We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:30
Review Highlights
Experience to die for!!

Amazing experience, food was out of this world, all staff on board are very attentive to all your... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
BevGof
It was like being treated as royalty

This was a treat for my husbands birthday and it was a wonderful experience. The staff were so... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Kirsten M
,
Southampton, United Kingdom
Read all 1,299 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (1,299)
Filter reviews
1,299 results
Traveller rating
1,075
81
48
41
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
1,075
81
48
41
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews christmas lunch day trip from start to finish first class return journey orient express train journey red carpet food was amazing fine dining treated like royalty feel special fabulous experience special birthday from manchester main course strolling musicians
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,299 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had an incredible day travelling on the Northern Belle to Ascot Ladies day. We boarded at Birmingham International and from start to finish had a fantastic experience. Thanks to Barry the team in Chatsworth carriage. Food, service and ambiance were amazing. A special mention to Zaina our drinks attendant . She oozes personality and we thought she was an incredible asset to the team.

We will definitely be booking more trip 🚂

Date of experience: June 2024
1  Thank xxxStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful review of your journey on the Northern Belle to Ascot Ladies' Day!

We are thrilled to hear that you had an incredible experience from start to finish. It’s fantastic to know that you enjoyed the food, service, and ambiance, and that our team in the Chatsworth carriage, especially Barry, contributed to your memorable day.

A special thank you for highlighting Zaina, our drinks attendant. We are delighted to hear that her personality and service made such a positive impression on your trip.

We look forward to welcoming you on board again for more fantastic journeys in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Absolutely excellent from start to finish. Silver service treatment with fabulous food. Staff extremely friendly x couldn't do enough to make your trip a memorable experience. We would definitely recommend booking this trip if you have a special occasion to celebrate

Date of experience: June 2024
Thank Kaybannister
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your glowing review of your recent journey on the Northern Belle!

We are delighted to hear that your experience was excellent from start to finish. It’s wonderful to know that you enjoyed the silver service treatment and fabulous food. Our staff takes great pride in providing friendly and attentive service, and we’re thrilled that they made your trip memorable.

We greatly appreciate your recommendation and are honoured to have been part of your special occasion. We look forward to welcoming you back on board for more memorable experiences in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2024

An exceptional day out on the Northern Belle with my sister. Staff were exceptional - Phil, Lucy and Tom in Belvoir carriage. Food was Michelin worthy, Plenty of food throughout the day/evening. Drinks a plenty, excursion to Chatsworth House was so well organised. Met some lovely people. Had a fantastic day out. Would highly recommend. The sun shone for us too! everyone was so kind and helpful.

Date of experience: June 2024
Thank Daydream14819389445
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful review of your day out on the Northern Belle with your sister!

We are thrilled to hear that you had an exceptional experience, and we greatly appreciate your kind words about our staff, especially Phil, Lucy, and Tom in the Belvoir carriage. We will be sure to pass on your compliments to them.

It's fantastic to know that you found the food to be Michelin-worthy and that there was plenty to enjoy throughout the day and evening. We're also delighted that you enjoyed the well-organised excursion to Chatsworth House and had the chance to meet some lovely people.

We are glad the sun shone for you and that everyone was kind and helpful, making your day even more special. Your recommendation means a lot to us, and we look forward to welcoming you on board again for another fantastic journey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2024 via mobile

Booked the trip to Chatsworth for my husbands 60th, and it didn’t disappoint, food was excellent, service was good.
A really special day! Special mention for the Blini 😋 😋

Date of experience: June 2024
1  Thank Notsominijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review and for choosing the Northern Belle to celebrate your husband's 60th birthday!

We are delighted to hear that you had an excellent experience, with wonderful food and good service making your day truly special. It’s fantastic to know that the Blini stood out for you – we will be sure to pass on your compliments to our culinary team.

Creating memorable moments for our guests is our top priority, and we’re thrilled that we could be part of your celebration.

We look forward to welcoming you on board again for another unforgettable journey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2024

Had been looking forward to this since I bought it (£970) for my wife’s Christmas Present. A clockwise 12 hour trip, Newcastle, York, Settle, Carlisle, Newcastle.
Trip was shortened by 2h 40min. Went anti-clockwise, resulting in arriving in Carlisle before finishing a rushed breakfast. Food adequate - no better. Dinner served at 3:40pm - far too early despite protestations. Not allowed to stop on Settle railway and alight to take pictures. Didn’t see Ribble Viaduct. Shared a table with a lovely couple, but didn’t go to socialise with strangers. Felt conned. NB seemed more interested in pushing their expensive souvenirs and extra drinks. Would recommend getting the agenda in writing before signing up. Otherwise take a scheduled Northern Rail to Settle, get off and do your own thing. Heck of a lot of change from that.

Date of experience: May 2024
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback about your recent trip on the Northern Belle. We are genuinely sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations.

We understand your disappointment with the changes in the trip's schedule and route. While our team strives to provide a seamless and enjoyable journey, there are occasions where operational necessities require adjustments. We apologise if this impacted your enjoyment, particularly regarding the altered direction and the timing of meals.

We regret that you found the breakfast rushed and the dinner served too early. Your feedback on meal timings and quality is invaluable, and we will review these aspects to enhance the dining experience for future guests.

It is unfortunate that you were unable to stop and take pictures at the Settle railway and that you missed seeing the Ribble Viaduct. Our goal is to offer memorable moments and beautiful scenery, so we are sorry for any missed opportunities.

While we encourage socialising as part of the luxury train experience, we appreciate that it may not suit everyone. Your feedback about feeling pressured by souvenir and drink promotions is noted, and we will address this with our onboard team to ensure a more balanced approach.

We will also consider your suggestion of providing a detailed agenda in writing before the trip. Clear communication is crucial, and we aim to offer as much information as possible to our guests beforehand.

Once again, we apologise for any inconvenience caused and appreciate your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide an experience that meets and exceeds your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews