We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Review Highlights
Totally amazing!!

I have just travelled on the northern belle boarding at Manchester Victoria and travelling around... read more

Reviewed today
P D
,
Stockport, United Kingdom
Steam Special - 60th Celebration

My husband booked the Northern Belle to celebrate my 60th birthday. We boarded at Liverpool Lime... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Jackie G
,
Rhosesmore, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1,266 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (1,266)
Filter reviews
1,266 results
Traveller rating
1,051
79
45
37
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
1,051
79
45
37
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews christmas lunch day trip from start to finish first class return journey orient express train journey red carpet food was amazing fine dining treated like royalty feel special fabulous experience special birthday from manchester main course strolling musicians
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1,266 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2023

We went on the Steam hauled tour including the settle to Carlisle line on 28th October 2023. The train is luxuriously appointed and the staff very attentive. The food is good but not outstanding, at the level of a posh wedding. There were quite long gaps between courses, which we liked, but might not be to everybody's taste. Plentiful hot drinks and bottled water on offer plus Mimosa with brunch, Champagne with canapes, bottle of wine per couple and a glass of port with the cheese. After dinner the trip began to drag on a little. Recommend do the long day in the summer and consider a cheaper shorter trip in the winter. Not sure that the quality of food on offer entirely justified the price

Date of experience: October 2023
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2023

Thank you for sharing your experience. We're pleased to hear you found the train luxuriously appointed and the staff attentive. Your feedback on the food and timing between courses is valuable, and we appreciate your suggestions. We're glad you enjoyed the complimentary offerings and your recommendation for a long day in the summer and a shorter, more affordable trip in the winter is noted. We'll certainly consider your thoughts on the food quality in our ongoing efforts to enhance our offerings.

We hope to welcome you aboard again for another memorable journey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2023

Amazing experience. Loved the food, staff and journey. This was our first trip on the Northern Belle but it certainly won't be the last.

Date of experience: October 2023
1  Thank sdJ8602FH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2023

Thank you for sharing your amazing experience! We're delighted you enjoyed the food, staff, and journey on your first Northern Belle trip. We can't wait to welcome you back for more unforgettable moments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2023

First trip for 4 years and just as good as ever, if not better - superb, friendly attentive service attending to our every need in that wonderful atmosphere only found on the Northern Belle and the entertainment too from the singing duo and magician at table.
All four of us had a great day out from Carlisle to Dundee - topped off by a tour of Glamis Castle.

Date of experience: September 2023
1  Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2023

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on your recent trip from Carlisle to Dundee aboard the Northern Belle. We're thrilled to hear that the superb, friendly, and attentive service, along with the fantastic atmosphere, made your journey memorable. It's great to know that you and your companions enjoyed the entertainment provided by the singing duo and magician at your table. The tour of Glamis Castle must have added to the excitement of your day out. We're delighted that your first trip in four years was a memorable one, and we hope to welcome you all back aboard for another fantastic journey in the future. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2023

What a great experience. A day on the Northern Belle, great service, excellent food and drinks. Travel by rail in style!

Date of experience: September 2023
1  Thank lakelover908
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2023

Thank you for your kind words! We're delighted to hear that you had a great experience on the Northern Belle. Providing excellent service, delicious food, and stylish rail travel is our aim, and we're pleased to know that we succeeded during your journey. If you ever decide to travel with us again, we look forward to welcoming you back for another delightful day on board. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2023

Went on a circuit of Cumbria on 23rd September. Was originally meant to include a return leg through the Dales on the Settle-Carlisle line, but had to be changed due to engineering works on the line. For us, the alternative route down the coast was even better and so we were very happy with the change.

Throughout the whole journey the attentive staff were outstanding and the food and drink to genuine fine dining standard. The carriage was beautifully presented. Yes, it is expensive, but you don't mind if the experience exceeds all expectations as this one did. Strongly recommended.

Date of experience: September 2023
1  Thank jamessS9569JD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2023

Thank you for sharing your positive experience during your Cumbria circuit trip on 23rd September. We're delighted to hear that despite the change in route due to engineering works, you found the alternative coastal route even better and were very happy with it. It's wonderful to know that the attentive staff, outstanding food, and beautifully presented carriage made your journey memorable. We understand that our premium experiences come at a cost, but we're thrilled that the experience exceeded all your expectations. Your strong recommendation means a lot, and we look forward to welcoming you aboard again for another exceptional journey in the future. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews