very comfortable.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them and would most definitely use them again
Top class British holiday

Date of experience: May 2014
4  Thank Skeendoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

What do you do when you've done it all? Stop sitting in front of the TV or cutting the grass. If you want a truly relaxing, fun, exciting yet peaceful day hire a Narrow boat from these guys. The welcome, explanation and guidance left us with no worries or concerns, yes this was our first time but after a few manoeuvres we had it cracked. Ambling along the canal, waving at passing boats and people, seeing wildlife most thought extinct, drinking tea, coffee, beer, G&T you take with you what you want. The interior of the boat was superb, clean, well looked after, probably loved by all who sail on her. The exterior painted green and clean. You know the owners invest time and money in these craft. But less of the back slapping...... seriously good fun, stop at local pubs along the canal for lunch, find a place to turn her around and head back...9 hours go very quickly. We will, without a doubt, be returning in the summer.

Date of experience: May 2014
4  Thank Chrisn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

First experience on a canal boat and what a great one it was ! The boat was in tip top condition, it was the nicest boat on the water. The family were caring and considerate, you could tell it was a family affair. Terry who is a non family member was also excellent, we had a problem with our cooker and he came and met us in a suitable location, we wasted no time in getting back on the water.
We had such a great week, with my family who came over from Belgium. We would use this firm again. Well done such a great experience.

Date of experience: May 2014
2  Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews