We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:30
Review Highlights
Northern Belle experience

An amazing experience with fantastic service with a smile. Luxurious train and great entertainment... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
williamwQ7758KG
,
Worcester, United Kingdom
An outstanding experience

This was an absolutely wonderful experience. The carriages, food, drinks and service were very... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
FussyNorthEast
,
North East England, United Kingdom
Read all 1,283 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (1,283)
Filter reviews
1,283 results
Traveller rating
1,063
80
47
39
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
1,063
80
47
39
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews christmas lunch day trip from start to finish first class return journey orient express train journey red carpet food was amazing fine dining treated like royalty feel special fabulous experience special birthday from manchester main course strolling musicians
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 1,283 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2023 via mobile

A special trip on the Flying Scotsman to Edinburgh was a super surprise present from our daughter.We had a lovely time and met up with our daughter in Edinburgh visiting the National Gallery.The service and food on board the train was excellent

Date of experience: September 2023
2  Thank Doctor1ROB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2023

Thank you for sharing your special experience aboard the Flying Scotsman to Edinburgh, which was a surprise present from your daughter. We're delighted to hear that you had a lovely time and enjoyed the excellent service and food on board. It's wonderful that your trip was a memorable one, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you aboard again for another delightful journey in the future. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2023

Just wanted to say thanks to Del for making our trip great.He was very attentive. He is an asset to the team.

Date of experience: September 2023
1  Thank Sunny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2023


Thank you for your kind words. We're delighted to hear that Del's attentive service contributed to making your trip great. We appreciate your feedback, and Del is indeed a valuable asset to our team. We hope to welcome you aboard again for another enjoyable journey in the future. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2023

Fabulous excursion from Darlington to Edinburgh made an excellent experience by being hauled by Flying Scotsman to mark its Centenary. Absolutely faultless service, food, and organisation. Preparation and presentation of carriage (Duart) was superb and was regularly maintained throughout the return journey. Nothing was too much trouble for the hardworking staff who cannot be praised highly enough. Main meal of beef was cooked to perfection and melted in the mouth. Absolutely recommended to anyone. A wonderful day.

Date of experience: September 2023
Thank MEllerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2023

Thank you for sharing your fabulous experience aboard the Northern Belle's excursion from Darlington to Edinburgh, pulled by the iconic Flying Scotsman to mark its Centenary. We're thrilled to hear that you had an excellent experience with faultless service, food, and organization. It's fantastic to know that the preparation and presentation of the carriage 'Duart' were superb and well-maintained throughout the journey. We're delighted that the main meal of beef was cooked to perfection and that you had a wonderful day overall. Your high praise and recommendation are greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you or anyone you recommend on board again for another memorable journey in the future. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2023 via mobile

We did the Flying Scotsman centenary special journey - from York to Edinburgh. What a wonderful day! The superb, efficient team worked hard to make our day memorable. The luxurious carriages and excellent food and beverages added to the glamour of the day. I’d recommend one of the Northern Belle journeys to anyone wanting this kind of special day out.

Date of experience: September 2023
1  Thank Corinne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2023

Thank you for sharing your fantastic experience aboard the Northern Belle's Flying Scotsman centenary special journey. We're thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful day and that our efficient team contributed to making your experience memorable. It's great to know that the luxurious carriages and excellent food and beverages added to the glamour of the day for you. Your recommendation means a lot, and we're delighted to have provided you with a special day out. We look forward to welcoming you or anyone you recommend on board for another memorable journey in the future. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2023

What a wonderful day when the worlds most famous steam engine coupled up with Britains most luxurious train. I went to meet it at Darlington and a piper was there to play it into the station. It was a really magnificent sight seeing it pull in and I felt really excited. It took us up to Edinburgh. The food on the day both for brunch and dinner was delicious and the staff worked really hard all day to make it such a great success. Included in the trip was also a tour to the Royal yacht Britannia. I found this very interesting and enjoyable. Now I cant wait for my next trip at Christmas

Date of experience: September 2023
1  Thank mariedimartino
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2023

Thank you for sharing your exciting experience aboard the Northern Belle during its journey with the world's most famous steam engine. It sounds like a truly magnificent sight to witness the coupling at Darlington station, and the piper added a special touch to the occasion. We're delighted that you enjoyed the journey to Edinburgh and found the food for both brunch and dinner delicious. The hard work of our staff is indeed key to making your experience memorable. We're glad to hear that the tour to the Royal Yacht Britannia was interesting and enjoyable for you. We share your anticipation for your upcoming Christmas trip and look forward to welcoming you on board again for another wonderful adventure. Safe travels and happy holidays in advance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews