We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I recently stayed in the Crown hotel in Nantwich.
I spend a lot of time in Cheshire on business and normally stay at the Cheshire Cat, however this was full on the dates I was travelling.

The Crown is a very stunning building steep in history, the character of the building us wonderfull , with slated floors and steep stairs.

The room I stayed in was clean and tidy, the staff were very helpfull. Idid not eat hereI can not comment on the food, all in all I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    84
    71
    40
    33
See reviews for
68
123
16
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel agin on the 29th May Sue is wonderful and made us feel welcome
Had a lovely meal in the resturant and well looked after by Cesare . The staff are lovely and please can you give a big kiss and cuddle to Bertie, we shall see you in July for the soul night
love
Steve and Michele xx

Room Tip: spotless good value for money good food
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had our Wedding on Saturday here at the Crown Hotel .
From the start of meeting Abbi she was pleasant,helpful,and advised us on different ideas,also arranged flowers,pianist,disco for us.Communications were excellent and no trouble to her and she kept us up to date with everything.
The services of all the waiting on staff and bar staff was excellent.
A special mention to Rob who was thoughtful and did an excellent job as Master of Ceremonies and how they managed to turn around the room for the actual Ceremony to the Wedding Breakfast to the Evening reception for 60 people was amazing considering we got married at 4 o clock.
The food was just what we ordered a plain three course dinner which Abbi had no qualms about arranging which a couple of things were different.
The Minstrel Ballroom was beautifully arranged and our Wedding Suite was beautiful.
All in all we had a lovely day with the help of Abbi and all the team and would recommend
anyone getting married who wants value for money and everything to go to plan to have their day here.
Also appreciation to Abbi for sorting out buttonholes Abbi knows what that is about.!!
Thankyou to you all for an amazing day and night.
Love Sue and Graham (Mr and Mrs Williams).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanwilliamswilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hi Sue & Graham!
Well what a wonderful day it was and it was my absolute pleasure to work with such a lovely couple in creating your perfect day! We are all so pleased it was exactly what you wished for and that all your family and friends enjoyed it too. I will pass on your sincere thanks to all the staff, they all work so hard to look after our customers so it is lovely to see their work praised publically on here.
Wishing you both lots of luck and happiness in your future together, do keep in touch and pop and see us soon.
Fondest regards,
Abbi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed a friday night here with my boyfriend, lovely oldworldhotel, very quirky and decorated tastefully. Very comfortable bed, large room, nice bathroom albeit without a regular shower which was the only bad point. I had the best sleep id had in a hotel in a long time, the wifi in this place is the best ive experienced in a hotel in my life infact it may have been better than ours at home! Staff extremely helpful and professional, all around well managed hotel and we will definately return!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MistyW79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear 'MistyW79',
Thank you for your glowing review... it is great to hear you and your boyfriend had a great stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return!
Kind regards,
Abbi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel the building is very old hence the quirky stairs and squeaky floorboards. Very helpful staff and the food in the restaurant and bar is very good however the breakfast left a lot to ne desired.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear 'Alan G'
Thank you for leaving us a review, yes as a 16th Century coaching Inn we have lots of character and our olde worlde charm is added to with our quirky stairs and squeaky floorboards. Thank you for your compliments to our staff, they work very hard to look after our customers. I am disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your breakfast with us, I can only assume this is a one off as our breakfast our usually well received. I hope this would not prevent you from staying with us again in the future.
Kind regards,
Abbi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Excellent real ale severd by very friendly staff highly recomend a visit!The place is full of character and characters! highly recomend for what ever ocassion. You wont find a better venue in Nantiwch

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank realalejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear 'realalejohn'
Thank you for your review, our staff work hard to look after our customers and we have lots of regulars that come back time and time again for this very reason. It's great to hear you enjoyed our real ales - come again and try some more soon, they are constantly changing!
Kind regards,
Abbi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiptree Essex
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed at The Crown for just one night we had traveled up from Essex for a funeral the following day. We just loved the place. The floors slant so much in parts of the hotel you feel like you are on the deck of a ship. As it dates back to the 1500s that's no surprise. We had to climb over a beam to get to our bedroom. The bath in the En suite was cast iron and huge there was lots of hot water to fill it up. I slept really well but my husband didn't we were on the High Street side of the hotel and there were a lot of night clubbers going past in the early hours that kept him awake. We picked up a friend and ate in the Casa Brasserie. We weren't impressed. There was very little food and it was overpriced. We live in the south and do not pay those prices in really good braisseries down here. Breakfast was great and the staff were wonderful they could not do enough for you. They really made you feel welcome. The manager also let us leave the car on their private parking the next day while we attended the funeral. Overall a really nice stay

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the other side of the hotel. Its the High Street side that is noisy. Just go with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxyladyTiptreeEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear 'FoxyladyTiptreeEssex'
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following you recent stay with us. It is great to hear that you 'Loved the place' and appreciated all of our 'olde worlde' charm which is something the Crown oozes! We work hard to look after our guests and ensure that they have an enjoyable stay with us, going that extra mile is what we like to do so it's lovely to hear that you experienced that from us.
On the less positive point of your review regarding your dining experience in the Brasserie, I am so disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy it and have replied to your response on our restaurant page. I would be keen to hear more about your meal in the restaurant as we rarely receive negative feedback for our food. We like to address and rectify any issues at the soonest opportunity.
Kind regards,
Abbi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
0.1 mi away
The Cheshire Cat
The Cheshire Cat
#5 of 5 in Nantwich
211 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Waverley Hotel
The Waverley Hotel
#8 of 9 in Crewe
222 reviews
5.6 mi away
Wychwood Park Hotel
Wychwood Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weston
907 reviews
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Crewe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: 24 High Street, Nantwich CW5 5AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel is a grade II listed building in the beautiful historic market town of Nantwich. The hotel has been a central feature of Nantwich for more than 400 years.The 3 storied building was burnt down in the fire of Nantwich in 1583, The hotel was quickly rebuilt by Queen Elizabeth 1st, with timbers from the nearby Delamere forest. The Crown Hotel now boast all the features the modern day traveller expects yet, retains many original features including an abundance of Oak beams, wattle & daub plaster walls and roaring open fires.All our 18 guest rooms are well appointed with en suite bathrooms and Individual designed features. Diners in our Bar & Grill, which has been recently renovated, can expect cuisine of the highest quality using fresh local products and wines from around the world in a relaxed and unique setting. The Bar offers an excellent choice of ever changing real ales. We are a CAMRA real ale venue. FREE car parking and Internet connection are offered to all guests.The hotel is central for the Nantwich Jazz festival, Food & drink festival and many other local and Cheshire events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel And Casa Brasserie
Nantwich Best Western
Best Western Nantwich
The Crown Hotel Nantwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing