We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:30
Review Highlights
Settle to Carlisle - Fantastic !

Absolutely excellent from start to finish. Silver service treatment with fabulous food. Staff... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Kaybannister
Exceptional Northern Belle - best day out.

An exceptional day out on the Northern Belle with my sister. Staff were exceptional - Phil, Lucy... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Daydream14819389445
Read all 1,289 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (1,289)
Filter reviews
1,289 results
Traveller rating
1,067
80
47
41
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
1,067
80
47
41
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews christmas lunch day trip from start to finish first class return journey orient express train journey red carpet food was amazing fine dining treated like royalty feel special fabulous experience special birthday from manchester main course strolling musicians
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 1,289 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2023

Went on a circuit of Cumbria on 23rd September. Was originally meant to include a return leg through the Dales on the Settle-Carlisle line, but had to be changed due to engineering works on the line. For us, the alternative route down the coast was even better and so we were very happy with the change.

Throughout the whole journey the attentive staff were outstanding and the food and drink to genuine fine dining standard. The carriage was beautifully presented. Yes, it is expensive, but you don't mind if the experience exceeds all expectations as this one did. Strongly recommended.

Date of experience: September 2023
1  Thank jamessS9569JD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2023

Thank you for sharing your positive experience during your Cumbria circuit trip on 23rd September. We're delighted to hear that despite the change in route due to engineering works, you found the alternative coastal route even better and were very happy with it. It's wonderful to know that the attentive staff, outstanding food, and beautifully presented carriage made your journey memorable. We understand that our premium experiences come at a cost, but we're thrilled that the experience exceeded all your expectations. Your strong recommendation means a lot, and we look forward to welcoming you aboard again for another exceptional journey in the future. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2023 via mobile

Awful customer service, no one responds to you and if they ever do it is the worst kind of media trained, politician like word salad!

“We take complaint’s seriously, thank you for your feedback blah blah blah”

We went on the Historic York trip from Ipswich.

We will NEVER be using you again and will warn anyone we can about your customer care!

1st problem - the email regarding timings was wrong - they corrected this with another email

2nd problem - we were told that we would have to bus from Ipswich station as the lines were closed - this adds considerable time to our trip and to our getting up time (which was 04:45) to arrive in time for the replacement bus but we didn’t want to cancel as it was a special trip on a special date for us.

3rd problem - on arrival we were met by a gentleman who was the representative of Northern Belle. He did not have our correct names (we were down as Senior and Senior?!) my name is the same as my fathers so I put Ronald frith senior and Ronald frith junior!

4th problem - on arrival to our table the ladies sitting opposite were kindly given a card thanking them for their many bookings. My father and I have also booked several times previously- we got nothing! If they are going to thank guests for booking again, do it for everyone or not at all.

5th problem - this is the largest and most serious of all

Upon arrival at Norwich station there was no representative anywhere to be found! Our replacement bus had crashed into a bollard so was unable to take us home to Ipswich! The driver seemed in shock and could give us no information regarding getting home, the rail staff didn’t know how we could get home as the buses the railway were using were already full

We had no person from your company to call on or to help so 45 of your guests were dumped unceremoniously at Norwich station then totally ignored, no representation of Northern Belle whatsoever, no answer from your phone lines either.

How did we get home? Well, we had to catch a taxi from Norwich ( after three taxis simply refused to take us to Ipswich as it was “too far”) and after recruiting another 4 of your disappointed and desperate “guests” we managed to split the cost of a £120 taxi fare

I had a taxi waiting at Ipswich station at 23:30 to take me and my elderly disabled father home. We caught it just in time, no thanks to you or your company

I am disgusted and furious that a “luxury premium” excursion such as you pretend to be should end in such a way and it ruined the entire experience for us and for many others.

It is disgraceful to unceremoniously just dump 45 people that have paid a large amount for a “luxury” experience

This was far removed from any such thing

Date of experience: September 2023
2  Thank ron f
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2023

I'm truly sorry to hear about your disappointing experience during your Historic York trip from Ipswich. It's disheartening to learn about the series of issues you faced, from inaccurate emails and miscommunications to the lack of proper representation and support, especially during the challenging situation at Norwich station. I understand your frustration and anger, and I genuinely apologize for the way this situation was handled. Your feedback is crucial, and I assure you that I will forward your concerns to the relevant team within Northern Belle. We take your experience seriously, and we deeply regret that your special day turned out so negatively. Please know that your feedback will be used to improve our services, and we appreciate your honesty in sharing your grievances. If there's anything else you'd like to discuss or if you have further concerns, please feel free to let us know. Your feedback is invaluable, and we'll do our best to address the issues you've raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2023 via mobile

A special trip on the Flying Scotsman to Edinburgh was a super surprise present from our daughter.We had a lovely time and met up with our daughter in Edinburgh visiting the National Gallery.The service and food on board the train was excellent

Date of experience: September 2023
2  Thank Doctor1ROB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2023

Thank you for sharing your special experience aboard the Flying Scotsman to Edinburgh, which was a surprise present from your daughter. We're delighted to hear that you had a lovely time and enjoyed the excellent service and food on board. It's wonderful that your trip was a memorable one, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you aboard again for another delightful journey in the future. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2023

Just wanted to say thanks to Del for making our trip great.He was very attentive. He is an asset to the team.

Date of experience: September 2023
1  Thank Sunny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2023


Thank you for your kind words. We're delighted to hear that Del's attentive service contributed to making your trip great. We appreciate your feedback, and Del is indeed a valuable asset to our team. We hope to welcome you aboard again for another enjoyable journey in the future. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2023

Fabulous excursion from Darlington to Edinburgh made an excellent experience by being hauled by Flying Scotsman to mark its Centenary. Absolutely faultless service, food, and organisation. Preparation and presentation of carriage (Duart) was superb and was regularly maintained throughout the return journey. Nothing was too much trouble for the hardworking staff who cannot be praised highly enough. Main meal of beef was cooked to perfection and melted in the mouth. Absolutely recommended to anyone. A wonderful day.

Date of experience: September 2023
Thank MEllerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2023

Thank you for sharing your fabulous experience aboard the Northern Belle's excursion from Darlington to Edinburgh, pulled by the iconic Flying Scotsman to mark its Centenary. We're thrilled to hear that you had an excellent experience with faultless service, food, and organization. It's fantastic to know that the preparation and presentation of the carriage 'Duart' were superb and well-maintained throughout the journey. We're delighted that the main meal of beef was cooked to perfection and that you had a wonderful day overall. Your high praise and recommendation are greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you or anyone you recommend on board again for another memorable journey in the future. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews