We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“School Reunion Stop Over”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Nantwich is full of charm and the Crown didn't disappoint. Myself and my friends stayed in a room for 3 which was homely. Facilities are basic but clean its like staying at your grandparents house. Our room was positioned at the front of the hotel, which was nice to look out on the street below. However the early morning wake up from the street cleaning van made sure we didn't enjoy a late sleep! If you stay on a Saturday night you will probably not experience the same. The staff were very helpful and friendly and there is free parking.
The charm of the hotel is lovely and perfectly placed to enjoy the medieval delights of Nantwich.

Room Tip: Call ahead the staff will be pleased to accommodate your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CurlyJus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed at the hotel last night and it was a great little spot, the staff are very friendly and looked after my every need. This is a family run hotel and offers comfortable room and an AMAZING breakfast!!! and a very warm welcome. I will be back and thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tor20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed from 29th June until 3rd July. I cannot find one fault with this hotel, I loved the hotel, the food in the bar and the staff. Lulu our pup was made welcome and sat with us during meal times as a special room was set for us to have breakfast in the dog friendly room. Lulu was given tit bits each morning by one of the staff and she loved it. The food in the bar was excellent and served on hot plates which is a bonus for us! Very reasonably priced too. The bedroom was basic but we chose the room at the end of the corridor with having a dog, it was clean and tided every day and all the staff were helpful and friendly it was like staying with one happy family.
I would certainly stay there again as the hotel is on the Main Street and there is a beautiful park at the back of the building with plenty of areas to take dogs for long walks by the river.
Special thanks to all the staff for making our stay and lulu's first holiday away from home comforts stress free !

Room Tip: We stayed in room 19 as this was the last room at the end of the corridor, away from anyone who migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendyingledew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel on the 21 June. The staff are wonderful and can't do enough for you. We had to cancel a booking on the day and fully expected to pay for the room but because of exceptional circumstances did not charge - we did not ask for this, it was offered. In addition to this I left behind a garment in the wardrobe. I reported this on Sunday the 22nd and received it by post on Tuesday 24th. Well done! We enjoyed the bar area and the evening meal. The food was perfect. We had a lovely room, full of character on the first floor. My brother was on the 2nd floor and his room was also full of character, however access to this room was a little difficult for those who have mobility issues. If you want to experience a truly original historic inn then this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, discuss these when booking. I am sure that the hotel will do everthing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindamc161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I recently stayed in the Crown hotel in Nantwich.
I spend a lot of time in Cheshire on business and normally stay at the Cheshire Cat, however this was full on the dates I was travelling.

The Crown is a very stunning building steep in history, the character of the building us wonderfull , with slated floors and steep stairs.

The room I stayed in was clean and tidy, the staff were very helpfull. Idid not eat hereI can not comment on the food, all in all I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel agin on the 29th May Sue is wonderful and made us feel welcome
Had a lovely meal in the resturant and well looked after by Cesare . The staff are lovely and please can you give a big kiss and cuddle to Bertie, we shall see you in July for the soul night
love
Steve and Michele xx

Room Tip: spotless good value for money good food
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had our Wedding on Saturday here at the Crown Hotel .
From the start of meeting Abbi she was pleasant,helpful,and advised us on different ideas,also arranged flowers,pianist,disco for us.Communications were excellent and no trouble to her and she kept us up to date with everything.
The services of all the waiting on staff and bar staff was excellent.
A special mention to Rob who was thoughtful and did an excellent job as Master of Ceremonies and how they managed to turn around the room for the actual Ceremony to the Wedding Breakfast to the Evening reception for 60 people was amazing considering we got married at 4 o clock.
The food was just what we ordered a plain three course dinner which Abbi had no qualms about arranging which a couple of things were different.
The Minstrel Ballroom was beautifully arranged and our Wedding Suite was beautiful.
All in all we had a lovely day with the help of Abbi and all the team and would recommend
anyone getting married who wants value for money and everything to go to plan to have their day here.
Also appreciation to Abbi for sorting out buttonholes Abbi knows what that is about.!!
Thankyou to you all for an amazing day and night.
Love Sue and Graham (Mr and Mrs Williams).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanwilliamswilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Hi Sue & Graham!
Well what a wonderful day it was and it was my absolute pleasure to work with such a lovely couple in creating your perfect day! We are all so pleased it was exactly what you wished for and that all your family and friends enjoyed it too. I will pass on your sincere thanks to all the staff, they all work so hard to look after our customers so it is lovely to see their work praised publically on here.
Wishing you both lots of luck and happiness in your future together, do keep in touch and pop and see us soon.
Fondest regards,
Abbi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
0.1 mi away
The Cheshire Cat
The Cheshire Cat
#5 of 5 in Nantwich
225 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Wychwood Park Hotel
Wychwood Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weston
968 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Crewe Arms Hotel
5.0 mi away
The Hunters Lodge
The Hunters Lodge
#3 of 9 in Crewe
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: 24 High Street, Nantwich CW5 5AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Price Range: £59 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel is a grade II listed building in the beautiful historic market town of Nantwich. The hotel has been a central feature of Nantwich for more than 400 years.The 3 storied building was burnt down in the fire of Nantwich in 1583, The hotel was quickly rebuilt by Queen Elizabeth 1st, with timbers from the nearby Delamere forest. The Crown Hotel now boast all the features the modern day traveller expects yet, retains many original features including an abundance of Oak beams, wattle & daub plaster walls and roaring open fires.All our 18 guest rooms are well appointed with en suite bathrooms and Individual designed features. Diners in our Bar & Grill, which has been recently renovated, can expect cuisine of the highest quality using fresh local products and wines from around the world in a relaxed and unique setting. The Bar offers an excellent choice of ever changing real ales. We are a CAMRA real ale venue. FREE car parking and Internet connection are offered to all guests.The hotel is central for the Nantwich Jazz festival, Food & drink festival and many other local and Cheshire events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel And Casa Brasserie
Nantwich Best Western
Best Western Nantwich
The Crown Hotel Nantwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing