We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”
Review of Red Melon - CLOSED

Red Melon
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Cardiff
Level Contributor
155 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Very nice food

Staff were very attentive

Good choice of Indian food and a few different dishes to the norm

I would Definately come back

Helpful?
Thank LongmanCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    25
    4
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't go”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Terrible, Below average food and some of the worst service i have ever witnessed. There was even a bit of plastic bag in a naan bread.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank johnsnow1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Food!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Had a meal at the Red Melon last night with my Nan and my Auntie. My Nan is a vegetarian, she chose something from the menu and she loved it! The food is delicious, staff are friendly and the restaurant is clean and well decorated. Will definitely come here again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanessaax123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Lemon.”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

For us it was more of a Lemon than Melon and after reading all the glowing reviews I wondered if we were in the right venue.
We arrived to an almost empty restaurant so obviously atmosphere was non-existent. Admitted it was a Monday evening and there was a sign on the wall advising that they would soon no longer be opening on a Monday night which seemed like a good call.
Having the smallest onion bhaji starter ever seen and having to search for the chicken in the curry sauce could be forgiven perhaps. However, seeing the engrained dirt on the cuffs and placket of the lead waiter's shirt did not impress at all.
Yes the staff were friendly and engaging but apart from that it was all very sad and tired. We left feeling very disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Grandparentsontours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent food and service as usual!”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Fantastic food....
Fresh popodoms and chutney
Onion baji's best ever tasted
Chicken tikka jalfrezi balti
Garlic nan bread
Excellent value, excellent service, excellent food cannot compliment this restraunt enough!
Best curry I have had and have ate everywhere!

See you soon!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophiejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Melon also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing