We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:30
Review Highlights
Experience to die for!!

Amazing experience, food was out of this world, all staff on board are very attentive to all your... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
BevGof
It was like being treated as royalty

This was a treat for my husbands birthday and it was a wonderful experience. The staff were so... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Kirsten M
,
Southampton, United Kingdom
Read all 1,299 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (1,299)
Filter reviews
1,299 results
Traveller rating
1,075
81
48
41
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
1,075
81
48
41
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews christmas lunch day trip from start to finish first class return journey orient express train journey red carpet food was amazing fine dining treated like royalty feel special fabulous experience special birthday from manchester main course strolling musicians
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 1,299 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2024

Food and excursion were excellent they could not be faulted (royal yacht Britannia)
However service could have been a little slicker we didn’t get our coffee unti 10 mins before disembarkation at the end of the trip
Also we were in Krug class (Glamis carriage) and we didn’t get petit fours listed in the menu and more did we get the memorable gift promised at the end !! We did get two poor quality chocolates which for a cost of over 1000.00 for the day we don’t think delivered there was nothing memorable about them
We would do it again but burnt in Krug class as it did not seem (no gift etc) to be value for money this was I think disappointing for such a high price

Date of experience: May 2024
Thank 247patsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2024

Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed the food and excursion on the Royal Yacht Britannia. We apologise for the service issues and the missing items in Krug class. We appreciate your comments and will address these concerns. We hope to welcome you on board the Northern Belle again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2024 via mobile

Wonderful trip from Birmingham to Settle & back on this luxury train.Beautiful carriage,incredible food,brilliant staff.Read/seen about how good this trip was,expected it to be brilliant ,it exceed my expectations.The whole experience made ever greater by being pulled by a steam train.A truly amazing day.

Date of experience: April 2024
1  Thank W5837NYchristinep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2024

Thank you for your fantastic feedback! We’re thrilled that your trip from Birmingham to Settle exceeded your expectations. We can’t wait to welcome you on board the Northern Belle again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2024

The staff were very friendly and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was great, and the seats very comfortable

Date of experience: April 2024
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2024

Thank you for your feedback! We’re glad you enjoyed the friendly and attentive service, great food, and comfortable seats. We can’t wait to welcome you on board the Northern Belle again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2024

Wonderful day and exquisite service and hospitality from staff and services provided . It was faultless apart from a slight niggle due to sitting by the entrance exits it was very drafty at times and it felt cold blowing air on you which was a touch unpleasant but it was intermittent . I definitely would recommend northern belle it truly was a memorable experience. Thank you all.

Date of experience: April 2024
Thank Smitjes123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2024

Thank you for your lovely feedback! We’re delighted you had a wonderful day and enjoyed our service and hospitality. We appreciate your comments about the draft and will look into it. We can’t wait to welcome you on board the Northern Belle again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2024 via mobile

From Telford to Carlisle via the Ribblehead viaduct and back, we had a fabulous time. We could not fault the food or the service, which was five stars. The scenery was to die for, helped by all day sun, and we enjoyed time in Carlisle to look around the Cathedral. The magician was entertainingly ham, and the musicians did a great double happy birthday, but what made the trip for us was the happenstance of being seated next to a lively and lovely German couple, who were shooting a YouTube video. Lots of laughs, and you can catch it on their two Germans in Britain Channel.

Date of experience: April 2024
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2024

Thank you for your fantastic feedback! We’re thrilled you had a fabulous time from Telford to Carlisle. We appreciate your kind words about our food, service, and entertainment. We can’t wait to welcome you on board the Northern Belle again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews