We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just because it's cutesy, doesn't mean its comfortable.”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Dublin
Level Contributor
212 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Just because it's cutesy, doesn't mean its comfortable.”
Reviewed 28 September 2010

I booked the Crown on the internet; it looked great, but at times pictures can be somewhat flattering. The hotel is well located in the centre of Nantwich, but the room I was given was tiny with a narrow and well sprung bed -- I know it was well sprung because I could feel every spring as they poked through the ticking. The room was cold, but repeated dialling of 100 for reception achieved no replies and I had to put up with the freezing conditions. The receptionist kindly offered me earplugs as it was a weekend, but I declined as I find it impossible to sleep with earplugs in.
The breakfast was ok, waitress service plus very limited selection of cereals etc.
Really this hotel should not be in the business of renting rooms if the noise levels are as bad as this. The exterior of the hotel is picturesque, and the sloping floors and crooked staircase may well impress many guests so that they overlook the shortcomings, but I would not stay here again -- I like some comfort and a good night's sleep. If I had taken my other half based on the website's romantic image, I would have been even more disappointed.
To be fair, the room was clean - to the extent that every surface was layered in furniture polish spray.
Unles you are going to Nantwich for a booze-up and don't mind the noise and the discomfort, try elsewhere. Not good.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockyroad2dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    83
    70
    40
    32
See reviews for
68
123
16
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2010

This hotel is in the perfect location, right in the heart of the beautiful market town of Nantwich. This is only a 2* hotel, however it is definately at the top of this scale, its rooms are basic, clean, and have exactly what you would expect a 2* hotel to have.

The staff are extremely attentive and nothing is too much trouble, especially the blonde lady on reception who i think is the owner. The other receptionist "Bertie" adds that special value to the hotel which no other would have!

We stayed at the Crown for two nights, one of which we dined in the Italian restaurant, the food was delicious, and again we had excellent service! It was also very good value for money, we had 3 courses and a bottle of wine which worked out about £20 per head!

Overall i would reccommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to be in the heart of Nantwich, near all the shops, bars and restaurants! It is exactly what it says on the tin and is not like other hotels which are very streamline and modern, that is not what you would expect of a 16th century coaching house! The staff, food, drink and rooms were exactly what we were looking for!


Not forgetting the added bonus of free parking which you dont get in most hotels these days!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PA1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2010

Very homely, welcoming place and team. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the very attentive staff.
The building is amazing with it's aged charm and curious winding staircase.
For a small town they have plenty to do. The hotel alone has an excellent Italian restaurant attached and a film night!
Will be returning!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfdsmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2010

The hotel is very old indeed and looks beautiful outside. Inside it's more of a pub and seems a popular venue.

The hotel's Italian Restaurant was excellent, their pasta dishes were at least as good as, if not better than restaurants in Italy - we lived in Rome for some time so have a lot of experience.

The breakfasts also very good. Bacon and sausages from the butcher in the next street.

The staff we met were very pleasant

The room was quirky, not a single level surface, but the building is 500 years old, so that is not surprising. Lights too dim to read comfortably. We were on the front so it was noisy at night - not traffic but drunks, from the sound of it.

The bathroom turned out to be rather unpleasant. It smelled of drains, the basin and the top of the loo were cracked, the loo appeared to leak, the bath had been re-surfaced, but some time ago, and you wouldn't want to bathe in it, the hand held shower was either boiling hot or cold, you could not regulate it.

The parking is in part of a public car park. In the morning we found that the car had been plastered with bits of pitta bread and the remains of someone's takeaway.

I probably wouldn't recommend this hotel to a friend. However, I would go back to the restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Echeveria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nantwich hotels

nashville, tn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2010

The charm of the 16th cen building was hard to appreciate with no hot water and sweltering tiny, dirty room in desperate need of refurbishment. Italian restaurant was passable if you like a side of mayonnaise served with your breadsticks but otherwise expensive for poor fare. The breakfast room was infested with wasps (3 in sugar bowl) and housekeeping left supplies and dirty linens in hallway for the better part of the day. Receptionist/owner excitable and argumentative when I asked about the fee for papers ordered which never arrived on any day of my 3 there. Better to stay in Chester and day trip to this darling town.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nashreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2009

Love old buildings and the character they possess, and will say the same about the Crown Hotel, it being our favourite pub in Nantwich ( and there are several! ). Full of character and olde worlde charm, have no complaints about the bar and the adjoining Italian restaurant, which is fantastic. We have enjoyed several lovely meals there.
The hotel......well, we would just say that this disappointed us, as the rooms just didn't seem to be in keeping with the ambiance of the period building. It's a shame as more attention paid to the decor would make all the difference to some of the rooms.
The room we stayed in needed a complete overhall of the bathroom which actually smelt like they had just removed a spraying tom cat, and this smell permeated the whole room. Two other rooms that our party were staying in were twin rooms, with absolutely no character, one with no room to walk around the beds, the other with not even a window, just a skylight..really quite oppressing. No attempt to brighten or characterise these rooms with nice furnishings befitting an ' olde worlde ' hotel ( plastic venetian blinds and no curtains?! )
The televisions are old with terrible reception. The bedrooms facing the front of the hotel are very noisy at weekends late at night due to loud music from the neighbouring pub.
The breakfast is nice, but they should leave the coffee pot on the table as they do with the tea! Certain ' senior ' members of staff need to actually smile at their guests.....?
We have stayed at other character hotels for the same price and slightly cheaper in some cases, which do have more attention spent on the bedrooms and the comfort of the guests, and constructive criticism is never a bad thing we think!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaDiShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

This was simply one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. The room was up some very hard to use stairs & when the assisitant left our case outside the closed door saying it is in there I should have realised what was inside. Simply a grim room, dark, strong musty smell, no stool by dressing table as no room - had to sit on bed end & husband had to climb over bed to get to bathroom. The water in the shower was cold- then hot for 2 mins - on reporting this was told let me know next time & I will come and bleed pipes!!! Looked out at air conditioing unit whicxh came on loudly @ 07.30. Could not wait to leave - in fact nearly left to stay that night anywahere but there!!! Local relatives had been tempted to wrn us off - wished they had.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meyres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
0.1 mi away
The Cheshire Cat
The Cheshire Cat
#5 of 5 in Nantwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe (Nantwich) Hotel
2.3 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Crewe Arms Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: 24 High Street, Nantwich CW5 5AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel is a grade II listed building in the beautiful historic market town of Nantwich. The hotel has been a central feature of Nantwich for more than 400 years.The 3 storied building was burnt down in the fire of Nantwich in 1583, The hotel was quickly rebuilt by Queen Elizabeth 1st, with timbers from the nearby Delamere forest. The Crown Hotel now boast all the features the modern day traveller expects yet, retains many original features including an abundance of Oak beams, wattle & daub plaster walls and roaring open fires.All our 18 guest rooms are well appointed with en suite bathrooms and Individual designed features. Diners in our Bar & Grill, which has been recently renovated, can expect cuisine of the highest quality using fresh local products and wines from around the world in a relaxed and unique setting. The Bar offers an excellent choice of ever changing real ales. We are a CAMRA real ale venue. FREE car parking and Internet connection are offered to all guests.The hotel is central for the Nantwich Jazz festival, Food & drink festival and many other local and Cheshire events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel And Casa Brasserie
Nantwich Best Western
Best Western Nantwich
The Crown Hotel Nantwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing