We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Fabulous day trip to Carlisle

Boarded the Northern Belle at Wakefield for a full days outing to Carlyle and what a fabulous... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Judestar66
,
Derby, United Kingdom
Travel in style

Special birthday treat for my husband we went to The Cheltenham Gold Cup on the Northern Belle. It... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
DeniseF914
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 1,264 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (1,264)
Filter reviews
1,264 results
Traveller rating
1,049
79
45
37
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
1,049
79
45
37
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews christmas lunch day trip from start to finish first class return journey orient express train journey red carpet food was amazing fine dining treated like royalty feel special fabulous experience special birthday from manchester main course strolling musicians
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,264 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2023

This was our second time onboard the Northern Belle and our second time doing the festive run to/from Edinburgh. The greeter at Sheffield train station was very personable and great to chat to. The real magic started with the bagpiper on the platform, something we didn't have the year before but really added to the theatre and pageantry of our day. My great grandma was a proud Scot, then residing in London, so my mum found this both an emotional and beautiful tribute to both her and the journey that lay ahead.
To our surprise and delight onboard Glamis we had a lot of the same crew as we had the previous year. A special shout out to Jason, Roz and the other hardworking crew members who made our journey very special and magical. Additional shout out to the cheeky chappy Dan whose wit and laid back personality make him both highly personable and added entertainment onboard. The entire train crew work exceptionally hard, go above and beyond and are a joy. If we get the chance to travel again, we hope we get the gold star team of Jason, Roz and Dan again.
The food was, and always is, exceptional and faultless. Welcome addition to the cocktail menu this year, perhaps not to my waistline but certainly to my journey, and the farewell gift upon disembarkation. We also managed to purchase a few items from the onboard boutique, something which I feel should be better advertised at your seat and with a wider selection than what is shown in the brochure. I love the ability to take home with us a piece of the magic. Both years running this trip was a gift from my grandparents who are now too frail to join us but who wish to gift us this magical experience, in return the boutique allowed us to take a little bit of that luxury to them proudly on display in their home.
Arriving at Edinburgh we were thrilled at how frictionless the transition from the train to our excursion was, operating like a well oiled machine. The tour guide was informative and the excursion a great treat.
The real highlight, of course, being the return journey with the 6 course dinner and the entertainment. 
There is truly something special about this train. You could argue its the high level of detail, you could argue its the attentive staff or the luxurious surroundings, but there's something more at play. A crossroads of nostalgia, legend, luxury and sheer joy that gives the train a unique aura and energy creating something truly special and memorable for all that travel on her.

Date of experience: November 2023
1  Thank duke68012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2023

Thank you for sharing such a heartwarming and detailed review of your festive run experience aboard the Northern Belle. We're delighted to hear that the journey held special significance for you, particularly with the thoughtful tributes to your great grandma's Scottish heritage.

We're grateful for your recognition of the hardworking and dedicated crew members, especially Jason, Roz, and Dan, who contributed to making your journey magical. It's wonderful to know that the food exceeded your expectations, and we appreciate your feedback on the additional cocktail options and farewell gift.

We also acknowledge your suggestion about better advertising the onboard boutique, and we'll take that into consideration for future improvements. It warms our hearts to hear that you were able to bring a piece of the magic home and share it with your grandparents.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you aboard again for another special and memorable journey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2023

I was very thankful that we had Del in our carriage who was very helpful. As we no longer spring chickens. He kindly helped us out of and back into the carriage. A big thankyou. I hope the managers will thank him from us. Someone who is that willing and helpful should be utilised to the fullest extent. Great team member

Date of experience: September 2023
3  Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2023

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and we're pleased to hear that Del's assistance made your journey more comfortable. We truly appreciate your kind words and will make sure to pass on your gratitude to Del. We agree that team members like him, who go above and beyond to ensure a positive experience, are invaluable.

We look forward to welcoming you on board again and will continue to strive for excellent service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2023

My partner and I travelled from York to Edinburgh in Duart carriage on Saturday 11th November. This was not our first trip with Northern Belle and so we knew that the experience would be lovely. In fact this trip far exceeded our high expectations. The carriage was simply stunning and Chloe and Laura could not have been better hosts. Their attention to detail was amazing and they ensured that we were well pampered. The mix of professionalism and informality was perfectly judged.
Brunch and dinner were beautifully presented and simply wonderful.
Fellow guests were charming to add to what was a perfect day.
We are already looking at booking again
Thank you Northern Belle and Chloe and Laura.

Date of experience: November 2023
1  Thank kga1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2023

Thank you for sharing your delightful experience aboard the Duart carriage from York to Edinburgh on Saturday, November 11th. We're thrilled to hear that your expectations were not only met but exceeded. It's wonderful to know that the stunning carriage and the exceptional hospitality provided by Chloe and Laura contributed to a perfect day for you and your partner.

We appreciate your kind words about the beautifully presented brunch and dinner, as well as the charming fellow guests. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on board for another lovely journey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2023

Had a fantastic trip on the Northern Belle, Chatsworth carriage from York to Edinburgh with a trip to Royal Yacht Britannia . Was a treat from start to finish lovely atmosphere ,great food, great company ( who we had not met before the trip) the staff were brilliant made us feel very welcome and relaxed just the right balance between professional and friendly. Was a great day for a special occasion would recommend it was a 5 star day.

Date of experience: November 2023
Thank OSBIY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2023

Thank you for sharing your fantastic experience aboard the Northern Belle's Chatsworth carriage from York to Edinburgh with a trip to the Royal Yacht Britannia. We're delighted to hear that your journey was a treat from start to finish, with a lovely atmosphere, great food, and wonderful company. It's wonderful to know that our staff made you feel welcome and created the perfect balance between professionalism and friendliness.

We appreciate your recommendation and are thrilled that your special occasion turned into a 5-star day. We hope to welcome you back for more memorable journeys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2023 via mobile

We took the Northern Belle for a day trip from York to Edinburgh and really can’t recommend it highly enough.

The train is fabulous, beautifully decorated and comfortable. The food is fantastic and service equally so. Our fellow guests were lovely.

The whole experience feels very special and we would highly recommend it. Oh, and we got 4 hours in Edinburgh as an added bonus!

Date of experience: November 2023
Thank Fuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2023

Thank you for your glowing review of your day trip from York to Edinburgh on the Northern Belle. We're thrilled to hear that you found the train fabulous, beautifully decorated, and comfortable. It's great to know that the fantastic food and excellent service, along with the company of lovely fellow guests, made the experience special for you. We're delighted you enjoyed the added bonus of 4 hours in Edinburgh.

We appreciate your high recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back on board for another memorable journey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews