We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
crewe
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Both myself and my wife feel compelled to express our gratitude to all the staff at the crown hotel for making our wedding day the most magical day of our lives.

When we sat down with susan the manger we did not have a clue how to plan our day what food we wanted etc despite our very vague plan sue came up with all the ideas to make our day perfect and did it with ease she took all the stress off us .

On the actual day itself both sue and all her staff made our day run without a hitch despite only having a small wedding we got made to feel as if we were VIP's we had last minute changes on the day which were hadled fast and without question .

The room was also fantastic with all the character you would expect from a building dating back to the 1500's we had a very comfortable nights sleep.

Our DJ barry mills was fantastic and a really nice bloke . Also our pianist mr wooton was brilliant and broke the day up really well I would strongly recommend booking this duo for your wedding .

I cant compliment enough the Individual treament we received at the crown and strongly recommend any one booking a wedding in the near future to go and check this amazing historic building with exceptional staff out.

Please feel free to email if you have any questions .

Simon & Jessica

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank siunjessicles2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely response Jessica and Simon and for taking the time to do this, we are so thrilled to hear your day was exactly what you had hoped it would be, it was a delight to produce it for you. Once again we would like to wish you congratulations and a wonderful future together. Do keep in touch and pop in and see us as we always love to see familiar faces. Fondest wishes, Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    79
    64
    40
    30
See reviews for
64
118
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Our party consisted of 30 people, we joined with other companies in the lovely decorated ballroom for the evening. The service from the staff was excellent as was the food. A great job was done by all the staff in looking after us all. The food was of the highest quality. The evenings entertainment was excellent too and we danced the night away until 1am. We would have no hesitation in going back there next year, five stars to you and your team and thanks to you all at the crown for making our Christmas party a lovely event.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hi Linda L,
Thank you for your kind comments, we are so glad to hear you and your colleagues had a wonderful evening with us at one of our Christmas Cracker Cabaret Nights. We always endeavour to provide good entertainment, food and service. I am pleased to hear we didn't fail to deliver with your party. Hope to see you back same time next year.
Kind regards,
Abbi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here for years fish n chips for £10 should be something special but the last few times we have had our money back what was a large piece of haddock now is less than half the size but still £10 save your money and go the chippy .and as I said we gave them 3 chances try the thatch same price large cod and value for money we are .

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigrick_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hosp-Ex, at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear "Bigrick_2" thank you for posting a review. As a regular diner we are sorry that you feel you needed to do this. As you have correctly said, we have accommodated your feedback with refunds as appropriate. Our portion sizes have not reduced over recent times. If on occasion the portion size of the fish served has been slightly smaller or indifferent to previous visits, this is simply because our fish is fresh from the market and not processed to a standard size. Fish come in different sizes!
Fish and chips is the most popular dish on our daytime menu, chosen by regular's and new visitors alike. Given that we are not a fish and chip shop, that your meal is served in a warm welcoming bar area with live entertainment on certain days and friendly staff, we believe that £9.95 for fresh fish, hand cut homemade chips and mussy peas is a fair and honest price.
We do hope to see you back sometime soon, when I am sure we will be able to meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

This hotel doesn't disappoint with its enchanting, and in places, gravity defying timbered exterior, only to delight the senses further when you step inside and back in time to a character packed hotel with a curiously higgledy piggledy interior, inviting you to wonder and imagine what tales this building could tell. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is cooked to order and was of excellent quality. I cant wait to visit again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bugrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hosp-Ex, Business advisor at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear "Bugrab" thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel is unique in character offering something very different from today's modern hotels. We look forward to being able to welcome back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We're regulars at The Crown, stayed here 30 years ago. You may laugh but this is pretty recent in The Crown's history; a plaque states that this building was rebuilt after a fire in the mid 1500's. At breakfast I think there were still some customers from that era waiting to be served! The one downside of our stay, don't go to breakfast when there are more than one waiting and it wasn't that great when brunch eventually arrived. Breakfast though isn't the USP of The Crown. The quirkiness of the building is superb, Disney would spend millions to recreate an environment such as this.

Room Tip: We were told our large room at the front could be noisy, it wasn't. Although if this was large w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hosp-Ex, at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Peter thank you for your review.Our hotel is unique in character offering something very different from today's modern hotels which we are pleased you have enjoyed We look forward to being able to welcome back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My family and i had a celebratory meal at the Crown recently. The meal was delicious! Everybody enjoy their dinner; the portions were very generous and it was reasonably priced. There was a good selection from which to chose so everyone was happy. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend it to all!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hi Joanne R,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding you family celebratory dinner you had with us, I am glad to hear it was a success and you enjoyed your meals and felt it was good value. I shall pass your comments onto the staff regarding your service, we appreciate you taking the time to share your review.
Kind regards,
Abbi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

I booked the crown for my daughters christening on the 6th oct, I was confident with the food and room arrangements and the staff were helpful. On the day I was happy with everything up until the food came out for the buffet, I thought the food lacked imagination and wasn't worth the money I paid per person. I also contacted the manager on another matter which I couldn't prove but was I was fairly sure originated from the hotel and received a brief reply to which I replied back too and have yet to receive a reply! Great customer service! Not!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raspberrydragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hosp-Ex, Business advisor at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for posting your comments. We are surprised to read that you felt disappointed with the food on the day, as this point was not made on the day itself or in your previous correspondence with the hotel.The Crown hotel has been well known for the quality of its food for over 30 years during our ownership, we cherish and value our reputation.
With regard to your e mail of 16th October. Having carefully reviewed it again, I would ascertain that you were not seeking a response to the statement that you wrote. We are sorry if we have misinterpreted your intentions.
We take all guest comments seriously and respond personally, as we have done on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nantwich hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
0.1 mi away
The Cheshire Cat
The Cheshire Cat
#5 of 5 in Nantwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe (Nantwich) Hotel
2.3 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: 24 High Street, Nantwich CW5 5AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel is a grade II listed building in the beautiful historic market town of Nantwich. The hotel has been a central feature of Nantwich for more than 400 years.The 3 storied building was burnt down in the fire of Nantwich in 1583, The hotel was quickly rebuilt by Queen Elizabeth 1st, with timbers from the nearby Delamere forest. The Crown Hotel now boast all the features the modern day traveller expects yet, retains many original features including an abundance of Oak beams, wattle & daub plaster walls and roaring open fires.All our 18 guest rooms are well appointed with en suite bathrooms and Individual designed features. Diners in our Bar & Grill, which has been recently renovated, can expect cuisine of the highest quality using fresh local products and wines from around the world in a relaxed and unique setting. The Bar offers an excellent choice of ever changing real ales. We are a CAMRA real ale venue. FREE car parking and Internet connection are offered to all guests.The hotel is central for the Nantwich Jazz festival, Food & drink festival and many other local and Cheshire events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel And Casa Brasserie
Nantwich Best Western
Best Western Nantwich
The Crown Hotel Nantwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing