We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Friends long weekend away

Booked the 8 birth Norm fjord for a weekend getaway. We had a great time doing 34 miles in total... read more

Reviewed 15 October 2018
Sandra M
An Unforgetable Experience Ever 此生難忘 Carrie & Wah Gor

A couple of 60, from Hong Kong, had one week‘s exciting at first (as we are new hands... read more

Reviewed 13 October 2018
carrietse13
,
Hong Kong, China
Read all 364 reviews
  
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
350
13
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
13
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews llangollen canal four counties ring narrow boat boat yard cheshire ring great holiday great boat boating holiday central heating fantastic company stockton heath fjord emperor tana fjord clean boat lovely touch wonderful week beautiful scenery
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

We are two couples who have just spent 4nights onboard Fjord Empress.
From start to finish our holiday was brilliant. We stayed near by the night before having travelled from Edinburgh and popped along to the boat yard the next morning and they were more than happy to let us have the boat a couple of hours earlier.
Full lock and steering instruction were given through the first 3 locks and this set us up well.
The Empress was clean and well presented with everything you could need. Including bin bags, washing up liquid, hand towel as well as bottle of wine and flowers welcoming us on board.
At one of our water stops we couldn't get the cap undone to be able to fill up and once we had called the boat yard they were happy to come out and assist us.
We were due back on a Friday morning but made our way back Thursday night and moored at the boat yard to save tackling the 4 locks early in the morning and they were happy to leave us to pack up in our own time.
All in all a superb trip and one we have agreed we will repeat and Andersen boats will definitely be our choice should we be on this stretch of canal again.
Thanks for a great value boat and one that made our short trip so enjoyable

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank CJ0hnst0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Our trip started in the cold with some hail stones so it was great to have central heating.
Our boat was the Fjiord Vicount. There were 5 of us and it was cosyish as expected. If you have been in a caravan then you know what to expect!
The family owened boats are very good, well maintained, nice and clean with quality furnishings. All the facilities (2 toilets and showers) and equipment you need for a great holiday are included
The initial handover and safety briefing was carried out in a friendly and fun way.
It was comprehensive with a handbook on the boat to refer to if needed.
The boat is long so it helped us to have an experienced "sailor" on board and to remind us of our initial "lessons".
We found it useful to have a good book of the canal for stopping points and distances etc.
Take some hand cream as the ropes can make your hands dry.
Don't forget your camera or phone. Surprised not to have a good mobile signal for alot of the journey except in or near towns though.
The Llangollen canal is a must for fabulous scenery and 3 aqueducts, but would not want to go in high season as it would be very busy. We did it in a week but that was 8+ hours a day so not might suit everyone as the locks and lift bridges can be hard work but enjoyable and rewarding.
Would deifintely use Andersen Boats again.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank 16annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016

Had a lovely holiday on the Cheshire Ring. Our boat was beautifully equipped with everything we could possibly need. The boat was clean and the handover process fun as well as informative. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016

This is our second holiday with Andersen Boats. My husband and I planned this trip on our way back to the U.S. last Spring from our first trip with Andersen. This trip was 11 nights and we completed the Four Counties Ring. There are 101 locks and was and good vigorous workout on the first half of the trip. Heartbreak Hill was not as intimidating as I expected and I was able to complete the entire trip without difficulty. We highly recommend hiring through Andersen Boats. Of all the hire companies on the canals, their boats were the nicest. The family was most helpful and welcoming. We will certainly be back again and recommend to our family and friends.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank happygourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Set in the delightful Cheshire countryside our family of 6 adults having never boated before took a weekend break (Fri - Mon) on the Trent & Mersey canal starting in Middlewich, a great slow pace of life relaxing and peaceful, boats 5* and fitted out with all essentials even down to fresh flowers and a bottle of wine. Anderson staff were all so helpful and friendly, lots of pubs and places to visit along the way, definitely recommend The Anderton boat lift it was very interesting and well worth investigating great fun was had by all a weekend we would certainly repeat.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank 136Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews