We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:30
Review Highlights
Experience to die for!!

Amazing experience, food was out of this world, all staff on board are very attentive to all your... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
BevGof
It was like being treated as royalty

This was a treat for my husbands birthday and it was a wonderful experience. The staff were so... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Kirsten M
,
Southampton, United Kingdom
Read all 1,299 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (1,299)
Filter reviews
1,299 results
Traveller rating
1,075
81
48
41
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
1,075
81
48
41
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews christmas lunch day trip from start to finish first class return journey orient express train journey red carpet food was amazing fine dining treated like royalty feel special fabulous experience special birthday from manchester main course strolling musicians
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,299 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner booked the Northern Belle trip to Royal Ascot for my 70th birthday and we travelled from Birmingham to Ascot on June 20 for Ladies Day. We travelled in the Glamis carriage in seats 7 and 8. He upgraded us to Krug class which on top of the £695 each price this increased the price by a further £195 each so a very expensive day out. A group of 8 men and women also travelled in our carriage which appeared to be a works day out. The journey to Ascot took 4 hours and throughout the group were very noisy but on the return journey they were alcohol fuelled to the point of being obnoxious. They were totally inconsiderate and none of the staff asked them to be more considerate towards other travellers. The food on the train was ok and the service was quite good but paying nearly £2000 for this trip I expected a better experience than we got.

Date of experience: June 2024
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent journey on the Northern Belle to Royal Ascot for your 70th birthday.

Firstly, we would like to wish you a belated happy birthday and thank you for choosing the Northern Belle to celebrate such a special occasion. We are pleased to hear that you found the service quite good and that the food met your expectations. However, we are deeply sorry to learn that your experience was marred by the behaviour of other passengers.

We strive to ensure that all our guests have a pleasant and memorable experience, and it is disappointing to hear that we fell short in maintaining a considerate atmosphere in your carriage. Your comments regarding the noise and behaviour of the group will be taken seriously, and we will address this with our team to ensure better management of such situations in the future.

We understand that your partner went to great lengths to upgrade to Krug class for an enhanced experience, and we regret that your day did not meet the high standards we aim to provide. Your feedback is invaluable, and we will use it to improve our services and ensure that all our guests enjoy a truly special and enjoyable journey.

Once again, we apologise for any inconvenience caused and appreciate your honest feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on board and provide the exceptional experience that you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Amazing experience going to Ladies' Day at Royal Ascot. The trip was as close to perfection as I've ever experienced. The brilliant staff on the train were so professional but also warm, friendly and fun. The food was sublime and attention to detail was like from a bygone day. Thanks to Asim, Joe, Katie and Chloe for so much attention and for creating for us an unforgettable journey!

Date of experience: June 2024
1  Thank kathrynmR4804IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your amazing experience on the Northern Belle's journey to Ladies' Day at Royal Ascot!

We are delighted to hear that your trip was as close to perfection as you have ever experienced. It's wonderful to know that our brilliant staff were professional, warm, friendly, and fun, adding to your enjoyment.

We are thrilled that you found the food sublime and appreciated the attention to detail reminiscent of a bygone era. Your special mention of Asim, Joe, Katie, and Chloe is greatly appreciated, and we will ensure they receive your kind words.

Thank you for choosing the Northern Belle for your unforgettable journey. We look forward to welcoming you on board again for more memorable experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had an incredible day travelling on the Northern Belle to Ascot Ladies day. We boarded at Birmingham International and from start to finish had a fantastic experience. Thanks to Barry the team in Chatsworth carriage. Food, service and ambiance were amazing. A special mention to Zaina our drinks attendant . She oozes personality and we thought she was an incredible asset to the team.

We will definitely be booking more trip 🚂

Date of experience: June 2024
1  Thank xxxStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful review of your journey on the Northern Belle to Ascot Ladies' Day!

We are thrilled to hear that you had an incredible experience from start to finish. It’s fantastic to know that you enjoyed the food, service, and ambiance, and that our team in the Chatsworth carriage, especially Barry, contributed to your memorable day.

A special thank you for highlighting Zaina, our drinks attendant. We are delighted to hear that her personality and service made such a positive impression on your trip.

We look forward to welcoming you on board again for more fantastic journeys in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Absolutely excellent from start to finish. Silver service treatment with fabulous food. Staff extremely friendly x couldn't do enough to make your trip a memorable experience. We would definitely recommend booking this trip if you have a special occasion to celebrate

Date of experience: June 2024
Thank Kaybannister
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your glowing review of your recent journey on the Northern Belle!

We are delighted to hear that your experience was excellent from start to finish. It’s wonderful to know that you enjoyed the silver service treatment and fabulous food. Our staff takes great pride in providing friendly and attentive service, and we’re thrilled that they made your trip memorable.

We greatly appreciate your recommendation and are honoured to have been part of your special occasion. We look forward to welcoming you back on board for more memorable experiences in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2024

An exceptional day out on the Northern Belle with my sister. Staff were exceptional - Phil, Lucy and Tom in Belvoir carriage. Food was Michelin worthy, Plenty of food throughout the day/evening. Drinks a plenty, excursion to Chatsworth House was so well organised. Met some lovely people. Had a fantastic day out. Would highly recommend. The sun shone for us too! everyone was so kind and helpful.

Date of experience: June 2024
Thank Daydream14819389445
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron P, Reservations at Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful review of your day out on the Northern Belle with your sister!

We are thrilled to hear that you had an exceptional experience, and we greatly appreciate your kind words about our staff, especially Phil, Lucy, and Tom in the Belvoir carriage. We will be sure to pass on your compliments to them.

It's fantastic to know that you found the food to be Michelin-worthy and that there was plenty to enjoy throughout the day and evening. We're also delighted that you enjoyed the well-organised excursion to Chatsworth House and had the chance to meet some lovely people.

We are glad the sun shone for you and that everyone was kind and helpful, making your day even more special. Your recommendation means a lot to us, and we look forward to welcoming you on board again for another fantastic journey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews