We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good very nice, very hot and fresh”
Review of The Sandhurst

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sandhurst
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Middlewich
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good very nice, very hot and fresh”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I had a groupon for a 3 course meal for 2 with coffee. When we got there we found it very airy and spooky. It seemed haunted to us, we'd only just stepped in the place and straight away I felt spooked. I only went for a meal so can't comment on the rooms. The meal was lovely. We could order anything off the main menu, not one of these groupons that have a separate menu when you tell them. We both had terrine to start, then I had steak my friend had pork, and we both had sticky toffee pudding. All 3 courses where lovely! Especially the toffee pudding. Was homemade chips and everything was piping hot. Well worth £29 for 2.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobberlicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    33
    20
    20
    18
See reviews for
35
95
17
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My husband and I spent a wonderful night at the Sandhurst, celebrating my sister-in-law and brother-in-law's 50th wedding anniversary, we were pleasantly surprised by the lovely character and charm of the place, the homely atmosphere, and, we both admired the hard work and commitment of the very friendly staff. The menu was varied, and the food was beautiful, ( the full English breakfast included) a great time was had by all the family, and the happy couple had a night to remember!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June50158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is the second time I have stayed here . Like a year ago the same friendly welcome and good atmosphere. A good choice of food on the menu and a flexible choice for breakfast.
The room is clean with nice original fittings and the bathroom spotless with modern fittings.
Good value for money. Why stay in a chain hotel,when you can enjoy a friendly welcome in relaxing surroundings.No hesitation to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 792Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We booked one night as part of a five day short break and en-route on our way home. We had a warm friendly welcome, beautiful room, clean and comfortable. The evening had entertainment and the atmosphere was great. Food excellent and the most memorable evening we have had in a long time. We are returning for a themed night and look forward to our next stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The room with the 4 poster bed is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lAMPLIGHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was are first stay at the Sandhurst Hotel in Middlewich.
We decided to book as the location is within striking distance of Oulton Park.
We arrived Saturday morning, as you pull into the car park you cannot be but impressed by this stunning building.
On arrival we were greated and shown to our room overlooking the magnificent gardens. The room was bright and furnished to a high standard.
We booked into the hotels Hudson Restaurant for our evening meal. The menu was extensive and very reasonably priced. The quality of the meal was great and very enjoyable.
This is a familly run hotel and you are made very welcome by all.
We booked breakfast for nine o'clock the following morning which fitted into our plans quite nicely and went to bed. After a very goods night sleep we went down for our full english which was very enjoyable and set us up for the day.
On returning at night we again booked our breakfast for the following morning and again we were not disappointed.
We are coming back up to Cheshire for the August bank holiday weekend and we had no hesitation in booking The Sandhurst Hotel before we departed.
If you are planning a stay in Cheshire then I would thoroughly recommend this hotel as it is real value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carl c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

arrived at what looked like a stunning hotel and was very excited about my night away, opened the door and was greeted by the sound of a teenage girl arguing on the phone with her boyfriend shouting to tell her mother some one was here, she proceeded to shout while we waited 5/10mins alone in a hall way with no reception area, finally greeted by the lady of the house and shown to our room number 7 impressed by what we saw we left to meet family looking forward to returning later.
upon returning i ran myself a bath which was luke warm with only running the hot tap and then got into bed which was awful the mattress was incredibly thin and lumpy and only 1 very flat pillow each, after an uncomfortable nights sleep i was looking forward to my shower which was hot and powerful for a few mins then some one else must of been running water as the temperature and pressure dropped.
we had booked in for breakfast at 9am apparently you cant just go down when your ready and ordered a full english which appeared moments after, i new as soon as i saw it i would not enjoy it the sausage was vile and had no colour except pink the bacon was also pink and very fatty the egg was dripping in oil and plonked on top of the hash brown which absorbed said oil, the mushrooms and tomato are the only edible parts, the toast was cold and the tea had a strange metalic taste.
we then decided to check out and no one was any where to be seen we eventually found the 'chef' in the kitchen and he took our payment in the bar area which apparently doubles up as the families lounge judging by all their belongings on the sofa and the group of teenagers running around with the lady of the house oblivious to the guests.
very disapointed and would never stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Following a mix up with another Hotel i found myself on a hotel comparison website booking a room at the Sandhurst Hotel where the photos seems very nice and i had no worries in making the booking. I travelled up from London and after my 3:30 hours drive found myself outside the front of the Sandhurst hotel a wonderful Edwardian building that looked steeped in history and after growing up in a Georgian house myself was looking forward to my stay. After opening the front door and walking in instead of being greeted by a reception or a buzzer attract attention we were greeted by a girl sat off in the restaurant having an argument with her boyfriend down the phone that then preceded to shout loudly off into the shout "Mum someone here!" a Lady appeared and we were welcome and showed to our room Number 7 which has a more modern décor and is well set out. We were asked what we wanted for breakfast and at what time which was abit annoying surely they should be doing breakfast from x time to x time and you can go down at anytime within that and order accordingly seem not! Having visited family in the area and upon returning we unpacked and got into get which is extremely sofa and more like sleeping on a bean bag trampoline hybrid than anything else and only one pillow per person! I decided to have a look on TripAdvisor to see the reviews and thats where the bad news about breakfast came in! We went down for breakfast and were greeted by a man who asked if we were having full english to which we said yes and simply walked into the kitchen and immediately back out with two full english breakfasts and some toast that was cold, the food was the cheapest makro costco rubbish you could find odd tasting harsh brown because the egg had been cooked in 10ltrs of oil and placed on top so all the oil had soaked into the hash brown the sausage was pink the bacon was undercooked and massively fatty and the tea metallic because it had been made and left in the pot for ages on the side on a hot plate so we eat our tomatoes and decided to just head back to the family for breakfast.We headed up stairs to collect our bags put them in the car and returned to the house to pay to find no one around the lady of the house was no where to be seen so after waiting for well over 15mins decided to enter the kitchen to tell the chef who then preceded to take our payment from the bar which is where we found the lady of the house preparing to go out for the day with an escort of children who failed to acknowledge our existence! . Overall not an enjoyable experience overpriced for what you get but i know the cost of upkeeping a home like that so know they need to make decent profits, The Sandhurst is labelled as a hotel but scraps a guest house at best! as it lacks vital hotel facility's and more importantly lacks staff! if you have guests make sure your there to cater to them! Would recommend trying the Travel lodge just of the M6 Jct18 as its only 10mins from middlewich and your guaranteed someone will check you out properly. Avoid breakfast!

Room Tip: If you need to stay!!! Go for room 7! But i wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here nor will i go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlewich
3.4 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Northwich South Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Chimney House Hotel
Chimney House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandbach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
5.7 mi away
Wincham Hall Hotel and Gardens
0.1 mi away
Golden Lion
Golden Lion
#4 of 5 in Middlewich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandhurst

Property: The Sandhurst
Address: 69 Chester Road, Middlewich CW10 9EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Middlewich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Middlewich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sandhurst 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Sandhurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhurst Hotel Middlewich
The Sandhurst Middlewich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing