We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Andersen Boats - Middlewich”
Review of Andersen Boats

Andersen Boats
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Canal boating is for anyone who just want to do something completely different from the everyday world. Andersen Boats is a family run business in Middlewich for 40 years. Canal boating with the best starting point for a perfect canal holiday across England & Wales. We offer day boat hire and longer breaks, so you can take a short or a long tour of our beautiful canals. For our day hire you can spend the day cruising the Canals around Middlewich Cheshire, in one of our superb Canal Boats. With easy to operate controls and expert handover, our canal boats are lots of fun for adults and children alike. So celebrating a birthday? Special event? or just having a fun day out, this inexpensive treat is a great way to take in the sights and sounds of our countryside. Relax with family and friends. Give us a call.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 19 January 2015

Booked 4 boats for an Autumn half-term flotilla. Andersen boats could not have been more accommodating. The boats were of excellent quality and superbly fitted out. Price was good and comparable with other fleets. Would 100% recommend them to other boaters whether first timers or 'old hands'...

Date of experience: October 2014
3  Thank Graham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"llangollen canal"
in 35 reviews
"four counties ring"
in 31 reviews
"narrow boat"
in 40 reviews
"boat yard"
in 22 reviews
"cheshire ring"
in 18 reviews
"the galley"
in 7 reviews
"great holiday"
in 14 reviews
"great boat"
in 9 reviews
"boating holiday"
in 12 reviews
"central heating"
in 6 reviews
"pontcysyllte aqueduct"
in 5 reviews
"boat company"
in 4 reviews
"fantastic company"
in 4 reviews
"fjord emperor"
in 20 reviews
"tana fjord"
in 19 reviews
"lovely touch"
in 7 reviews
"clean boat"
in 6 reviews
Filter

208 - 212 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2014

I booked this boat via hoseasons and they were the cheapest but they have top quality boats, excellent staff, superb service and we all had a great time. Highly reccomended!

Date of experience: September 2014
1  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2014

We spent a week on a canal boat earlier in the year. It was our first time but the people at the boatyard were really friendly and helpful, especially patient showing our 2 teenage children how to work the locks. They even provided us with some spare towels after our dog decided to fall into the canal. The boat was very well equipped, very clean and we all agree it was one of our best holidays ever. We can't wait to do it again and would happily recommend Andersen Boats to anyone else.

Date of experience: April 2014
2  Thank Jacqui G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2014

..and it truly is. I can hear Treebeard saying in deep slow tones "If it's worth doing anything" on the canal "then it is is worth...taking..a long time....to do it.
Build your skills at the helm, pootle along in the bow hearing only the ripple of the water and the sounds of nature or experience with enjoyment operating the paddles and gates at the locks. The choice is yours but whichever you choose, a really good boat adds enormously to the fun.
After shopping around and trying others I settled, some 15 years ago on a fleet that has brought my wife Joan and I back year on year.
Andersen boats of Middlewich have boats in a range of sizes that are consistently superbly fitted out - oak panelling, ample storage, comfortable beds and a galley in which you can cook anything you can cook at home
Andersen take pride in their maintenance - their boats are spotless, never break down and the service cannot be faulted - for example when a sealing washer started leaking in the shower piping, a phone call produced a rendezvous and repair within the hour. Perhaps unusually for a commercial boat company they listen to feedback and always have time for helpful discussions of the trip just finishing or starting. Their genuine friendly and cheerful approach is a tonic.
Seeing our enjoyment my son John and his wife Cath took a boat out last year and their experience led them to join us on a bigger boat this year. They are hooked !
If you think I am exaggerating about the boats, check out their website www.andersenboats.com
Where can you go? Middlewich is on both the Cheshire Ring and the Four Counties Ring and is ideally placed for a trip to Llangollen and back. A glance at a canal map will show connections to canals all over the country.
Have fun!
Bernard J Tweats, Stockport

Date of experience: September 2014
2  Thank Catherine-Tweats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2014

We spent a great two weeks on Fjord Empress in October. We had originally booked 10 days but decided to extend this to a fortnight We took a leisurely cruise to LLangollen. We like the extra time so that we can spend 48 hrs in Llangollen and some spare time in Ellesmere.

The welcome at the boatyard was excellent as usual. We have hired from Andesen Boats often in the past so it was nice to see Pauline and all the crew again.

The boat as spotlessly clean and well equipped. We had a small problem with the batteries but on contacting the boatyard this was fixed immediately and we were not held up at all. One of the MANY reasons we continue to hire Andersen Boats is that everything works well. The engines are quiet, and the boats are easy to steer. On the very rare occasions when there is a problem it is fixed very quickly.

We have hired from many boatyards in the past but we keep returning to Andersens because they are the best.

We look forward to seeing them in the Spring.

They showed us round their new boat which is very impressive. Ideal for a couple. If this is available we will probably try to book this in the Spring and perhaps again in the Autumn.

Cath and Mick

Date of experience: October 2014
2  Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Andersen Boats also viewed

 

Been to Andersen Boats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing