We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful Restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dreadful Restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

We visited Casa Brasserie yesterday for our evening meal,it was frankly one of the poorest meals we have ever had! The starter arrived and we have ordered bruschetta in many restaurants before and it's always been very tastey,this however was poor! The bread was fine but the large amount of balsamic vinegar ruined the small amount of onion and hard tomato,I then had spag bol and asked for a roll which took 8 minutes to bake ,the spag Bol was awful with a very unpleasant flavour which again I have had many times before elsewhere successfully.My husband had a pizza that was burnt on the outside and uncooked in the middle! When asked by the waitress if our meal was ok I said "it's ok but that's all we can say" and then asked for the bill,she walked to the head waiter and spoke to him ,he then came over took our money and rushed off as quickly as possible!!very disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    82
    67
    40
    30
See reviews for
65
123
16
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
haverfordwest
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

The hotel is a lovely ancient black and white building and when we booked we imagined we would be in one of ythe lovely old beamed bedrooms they show on the website we were disapointed to be in a more modern room with no view and it was quite small for a twin. The worst thing was the odd smell when we entered the roo it smelled of drains and affected my friend more than me
We ate in their Italian restaurant which was excellent. Unfortunately we chose a saturday to stay and ther is a night cklub nest door which seems to noisily tip out at 3 am my friend woke and complained about it the next morning as there were fights and police etc luckily I had enjoyed my meal and wine so much that I slept through it. The staff were lovely tough and overall I would reccommend it but not sure my friend would!!

Room Tip: if you would like the olde worlde room make sure you are at the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archaeo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padstow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

Amazing building with such a rich history. Friendly and helpful staff. Husband is disabled and needs assistance which was readily and thoughtfully given. Excellent meal which we will remember. Collecting Avis car for journey from Nantwich to North Wales. This all fell into place perfectly. Room very comfortable, warm, clean and well appointed bath / shower room. Hotel has great atmosphere and is in an ideal location. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear of hotel probably quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

I booked my daughter's wedding last February to take place last Saturday, which it did. Throughout the whole process Susan and her daughter, Abigail could not have been more helpful or accommodating. As for the day itself, what can I say that would reflect strongly enough how pleased and delighted we were from start to finish. We able to have access to the beautiful ballroom the day before so we could dress it, although it needed little adding as Susan had organised the chair covers, sashes etc,. She also had kindly left up her Christmas decorations as they matched the colour scheme. The food was exactly as we ordered, even down to the 'very well done bacon' requested for the evening buffet! It was efficiently and politely served. There were 100 guests, and we even had a vegan coeliac to cater for! The atmosphere was fabulous, the disco the best we had been to, no talking!! We occupied most of the hotel rooms that night, which were quirky, warm and comfortable. If you want boring travel inn type places this is not for you! Breakfast next morning was brilliant, well cooked, ample and again served politely and efficiently. My daughter described it as her dream day, this was made possible by Susan and her staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mag649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

I took my Mum here for her 80th Birthday as it was somewhere she used to go to with my Dad. We were really looked after by the staff,especially Abigail who had taken our booking and made a fuss of us when we got there. Stayed in a lovely room,second floor at the front and it was a bit of a climb up the higgledy piggledy staircase. The bar area is really accommodating with lots of nooks and crannies, a roaring fire and a pianist. We also had dinner at Casa which was really nice,excellent quality and reasonably priced. I'm going to rave about the pudding!! We both had the mango tarte tatin with honeycomb ice cream and warm honey dribbled all over and it was exceptional.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraBPVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed at the Crown on Christmas night whilst visiting relatives in Nantwich for Christmas. The hotel is from the 16th century and has many original features, including original floors that go in every direction but straight! Right in the centre of town, it is ideal for seeing historic Nantwich, only a short stroll from shops, restaurants, bars, the river and the canal. When we stayed the town was very quiet, as to be expected on Christmas night. Breakfast was fine, just what you'd expect from an English pub. Staff were warm, friendly and helpful, would stay here again.

Room Tip: The staircases are very narrow and steep so need to bear this in mind when booking - no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

The hotel is located in the centre of Nantwich. Car parking is a bit awkward, the hotel has some designated spaces at the end of a public pay and display car park and I had to manouvre carefully into an end bay. My first impression indoors was "Alice in Wonderland". It is clearly an old building, the staircases are narrow and creaky, the floors are not level and there are exposed wooden beams in unexpected locations and at many angles. You need to work out your bearings before visiting the bar/restaurant. I liked my room, it had nice features and it was warm and cosy on a bitterly cold night. But it overlooked a street where people spilled out of other venues quite late and so there was some noise when I was trying to sleep. I found the food generally to be of a reasonable quality and I really liked the cheeseboard. Service was very good, at dinner and breakfast. Choose this hotel if you don't like the modern, antiseptic boring hotel chains but make sure you ask for a quiet room.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room to avoid late-night noise from the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarnsleyDave2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
0.1 mi away
The Cheshire Cat
The Cheshire Cat
#5 of 5 in Nantwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe (Nantwich) Hotel
2.3 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: 24 High Street, Nantwich CW5 5AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel is a grade II listed building in the beautiful historic market town of Nantwich. The hotel has been a central feature of Nantwich for more than 400 years.The 3 storied building was burnt down in the fire of Nantwich in 1583, The hotel was quickly rebuilt by Queen Elizabeth 1st, with timbers from the nearby Delamere forest. The Crown Hotel now boast all the features the modern day traveller expects yet, retains many original features including an abundance of Oak beams, wattle & daub plaster walls and roaring open fires.All our 18 guest rooms are well appointed with en suite bathrooms and Individual designed features. Diners in our Bar & Grill, which has been recently renovated, can expect cuisine of the highest quality using fresh local products and wines from around the world in a relaxed and unique setting. The Bar offers an excellent choice of ever changing real ales. We are a CAMRA real ale venue. FREE car parking and Internet connection are offered to all guests.The hotel is central for the Nantwich Jazz festival, Food & drink festival and many other local and Cheshire events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel And Casa Brasserie
Nantwich Best Western
Best Western Nantwich
The Crown Hotel Nantwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing