We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Review Highlights
Go slow and relax

We hired a river barge as it was on our bucket list. The crew at Anderson were very helpful and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Mervyn S
Superb customer service.

Absolutely superb company to hire a narrow boat from. We had a week in April 24 that had... read more

Reviewed 12 April 2024
markhI6120UL
Read all 431 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveller rating
410
16
1
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
410
16
1
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews llangollen canal four counties ring narrow boat boat yard fantastic week central heating narrowboat holiday boat company lovely boat beautiful scenery hire company locks fjord monarch empress route handover
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
263 - 268 of 431 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2015

We booked last minute with Andersen and were accommodated for our quirky trip length and at a price we couldnt complain about. The boat was the Fjord Countess and it was well equipped and made our 17 day journey very comfortable. The slight problem we had with the heating was taken care of with an engineer at our boat in less than an hour and sorted within 10 minutes of arrival. Handover was smooth coming and going and compared to the bigger companies like Anglo-Welsh, Andersen wins hands down for friendliness and a genuine concern for the customer and the quality of their holiday. If you are looking to do a first time canal trip, trusting it to Andersen will not leave you disappointed. We have traveled with quite a few companies, Andersen are one of the two best.

Date of experience: April 2015
4  Thank DpEndofShalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 April 2015

nother wonderful holiday with you, guys...Chester Zoo and lots of fantastic stops. I am fully recommending you to anyone, who fancy a bit of an adventure and a very different type of fun & relax holiday.x

Date of experience: April 2015
4  Thank simi436
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2015

Another great time on Andersen Boats.
Went with our neighbours, 4 adults, 2 children and 3 dogs.
Fyord Empress 6 berth was perfect, well equiped and clean.
Managed to get through Harecastle tunnel and back in the 3 night tour.
Kids really enjoyed the 70 locks we went through.
would certainly use again.

Date of experience: April 2015
1  Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 April 2015

As the beginners amongst our crew we were apprehensive about what we would experience on our first trip but we quickly got into the swing of things, with help from our skipper, on our trip round the Cheshire Ring.
We were aboard the Nord Fjord from Andersons Boat Yard and were very comfortable with plenty of storage. The staff at Andersons were very attentive and I feel that they would have made quite sure we knew what we were doing if we hadn't been going with experienced boaters.
As a keen cook I was impressed with how well the kitchen was equipped with large enough saucepans, decent knives and a reliable oven. I even managed to make Hot Cross buns on Good Friday!

Date of experience: March 2015
3  Thank BridgetSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 April 2015

We had a great week cruising round the Cheshire Ring in the Fjord Viscount and the Bergen Fjord. The Andersen staff were friendly, helpful and entirely unflustered when we rang them during the week with various crises. Would highly recommend!

Date of experience: March 2015
4  Thank Beck L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews