We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Friends long weekend away

Booked the 8 birth Norm fjord for a weekend getaway. We had a great time doing 34 miles in total... read more

Reviewed 15 October 2018
Sandra M
An Unforgetable Experience Ever 此生難忘 Carrie & Wah Gor

A couple of 60, from Hong Kong, had one week‘s exciting at first (as we are new hands... read more

Reviewed 13 October 2018
carrietse13
,
Hong Kong, China
Read all 364 reviews
  
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
350
13
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
13
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews llangollen canal four counties ring narrow boat boat yard cheshire ring great holiday great boat boating holiday central heating fantastic company stockton heath fjord emperor tana fjord clean boat lovely touch wonderful week beautiful scenery
Filter
Updating list...
256 - 261 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Four old farts recently took a canal boat out from Middlewich to Llangollen and we have a fantastic trip. The boat was very well equipped and Andersen were very helpful with our booking etc. I would thoroughly recommend them as a company and would have no hesitation in booking a boat from them in the future - well done.

Date of experience: May 2014
2  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

As ever, clean tidy well presented boat prepared by friendly helpful staff.
Two week slow chug to Llangollen to start with, returning to go through Preston Brook Tunnel and stop at Bramble Cuttings for our penultimate night, simply wonderful place to moor.
Dexter's first canal holiday (our 16month old cocker spaniel) and he loved it too, including his little swimming sessions.
If you're thinking of taking a canal break, then we would have no hesitation in recommending Andersen Boats, they are a hard act to follow, which is one reason we keep coming back!

Date of experience: May 2014
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We hired the narrowboat Fjord Contessa from Andersen Boats for the May Day bank holiday week 2014. We have previousy used the company for similar hires a number of times in the past, over several years. As ever, in 2014 the service from Andersen was efficient, friendly and helpful. The boat was presented in a clean We had no problems with the boat throughout the week. Would recommend a canal holiday from Anderson Boats anytime!

Date of experience: May 2014
1  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Well what can we say! First trip on a narrow boat and a little nervous re some of the practicalities. However we were greeted warmly and shown around the boat. What a lovely boat too! Seemed to be far superior to some of the other hired narrow boats we saw. This is a family firm that take pride in their work. Once familiarised with the boat we were taken through two locks, before being left to it, ensuring we were confident with working the canal locks before departure. The boat had everything we needed and was a real home from home for our weeks holiday.
A mention should also be given to the "Kings Lock Inn", just a very short distance (3 locks up from Andersen Boatyard). It had a bad reputation but has been recently taken over. The atmosphere now is lovely, very welcoming staff serving very reasonable high quality food, traditional ales and farmhouse ciders. As well as some reasonable wines if you prefer!!!
Thank you Andersen Boats-we will return

Date of experience: May 2014
4  Thank Bobo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We hired a 69ft barge from Andersen boats. They were very helpful and the instruction prior to sailing was extremely professional. The barge was extremely well equipped and our party of 6 were very comfortable.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them and would most definitely use them again
Top class British holiday

Date of experience: May 2014
4  Thank Skeendoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews