We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 18:00
Review Highlights
Steam Special - 60th Celebration

My husband booked the Northern Belle to celebrate my 60th birthday. We boarded at Liverpool Lime... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Jackie G
,
Rhosesmore, United Kingdom
via mobile
Fabulous day trip to Carlisle

Boarded the Northern Belle at Wakefield for a full days outing to Carlyle and what a fabulous... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Judestar66
,
Derby, United Kingdom
Read all 1,265 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (1,265)
Filter reviews
1,265 results
Traveller rating
1,050
79
45
37
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
1,050
79
45
37
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews christmas lunch day trip from start to finish first class return journey orient express train journey red carpet food was amazing fine dining treated like royalty feel special fabulous experience special birthday from manchester main course strolling musicians
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,265 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2023 via mobile

Myself and my mum have just been on the Historic Oxford trip on The Northern Belle. This was my fourth time on the train, and like previous trips it was outstanding. The food and service is unbelievable. If you are looking for something that is extra special then I would highly recommend as I'm sure you won't be disappointed. The only disappointment I have is that the number of trips that Northern Belle now operate from Chester and even Crewe are extremely limited , otherwise I would book more.

Date of experience: November 2023
1  Thank Wendleech1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2023

Thank you for being a returning guest on the Historic Oxford trip aboard The Northern Belle. We're thrilled to hear that, once again, you found the experience outstanding with unbelievable food and service. We appreciate your recommendation for those seeking something extra special.

We understand your desire for more trips from Chester and Crewe, and we'll certainly consider expanding our offerings. We look forward to welcoming you and your mum on board again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2023

Had a fantastic time on the northern belle with my wife , we went to Oxford on a leisure afternoon from warrington bank Quay , the train was super we was in the Glamis carriage seats 17/18. The three course brunch & 6 corse afternoon meal was amazing, as was the cocktail breakfast drink, the champagne & the fine wine, aswell as coffee & tea on supply. The staff on our carriage Glamis was brilliant there attention to detail was amazing so lovely and professional, this was a special birthday suprise for my wife, she was absolutely blown away with the full experience, we recommend if you can go on the northern belle it's an experience off a lifetime, we will be booking again for 2024, a big thanks again to all the staff they never stopped and a credit to the company, many thanks again.

Date of experience: November 2023
1  Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2023

Thank you for sharing your fantastic experience aboard the Northern Belle. We're delighted to hear that you and your wife enjoyed the leisure afternoon trip to Oxford, especially the Glamis carriage and the exceptional three-course brunch and six-course afternoon meal. It warms our hearts to know that the special birthday surprise for your wife was a success, and we appreciate your kind words about our staff's attention to detail and professionalism.

We can't wait to welcome you back in 2024 for another unforgettable journey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2023 via mobile

We had a lovely magical, historical day experiencing a time of bygone era. It was quite breathtaking to arrive in York, walk over the footbridge and see the numerous old carriages and be greeted by a guard/steward at each one. These individuals gave a fabulous safety briefing and it was reassuring to see how many were available.

We were soon seated and as the train rolled out the station the full Silver service began for breakfast. It was great to see (as always) people that have made a career of being exceptional at their trade.

Amazing views as you head along the track towards settle and then onto Carlisle.

Carlisle was nothing spectacular, but then again we were only there briefly. Coming back, service was good but no where near the standards of the morning.

This was August and a very hot day, obviously due to the age of the carriages there was little ventilation, other than the tiny windows at the top. This is not a moan and is to be expected.

What is a moan and what reduced this from being 5 stars was the following.

1. On such a hot day, water appeared to be limited in being handed out and was charged for at an extortionate price.
2. The champagne we had pre ordered was not chilled, they did not have any extra champagne and the white wine was no it chilled.
3. Having the lady steward walk through the carriage after dinner and bellow, ‘we accept tips and like cash’, which was all a little vulgar.
4. The return leg, staff seemed to disappear, totally different experience to the morning and felt unsafe.

Date of experience: August 2023
1  Thank Gilbert_Chesterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2023

Thank you for sharing your experience on our historical journey. We're thrilled you found it magical and enjoyed the Silver service for breakfast with exceptional staff. We appreciate your feedback on the service during the return leg and will address the concerns raised. Your input on the limited water availability, temperature, and the steward's approach is noted, and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.

We value your insights and hope to have the opportunity to make your next journey with us a 5-star experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2023

We went on the Steam hauled tour including the settle to Carlisle line on 28th October 2023. The train is luxuriously appointed and the staff very attentive. The food is good but not outstanding, at the level of a posh wedding. There were quite long gaps between courses, which we liked, but might not be to everybody's taste. Plentiful hot drinks and bottled water on offer plus Mimosa with brunch, Champagne with canapes, bottle of wine per couple and a glass of port with the cheese. After dinner the trip began to drag on a little. Recommend do the long day in the summer and consider a cheaper shorter trip in the winter. Not sure that the quality of food on offer entirely justified the price

Date of experience: October 2023
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2023

Thank you for sharing your experience. We're pleased to hear you found the train luxuriously appointed and the staff attentive. Your feedback on the food and timing between courses is valuable, and we appreciate your suggestions. We're glad you enjoyed the complimentary offerings and your recommendation for a long day in the summer and a shorter, more affordable trip in the winter is noted. We'll certainly consider your thoughts on the food quality in our ongoing efforts to enhance our offerings.

We hope to welcome you aboard again for another memorable journey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2023

Amazing experience. Loved the food, staff and journey. This was our first trip on the Northern Belle but it certainly won't be the last.

Date of experience: October 2023
1  Thank sdJ8602FH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2023

Thank you for sharing your amazing experience! We're delighted you enjoyed the food, staff, and journey on your first Northern Belle trip. We can't wait to welcome you back for more unforgettable moments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews