We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Review Highlights
Go slow and relax

We hired a river barge as it was on our bucket list. The crew at Anderson were very helpful and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Mervyn S
1st time Narrowboaters

I'd like to thank, Ryan, Jenny and the team at Andersen Boat Hire, for helping to make a truly... read more

Reviewed 5 April 2024
DiverDan74
Read all 431 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveller rating
410
16
1
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
410
16
1
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews llangollen canal four counties ring narrow boat boat yard fantastic week central heating narrowboat holiday boat company lovely boat beautiful scenery hire company locks fjord monarch empress route handover
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 431 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2024

I'd like to thank, Ryan, Jenny and the team at Andersen Boat Hire, for helping to make a truly amazing narrowboat holiday. We arrived on April 1st for a 4 night boat hire, as 1st timers, we were shown the workings of the boat to help us on our journey to Chester. Ryan was very clear and relaxed throughout the induction, despite our 2 excited children and yapping dog. Onto the boat, Tana Fjord, which was equipped with everything you needed to cook, clean and sleep a family of 4. After a thorough run-through of the boat handling we set off, with guidance, through the 3 locks close to the private moorings. After successfully bumping our way through the final lock, we said goodbye to the helpful staff and continued on our adventure to Chester! Thoroughly amazing experience had by all, can't wait to book another trip!

Date of experience: April 2024
Thank DiverDan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 September 2023 via mobile

Andersen Narrow Boats are beautiful, sturdy, sparkling clean, and in the lovely town of Middlewich. Their website is easy to use, prices great, and communication swift. This was our second time to use them (all the way from Texas) and we'll likely do so again. It's easy to fly into Manchester, Uber to Middlewich, get a hotel and enjoy the local pubs the day before. On the rental morning you can drop your luggage with them and easily walk to local stores for provisions. They give exceptional lessons and provide a wonderful information binder to answer any further questions you might have as well as a phone number if needed. They are a warm and welcoming company we encourage you to use!

Date of experience: September 2023
Thank K9460EDcindyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2023 via mobile

We hired the Fjord Emperor for a week sailing on the Llangollen Canal. This was the first time the six of us in our party had hired a narrow boat and we wondered how it would go. We were looked after from the moment we got there from the trolleys to get our luggage and provisions to the boat, to the tour from Bill showing us everything we needed to now for our time on board. We were then supported by Terry to get through our first three locks which are close together and next to the boat yard. We headed off with a booklet showing us the route, and a folder with essential information we can refer to. This included a mobile number in case we had an issue. The scenery was stunning and the locks were easier than we thought. We shared out the duties from steering to lock duties to cooking and even the rain couldn’t dampen our enjoyment. We did have an issue requiring a call to Terry and he came out to us within 30 minutes to fix the pump in the shower and empty the bilge pump which had taken in a lot of water. A further call to Terry meant we arranged a stop on the way back to empty the toilets. Overall we had a brilliant time and couldn’t fault the support we had from the team at Anderson’s.

Date of experience: July 2023
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 July 2023

The boat was clean, tidy and well equipped for an enjoyable holiday cruising. The staff were very friendly and helpful with excellent customer service. 5/5

Date of experience: July 2023
Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 June 2023

Brilliant service and an excellent holiday made possible by the awesome boats provided.

Did a 7 day trip from middlewich to Llangollen, everything explained well and boat was very well supplied with everything you need.

Date of experience: June 2023
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews