We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:30
Review Highlights
Experience to die for!!

Amazing experience, food was out of this world, all staff on board are very attentive to all your... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
BevGof
It was like being treated as royalty

This was a treat for my husbands birthday and it was a wonderful experience. The staff were so... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Kirsten M
,
Southampton, United Kingdom
Read all 1,299 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (1,299)
Filter reviews
1,299 results
Traveller rating
1,075
81
48
41
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
1,075
81
48
41
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews christmas lunch day trip from start to finish first class return journey orient express train journey red carpet food was amazing fine dining treated like royalty feel special fabulous experience special birthday from manchester main course strolling musicians
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,299 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2024

Had been looking forward to this since I bought it (£970) for my wife’s Christmas Present. A clockwise 12 hour trip, Newcastle, York, Settle, Carlisle, Newcastle.
Trip was shortened by 2h 40min. Went anti-clockwise, resulting in arriving in Carlisle before finishing a rushed breakfast. Food adequate - no better. Dinner served at 3:40pm - far too early despite protestations. Not allowed to stop on Settle railway and alight to take pictures. Didn’t see Ribble Viaduct. Shared a table with a lovely couple, but didn’t go to socialise with strangers. Felt conned. NB seemed more interested in pushing their expensive souvenirs and extra drinks. Would recommend getting the agenda in writing before signing up. Otherwise take a scheduled Northern Rail to Settle, get off and do your own thing. Heck of a lot of change from that.

Date of experience: May 2024
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback about your recent trip on the Northern Belle. We are genuinely sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations.

We understand your disappointment with the changes in the trip's schedule and route. While our team strives to provide a seamless and enjoyable journey, there are occasions where operational necessities require adjustments. We apologise if this impacted your enjoyment, particularly regarding the altered direction and the timing of meals.

We regret that you found the breakfast rushed and the dinner served too early. Your feedback on meal timings and quality is invaluable, and we will review these aspects to enhance the dining experience for future guests.

It is unfortunate that you were unable to stop and take pictures at the Settle railway and that you missed seeing the Ribble Viaduct. Our goal is to offer memorable moments and beautiful scenery, so we are sorry for any missed opportunities.

While we encourage socialising as part of the luxury train experience, we appreciate that it may not suit everyone. Your feedback about feeling pressured by souvenir and drink promotions is noted, and we will address this with our onboard team to ensure a more balanced approach.

We will also consider your suggestion of providing a detailed agenda in writing before the trip. Clear communication is crucial, and we aim to offer as much information as possible to our guests beforehand.

Once again, we apologise for any inconvenience caused and appreciate your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide an experience that meets and exceeds your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2024

I booked this trip for my parents 50th wedding anniversary and my dads 70th Birthday.

The onboard experience was excellent, the food was lovely and the staff and the actual train were professional and polite.

HOWEVER, we booked it specifically for the Brief Encounter experience. It was advertised with Brief Encounter not only in the title of the trip but as a key element of the experience.

The passengers would disembark the train at the station and be lead in a dance with the opportunity to have their photo taken under the famous clock featured in the film.

There was NO prior information that not only had the clock been moved to inside a visitors centre, without the backdrop of the station platform but that the visitors centre would be CLOSED upon arrival and that NO dancing would be taking place.

My parents are big fans of the film and this was a key element and the whole reason we chose that particular journey.

Since I complained on the 18th May, I have not even received an acknowledgement of my complaint, and after the second time of calling to even be able to speak with someone dealing with my complaint I was told I "could not" speak to anyone and after expressing my disapproval in a polite but assertive manner the call was disconnected.

Considering the cost of these trips, the customer service is diabolical.

Ensure that all the elements are going to be delivered before you book this trip.
AVOID the Brief encounter lunch!!

Date of experience: May 2024
1  Thank Tori80
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2024

Thank you for your detailed feedback. We are deeply sorry to hear about your disappointing experience with the Brief Encounter trip, especially given the significance of your parents' 50th wedding anniversary and your father's 70th birthday. We understand how important this event was and regret that it did not meet your expectations due to the key elements of the experience not being delivered as advertised.

We apologise for the lack of communication regarding the changes to the Brief Encounter elements, including the relocation of the clock and the closure of the visitors centre. Your frustration with the lack of response and poor customer service is completely understandable, and we are very sorry for any inconvenience this has caused.

Please email reservations@northernbelle.co.uk to follow up on your complaint. We are committed to addressing your concerns and improving our services. We appreciate your feedback and hope we can resolve this issue to your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2024

Brief Encounter Lunch to Carnforth.
Alnwick carriage was amazing,
The seven course menu was excellent and the staff and entertainment team were superb.

Overall a tremendous experience.

Date of experience: May 2024
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2024

Thank you for sharing your experience! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the Brief Encounter Lunch to Carnforth on the Northern Belle. It's fantastic that you found the Alnwick carriage amazing, the seven-course menu excellent, and the staff and entertainment team superb. We're delighted that you had a tremendous experience overall. We hope to welcome you on board again soon for another memorable journey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2024 via mobile

We were gifted the trip for Xmas and unfortunately my wife was ill with an adverse reaction to some antibiotics which caused ulceration of her tongue and throat which made eating and drinking unpleasant, so I requested that we reschedule as the trip includes a 7 course meal and alcohol.
This request was rejected and cancellation would lead to the loss of the purchase price circa £1000 !!
Absolutely unbelievable, so we had no choice but to go on the trip, fortunately her condition had improved slightly but she was unable to drink alcohol, which was a slight downer.
The food was good and the staff on the train were excellent, although there was only one girl looking after the drink orders and the delivery of them to about 20 tables.
The entertainment was good, a magician and a jazz duo, all in all an enjoyable experience on a stunning old school train.

Date of experience: May 2024
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2024

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear about your wife's illness and the difficulty in rescheduling your trip. We understand how disappointing this must have been given the circumstances. We're glad to hear that despite this, you both were able to somewhat enjoy the experience, and that the food, staff, and entertainment met your expectations.

We appreciate your positive comments about the service and entertainment, and we'll review your feedback regarding the drink service to ensure a smoother experience in the future. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you on board the Northern Belle again under better circumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2024

My wife arranged a trip on the Northern Belle from Wakefield we to the station .Boarding the train we were met by friendly staff who made us feel special. The food and service was very good .We found out when we were given a route that we were going to Hull. All the lovely country side in Yorkshire and we passed scrap yards and industrial sites,not what we expected. Come o Northern Belle be more open to customers then we can have a better experience .

Date of experience: May 2024
Thank john o
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2024

Thank you for your feedback. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the food, service, and the warm welcome from our staff. We apologise for the disappointment with the route to Hull and the unexpected scenery. We appreciate your suggestion for more transparency about our routes to ensure better experiences. We hope to welcome you on board the Northern Belle again soon and provide a journey that meets your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews