We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:30
Review Highlights
Experience to die for!!

Amazing experience, food was out of this world, all staff on board are very attentive to all your... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
BevGof
It was like being treated as royalty

This was a treat for my husbands birthday and it was a wonderful experience. The staff were so... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Kirsten M
,
Southampton, United Kingdom
Read all 1,299 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (1,299)
Filter reviews
1,299 results
Traveller rating
1,075
81
48
41
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
1,075
81
48
41
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews christmas lunch day trip from start to finish first class return journey orient express train journey red carpet food was amazing fine dining treated like royalty feel special fabulous experience special birthday from manchester main course strolling musicians
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 1,299 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2024

WAS really looking forward to my surprise after a superb 'cloak and dagger' effort from the good wife next weekend only to find a train issue means our particular carriage was cancelled. Horrendous customer service experience with no real apology (things break which is fine and acceptable ) but then to discover that even with no tickets being distributed yet (which if they had we'd have understood) they have decided the fate of the unfortunate few by carriage and NOT on a first come first served basis? We booked last August and this seemed to hold no weight whatsoever. (They wouldnt even call us, apparently the reservations manger was too ill to talk!) The unfair process of
'elimination' and the loss of faith in what looks like a superb experience means we wont be booking again..they even tried to say that all passengers booked at same time as us which we know to be totally untrue! Terrible form Northern Belle..

Date of experience: April 2024
Thank Nomad37355416271
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2024

Thank you for your feedback. We’re very sorry to hear about your disappointing experience. We understand your frustration with the carriage cancellation and the subsequent customer service issues. We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused and the lack of proper communication. Your comments are valuable to us, and we will work to improve our processes to prevent this from happening in the future. We hope you might consider giving us another chance to provide you with the superb experience we’re known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2024

Boarded the Northern Belle at Wakefield for a full days outing to Carlyle and what a fabulous experience it was from start to finish. The food and service were first class, we were in the Chatsworth carriage and our stewards Barry and Zayna looked after us impeccably with enthusiasm, grace and humour. The cost of the trip may seem expensive but when a full 12 hours experience is factored in with a 3 course brunch, 6 course dinner, champagne, wine and port included along with a magician, a band and the luxurious experience, it all makes for a wonderful memory. Can highly recommend.

Date of experience: April 2024
1  Thank Judestar66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2024

Thank you for your fantastic feedback! We’re thrilled you had a fabulous experience from start to finish. We can’t wait to welcome you on board the Northern Belle again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2024

Special birthday treat for my husband we went to The Cheltenham Gold Cup on the Northern Belle. It really is luxury travel and we were looked after extremely well by the staff always with a smile and nothing was too much travel.My husband was chuffed to receive a birthday card from them as well which was a lovely touch. The food is second to none and the tartlet “Arnold Bennett” was delicious melted in the mouth thank you chef. The ongoing travel into Cheltenham race course was well orchestrated and the volunteers on the steam train and at the station also looked after us very well. The five course dinner on our journey back was just a delight I particularly enjoyed the shin suet pudding and the beef.
I wanted my husband to enjoy his day and he loved every minute of the experience and hasn’t stopped talking about it.
So huge thank you to all but especially to the staff of our replacement carriage who made the vintage carriage look so beautiful and made sure we didn’t feel we had missed out.

Date of experience: March 2024
3  Thank DeniseF914
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2024

Dear Denise,

Thank you for choosing the Northern Belle to celebrate your husband's special birthday at The Cheltenham Gold Cup. We're thrilled to hear that you both enjoyed luxury travel and were well looked after by our staff. It's delightful to know that your husband appreciated the birthday card - we always strive to add those personal touches. We're glad you enjoyed the culinary delights, especially the tartlet "Arnold Bennett" and the five-course dinner. Your kind words about our staff and volunteers are truly appreciated. We're so pleased that your husband loved every minute of the experience. Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2024

What an unforgettable and amazing experience for my birthday! Genuinely one of the best things I’ve ever done. From start to finish the day was PERFECT! The most wonderful staff, fantastic food, entertainment, everything just stunningly beautiful.

Anyone considering doing a trip, DO IT! It’s a must!

We had the spirit of travel luncheon and upgraded to a couples table and Laurent Perrier package, it was worth every single penny.

We will definitely be back to do another one!

Date of experience: March 2024
1  Thank Soap12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2024

Dear Soap12,

Thank you for choosing the Northern Belle to celebrate your birthday! We're thrilled to hear that your experience was unforgettable and one of the best things you've ever done. It's wonderful to know that from start to finish, everything was perfect for you - from the fantastic food to the stunningly beautiful surroundings. We're delighted that you enjoyed the Spirit of Travel luncheon and the Laurent Perrier package. We can't wait to welcome you back aboard for another memorable journey!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2024 via mobile

We had one of our best days out ever on September 9th 2023. We boarded the Northern Belle at Norwich. From that moment on we were looked after as if we were Royalty. We were always being served something lovely, be it to eat or to drink. The comfort and luxury of the surroundings was off the chart. We arrived in Scarborough a few hours later to the most beautiful early autumn day.
Three hours later making the return journey we were served the most amazing food and drink. The dinner was superb. And here is where we want to give a special mention to the three lovely ladies looking after us. Katka was sort of the boss, describing to us the delights that were to be served. And Zaina and Ros were the two delightful young ladies doing the serving. You could not pick a nicer or better group if you tried. Absolutely fantastic! And we met Sue, one of the chefs on the platform after we got back to Norwich. We had by coincidence met her at Carnforth when we saw the Northern Belle in May. A lovely lovely lady.
All in all, a truly wonderful day that could not possibly have been any better. And also worth every penny of the price. Stunning!

Date of experience: September 2023
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2024

Dear David,

Thank you immensely for sharing your wonderful experience aboard the Northern Belle. We're thrilled to hear that your journey with us was one of your best days out ever. It was our pleasure to ensure your comfort and satisfaction throughout the trip. Your kind words about Katka, Zaina, Ros, and Sue are truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back aboard for another fantastic journey soon!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews