We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Review Highlights
Go slow and relax

We hired a river barge as it was on our bucket list. The crew at Anderson were very helpful and... read more

Reviewed 11 May 2024
Mervyn S
Superb customer service.

Absolutely superb company to hire a narrow boat from. We had a week in April 24 that had... read more

Reviewed 12 April 2024
markhI6120UL
Read all 431 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveller rating
410
16
1
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
410
16
1
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews llangollen canal four counties ring narrow boat boat yard fantastic week central heating narrowboat holiday boat company lovely boat beautiful scenery hire company locks fjord monarch empress route handover
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
258 - 263 of 431 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2015

did the river cruise and the boat lift, amazing feat of engineering, and a great day out, there are loads of places to just sit back and watch the boats go by..

Date of experience: April 2015
2  Thank johnAli V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 April 2015

We have had a really lovely holiday. The weather has been good. We like the Shropshire Union Canal which is easy to get on to from Middlewich. Nantwich has a super little pub "The Black Lion" 10 mins walk from mooring. Our boat - Tara Fijord - was well equipped, spacious and comfortable. The staff at Andersen Boats were friendly, helpful and efficient - a great back-up team.

Date of experience: April 2015
2  Thank Debnde
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 April 2015

We just returned from 6 nights on board the Fjord Duchess over Easter. Helped by glorious weather (note to self - take sun cream next time) we got to Llangollen and back. It was a bit of a push to do it in the time, but the boat was beautiful - seemed v smart and well-equipped (particularly the kitchen) in comparison to other companies in the area. Great service from the company with good intro to boating and safety info etc for the children.

Would definitely book with Andersen again, and would heartily recommend both their boats and the area for a canal holiday. We're just looking at dates for next year now!

Date of experience: April 2015
2  Thank 172judyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 April 2015 via mobile

Really friendly company. Absolutely lovely. Cruised passed them previous year and from their lovely comments we booked with them this year. Great boat. Clean tidy. Can not fault them. Boat had everything we needed. They also gave us a door guard for our dog. These boats have larger outside space, which is important when everyone wants to be outside together. Cost includes fuel, so no extra bill at the end. Will be booking again.

5  Thank dollshouseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 April 2015

Our first time being let loose on the canal ways. We had really good instruction from Pauline and Dave. The narrow boat was beautifully laid out and very, very clean. We needed absolutely nothing except our hand towels and bath towels. The trip was a short one and we arrived back in Middlewich in gale force conditions and monsoon rain!!!! But we so enjoyed ourselves. Other boaters were very helpful and friendly. Will definitely book another holiday . Thank you so much to Andersen Boats for the lovely roses and wine which were on the canal boat when we arrived.

Date of experience: April 2015
2  Thank JACKIE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews