We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 weeks on Tana Fjord”
Review of Andersen Boats

Andersen Boats
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Canal boating is for anyone who just want to do something completely different from the everyday world. Andersen Boats is a family run business in Middlewich for 40 years. Canal boating with the best starting point for a perfect canal holiday across England & Wales. We offer day boat hire and longer breaks, so you can take a short or a long tour of our beautiful canals. For our day hire you can spend the day cruising the Canals around Middlewich Cheshire, in one of our superb Canal Boats. With easy to operate controls and expert handover, our canal boats are lots of fun for adults and children alike. So celebrating a birthday? Special event? or just having a fun day out, this inexpensive treat is a great way to take in the sights and sounds of our countryside. Relax with family and friends. Give us a call.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“2 weeks on Tana Fjord”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Andersen Boats were competent, friendly and helpful from the start. We were given good advice and were well briefed. The boat was comfortable, well equipped and well maintained. Andersen boats are the best looking hire boats we encountered on the canals. We had 2 great weeks on the Llangollen and Shropshire Union Canals. June is a good month to take a narrowboat holiday before the canals become too busy. Middlewich is well placed to give boaters lots of choice about where to go.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SheilaJane2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    11
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely boat fabulous friendly welcome”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We spent 3 nights on the Sande fjord, and did a short jaunt to Nantwich. The boat was lovely and we had everything we needed. Would recommend the badger pub for your first nights dinner too!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Frinnybrecon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Day boat. Sat 22/6/14”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Last minute booking the hubby been on canal boats plenty of times but not been on for 25 years since been caravaning . We decided to take son an family our 2 grandsons for the day on canal to see if I could manage being in boat a non swimmer ! Have to say very impressed :-) loved it really good sunny day to ! We'll equipped boat extremely clean very helpfull staff and owners go out of there way to help.so impressed thinking of taking a week or 2 holiday on there boats loved it :-) wish I'd of tried this type of holiday sooner . Partner loved revisiting his canal boat days never seen him so relaxed for a long time . He was very reluctant at having to hand the boat back lol .
I would recommend Anderson Boats to anyone .
Thank you all at Anderson for a truly memorable day :-).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just right”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Anderson boats were helpful and encouraging from the first phone call. All 6 of us from 79 to 20 year old had a great time on the fjord contessor. There was room for all to enjoy the barge, the way of life and the scenery of the local landscape. A holiday to get away and thoroughly relax which was endorsed by the friendliness of the family run business of the Andersons.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Half term week on the Duchess”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was our First Narrowboat holiday...had an absolutely fab time...even if we were let down by the British weather!! Our boat was the duchess ...6 berth but great for a family of 4...I really appreciated the extra space. The boat was clean and had everything we needed. Very very nice people, explained everything to us in detail before handing over to us...like I say it was our first long boat holiday, but they made us feel comfortable and confident when they sent us on our way. By day 2 we felt like experts...ha ha!!! Weather not so great so by day 5 we were happy to sit in and watch a bit of tv...(this hadn't worked since we got on the boat) so after a call to the boat yard they drove out to meet us and changed the digibox...kids were very grateful!!! Some great walks done and a fun day out at nearby crocky trails. Will definitely be using Andersen boats again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank thesharpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Andersen Boats also viewed

 

Been to Andersen Boats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing