We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Review Highlights
Go slow and relax

We hired a river barge as it was on our bucket list. The crew at Anderson were very helpful and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Mervyn S
Superb customer service.

Absolutely superb company to hire a narrow boat from. We had a week in April 24 that had... read more

Reviewed 12 April 2024
markhI6120UL
Read all 431 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveller rating
410
16
1
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
410
16
1
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews llangollen canal four counties ring narrow boat boat yard fantastic week central heating narrowboat holiday boat company lovely boat beautiful scenery hire company locks fjord monarch empress route handover
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 431 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2015

Just returned from another great holiday aboard nb Fjord Empress. As usual on arrival at the boat yard the staff were welcoming and very helpful = the boat was ready and waiting and in great condition (as always). We only had one little hitch the weather for the first two days was a little damp. Andersen Boats try harder for sunshine next time!!! Seriously though we have hired from this company for quite a few years now and have never had any complaints regarding the staff or the boats. Thank you. See you in September (for a two week hire). Please remember lemon roses are my favourite!
Janet and Trevor Blower
Cumbria

Date of experience: May 2015
3  Thank JanetBlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 May 2015

Spent a week on Sande Fjord in April 2015. Slightly apprehensive initially but we were contacted by Andersen's on the morning before we arrived, which was reassuring. There are locks within walking distance of Andersen's Boats so the owners came with us and talked us through these which was great and we received all the instructions we needed. The owners were contactable f we needed during the week, which again was reassuring.
The boat itself was immaculately clean and comfortable. Kitchen facilities were excellent and the complimentary bottle of wine went down a treat!
We received a warm welcome by the owners when we returned, so we'd definitely recommend Andersen's Boats for anyone considering a canal trip.

Date of experience: April 2015
2  Thank D O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 May 2015

Just spent the bank holiday on the Sande Fjord with some friends. We were a bit apprehensive to start, as we had never done this sort of thing before. But the boat owners gave us all the information we needed. The boat had everything we needed - including waterproofs which came in handy during the trip! Would definitely recommend this company to anyone who would like to try a narrowboat holiday.

Date of experience: May 2015
3  Thank rololover
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 May 2015

We took a 2 week cruise around the Cheshire Ring. Our reception at the boatyard was excellent and we were pleased with the boat. A nice touch was that we found a complementary bottle of wine on board. I have no hesitation in recommending this company.

Date of experience: April 2015
2  Thank Len C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 April 2015

Just returned from our first one week holiday on the canals - we went on the Trent & Mersey on the Fjord Monarch - just the 2 of us. Great instruction & help from the team at Andersens gave us all the confidence we needed - the boat was excellent with everything you could possibly need in terms of comfort. The weather was amazing for April & we both ended up with sun burn! We could just go at our own speed & tie up whenever we fancied. All canal people were friendly & helpful

Date of experience: April 2015
4  Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews