We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Edwardian in many respects”
Review of The Sandhurst

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sandhurst
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Middlewich
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Edwardian in many respects”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed one night in July when attending a family wedding. It was good to be able to fall into bed after the festivities finished. The hotel was exclusively used by the wedding, so it was difficult to assess just how the experience would have been as a solo traveller. The "welcome" seemed a little stressed but I put that down to the wedding and bad weather helping to make plans requiring change. Overall, the event went well and the owner and staff worked tirelessly to make the day special. The building and contents are great for anyone with an interest in the Edwardian era. It is like visiting a museum, which was good. The "apartment" we had may not have been representative of the main house rooms but everything looked like it could have been freshened up. Generally, it was clean enough but tired looking and giving the appearance of not being thoroughly cleaned. Food in the evening was set for the wedding but it was very well presented and tasty enough. The breakfast was good and I was impressed that the ordered "vegetarian" full English was delivered perfectly.

Room Tip: If you like to open a window at night, I suggest asking for a rear room as the road out the front ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank therosy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    33
    20
    20
    18
See reviews for
35
95
17
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Me and my girlfriend purchased a platter deal off travel zoo. At first when we arrived we didn't know what to think bearing in mind we had never been here before. Never the less the starter was the beat starter I have ever eaten. The mushroom and Stilton in the filo pasty was to die for! The chicken platter came with a lovely red wine sauce which was also lovely. For desert we had the toffee date and pecan pudding. Absolutely gorgeous!!! Would defiantly go again defiantly worth the price I paid, would love to go again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaketaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Went for a meal on 12/7/14 have been before so was aware to ring in advance to see if the restaurant was open to the public as sometimes in the week it may not be.Service and food were excellent as had been before when I visited. There was plenty of choice on the menu and my friend who is very precise on what he wants was not disappointed .The food was hot and the chips homemade to perfection. The meal was served by a waitress in period costume who was very polite. Wish we had a groupon voucher then we would have had the platter menu to try .

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jayne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed here overnight last Saturday as had purchased a Groupon voucher for Restaurant meal. Unfortunately our car broke down making us late for our reservation but on phoning the hotel they were very understanding & helpful, holding our table until we finally arrived. The hotel is full of Edwardian memorabilia, with the waitresses in costume too, and I would imagine the themed evenings they do would be very good. The food was hot and attractively served. We had Room 2 which was a large room facing the front, with 4 poster bed, but didn't notice any traffic noise from the busy road. The bathroom was light, airy and clean with excellent bath & shower - only drawback was that the toilet had a noisy flush, rather disturbing in the middle of the night. Breakfast was good with enough choice, and once again the staff were very obliging & helpful by letting us keep our room until after lunch, at no extra charge, until the recovery truck arrived to collect the car. Would definitely stay here again when hopefully we could have a more relaxing time with no car problems !

Room Tip: Room 2 for large bedroom with 4 poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianeToulouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I had a groupon for a 3 course meal for 2 with coffee. When we got there we found it very airy and spooky. It seemed haunted to us, we'd only just stepped in the place and straight away I felt spooked. I only went for a meal so can't comment on the rooms. The meal was lovely. We could order anything off the main menu, not one of these groupons that have a separate menu when you tell them. We both had terrine to start, then I had steak my friend had pork, and we both had sticky toffee pudding. All 3 courses where lovely! Especially the toffee pudding. Was homemade chips and everything was piping hot. Well worth £29 for 2.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobberlicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My husband and I spent a wonderful night at the Sandhurst, celebrating my sister-in-law and brother-in-law's 50th wedding anniversary, we were pleasantly surprised by the lovely character and charm of the place, the homely atmosphere, and, we both admired the hard work and commitment of the very friendly staff. The menu was varied, and the food was beautiful, ( the full English breakfast included) a great time was had by all the family, and the happy couple had a night to remember!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June50158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is the second time I have stayed here . Like a year ago the same friendly welcome and good atmosphere. A good choice of food on the menu and a flexible choice for breakfast.
The room is clean with nice original fittings and the bathroom spotless with modern fittings.
Good value for money. Why stay in a chain hotel,when you can enjoy a friendly welcome in relaxing surroundings.No hesitation to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 792Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlewich
3.4 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Northwich South Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Chimney House Hotel
Chimney House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandbach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
5.7 mi away
Wincham Hall Hotel and Gardens
0.1 mi away
Golden Lion
Golden Lion
#4 of 5 in Middlewich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandhurst

Property: The Sandhurst
Address: 69 Chester Road, Middlewich CW10 9EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Middlewich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Middlewich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sandhurst 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Sandhurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhurst Hotel Middlewich
The Sandhurst Middlewich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing