We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:30
Review Highlights
Experience to die for!!

Amazing experience, food was out of this world, all staff on board are very attentive to all your... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
BevGof
It was like being treated as royalty

This was a treat for my husbands birthday and it was a wonderful experience. The staff were so... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Kirsten M
,
Southampton, United Kingdom
Read all 1,299 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (1,299)
Filter reviews
1,299 results
Traveller rating
1,075
81
48
41
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
1,075
81
48
41
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews christmas lunch day trip from start to finish first class return journey orient express train journey red carpet food was amazing fine dining treated like royalty feel special fabulous experience special birthday from manchester main course strolling musicians
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 1,299 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2024

Extremely disappointed

Two friends abc myself booked for the Brief Encounter experience.

We were super excited as we love the film.

Before arriving at Carnforth, we stopped (in sweltering temperatures) at a stop in Helifield for 45 minutes. We were not allowed to get off the train and no way of cooling down. We weren't told why we had stopped but we couldn't get out as the train was too long for the platform! When I stuck my head out the window to the exit door, the platform was long enough.

We arrived in Carnforth at 1648 hrs. When we got off (we were allowed 15 minutes), everything (Heritage centre and cafe) were closed (they close at 1600 hrs in the week). What a total waste of time. So many disappointed fans unable to view the memorabilia or buy a souvenir.

If we had known this, we would have booked a dining experience and Mor a designated excursion.

Date of experience: May 2024
1  Thank Sadie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2024

Thank you for sharing your experience. We're very sorry to hear about your disappointment with the Brief Encounter experience. We understand your frustration with the prolonged stop at Hellifield in the sweltering temperatures and the lack of communication about the delay. We apologise for the inconvenience and discomfort caused.

We also regret that you arrived at Carnforth too late to enjoy the Heritage Centre and café, missing the opportunity to view memorabilia and purchase souvenirs. Your feedback is important to us, and we will review our scheduling and communication processes to prevent such issues in the future.

Please email reservations@northernbelle.co.uk to discuss your trip further. We hope you might consider giving us another chance to provide a more enjoyable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2024

No air conditioning in Warwick carriage,
No chilled water, on what turned into a very warm day. Delicious food, good service, although a few mistakes, no petite fours turned up, and no memorable gift upon leaving. ( printed on menu)
Very well organised transfers to Royal Yacht Britannia.

Date of experience: May 2024
Thank Pioneer08519712780
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2024

Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed the delicious food and good service despite a few mistakes. We apologise for the lack of air conditioning and chilled water, especially given the severe weather event on the day of your trip. We did send advance notice to all passengers and offered complimentary cold drinks and cold towels to help with the heat. Our vintage carriages can struggle with extreme weather as some do not have air conditioning. We also apologise for the missing petit fours and memorable gift. Please email reservations@northernbelle.co.uk to discuss your trip further. We appreciate your understanding and patience, and hope to welcome you on board the Northern Belle again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2024

Amazing experience on board the Northern Belle to Glamis Castle. We were in carriage Alnwick and our servers were Tom, Lucy and cannot remember the other girls name (sorry). Fantastic service and the food was amazing. We were on a table with another couple whom we had never met but had a brilliant day with them. Cannot fault it and would highly recommend.

Date of experience: May 2024
Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2024

Thank you for sharing your amazing experience! We're thrilled to hear that your journey to Glamis Castle on the Northern Belle was fantastic. It's great to know that Tom, Lucy, and the rest of the team provided fantastic service and that you enjoyed the amazing food. It sounds like you had a wonderful time with the other couple at your table. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you on board again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2024

I have been on many journeys now on this superb train since 2015 and this recent one was just as good as ever. I was in Harlech carriage and I must say that the service was second to none. All of the staff were super efficient and it was a truly very enjoyable and perfect day. I will be back at Christmas

Date of experience: May 2024
Thank mariedimartino
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2024


Thank you for your continued patronage and for sharing your experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that your recent journey on the Northern Belle was just as enjoyable as ever. It's wonderful that you found the service in the Harlech carriage to be second to none and that the staff were super efficient. We look forward to welcoming you back on board for another perfect day, and we can't wait to celebrate with you at Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2024

We have been on the Northern Belle on a number of occasions mainly for Christmas Lunch, but also one Afternoon Tea trip. This was our first day trip travelling from Newcastle upon Tyne to Dundee to visit Glamis Castle.
With travelling on the Northern Belle before we thought we knew what to expect but food, drink, service on board entertainment and tour of Glamis Castle exceeded even our expectations. Carriage as always was immaculate as was Crockery, Cutlery, Glassware and Table Linen.
Its not a Cheap day trip, but it is worth every penny. We hope to have more day trips like this in future, and would recommend The Northern Belle to any potential customers who want a once in a lifetime treat. But beware you will want to repeat and keep on repeating this experience.

Date of experience: May 2024
1  Thank travellingman2150
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2024


Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We're delighted to hear that your day trip from Newcastle to Dundee exceeded your expectations. It's fantastic that you found the food, service, entertainment, and tour of Glamis Castle all to be exceptional. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the immaculate carriage and amenities. Your recommendation means a lot to us, and we look forward to welcoming you on board the Northern Belle again for more memorable experiences in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews