We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous building and setting but lacked an atmosphere.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Certificate of Excellence
United kingdom cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fabulous building and setting but lacked an atmosphere.”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed at Rookery hall as a break from our very busy schedule. Our room was not ready when we arrived at 2,30ish which was a bit of a surprise but reception did their best to sort out the problem. We had been advised that our package included afternoon tea but actually included cream tea which we felt was a little misleading and this was not made clear on making the reservation, check in or when we sat down in the restaurant. It was only because we asked about it. The room we had was in the old building and a little dark and the bathroom very tired and in much need of some work with broken shower handle and some very obvious repairs. This is not quite the standrad we expect in a 4 star hotel where attention to detail we feel is important. We eat in the restuarant and the food well deserved of its accolades but it felt like sitting in a library with no real atmosphere. The menu was a little confusing with supplements indicated for various choices and we would have benefited from an explanation of this when we sat down as we didn't understand what it meant. The wine list, which we noted had also won a number of awards was a bit pricey and a better choice at the lower end would have helped as expensive wine is just wasted on us I am afraid. Breakfast was very good and of excellent quality and choice and we applaud the use of local produce and suppliers througout the menus. Overall the staff were very helpful, the food very good and the place has some great potential.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kascrofton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your feedback following a stay at Rookery.

We were delighted to read that overall you had a super stay with us and that you thought the food was good and our great team helpful.

Rooms are available from 1500 which allows our outgoing guests a little extra time to enjoy the facilities on departure day, something that has proved very popular since its inception. The cream tea offered as part of the recent special booking promotion has gone down extremely well ,we were sorry to read that you were expecting afternoon tea included.

We are glad you also enjoyed our extensive wine list from around the world and that you found dinner and breakfast to your liking.

Best wishes

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,218
    411
    170
    60
    28
See reviews for
287
1,050
26
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I was travelling with my mother and was so delighted that the room was spacious and the twin bedded room really was twin bedded and not two beds pushed together to make a double!

The restaurant was in a beautiful room, and the food fabulous. We were on a package, and I liked the way we could choose from the menu and have any of the dishes on offer - with a small excess for certain meals.

We sat in the bar area before and after our meal, and this was another lovely room and very relaxing.

The staff were excellent and attentive.

Very nice spa area.

The only disappointment was the breakfast. Perhaps because my expectations were raised because you order from a menu, and experience has shown that this usually means the food is freshly cooked and well presented. This really didn't seem to be the case. The full English looked dried up and tasted like it had been sitting around keeping warm.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Hello,

Thank you so much for your really positive and constructive review.

Your feedback on the bedroom was great to read and also that you enjoyed the dining experience in our two rosette restaurant and the bar service.

The team at Rookery work hard in achieving attentive natural service so your comment on them was also lovely to read.

I was surprised that you found breakfast somewhat disappointing as this meal is one we really normally excel at and so please accept my apologies that you felt it was below our norm.

The spa , I do agree is very special indeed!

Very Best Wishes

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We had organised a private dining party for 16 people at this hotel. The whole experience was fantastic. What a way to celebrate our 25th Silver Wedding Anniversary. The food was brilliant and the wine choices were very extensive. If I was a judge, it would get Michelin stars, the service was faultless, all staff mebers were so helpful and could not do enough for you. The whole evening is one we will remember for a long time. We also satyed in the hotel, the rooms were very modern, very clean and decorated in a modern way. Excellent facilities in the rooms, nice views out onto the cheshire plains.
Breakfast the following moring was another great experience.
Offers of help to carry our luggage to and from the room by many members of staff.
Would reccomend this hotel to eeryone, for business and leisure.

Room Tip: We stayed in the modern part. Huge bed, rooms at the back have great views of the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Hello,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback , we are all really proud to receive such wonderful words.

Private parties and celebrations are special events so we were honoured that you chose Rookery for your 25th anniversary with your family and friends.

We are enjoying your pictures and it certainly looks like the evening went well.

The modern room are very special indeed and many do have great views of the grounds and gardens.

Breakfast is such an important meal and so we were also delighted that our efforts paid off.

Your recommendations are valuable indeed to us as it is these that set us apart and helps build a lovely picture.

We hope to see you and your party again in the future as your patronage is valuable to us all,

Thank You very much,

Kindest regards,

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Me and my boyfriend stay at the rookery hall hotel for a spa weekend in november 2011, we enjoyed are self n every 1 was friendly would defo recomend to a friend

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J3ssikasb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your belated feedback with reference to your spa break.

The Health club and Spa is special indeed and the team over there relly care for their guests and deliver seemless service of a very high level.

We are delighted that you would / will return and thank you for your recommendations,

Best wishes

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanerchymedd, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I took my wife to Rookery for a birthday treat. We were overwhelmed by the wonderful staff. The check in was fast and efficient, with Jess and Brian helping us with all our needs from breakfast times to help with luggage. The spa was wonderful and again helpful staff made it so much nicer.
Breakfast was fantastic, with a lovely team of waiters and waitresses led by earl who,again, went out of his way to make our trip so wonderful

Room Tip: our suite was brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEREMY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Hello,

Thank you for feeding back after your recent stay with us, we are delighted that you felt the team looked after you so well.

We really do have an exceptional team who work very hard indeed to deliver amazing service naturally.

Birthdays are special indeed and we are honoured you chose to spend it at Rookery.

The team members mentioned will be delighted that they have been recognised (as will breakfast!!!!)

See You soon

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed as a treat to celebrate my Wife's birthday we had a executive room in the new wing, the room was a nice size and was well planned. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room, with bottled water in the Fridge. Plenty of pillows and fluffy towels. Unfortunately it was let down by the TV in the bathroom and one the switches on the bedside light being faulty. I forgot to mention this to the reception so if the hotel reads this it was room (407). I don't know if the room had been used recently but was a little dusty.

The leisure facilities were very nice, the time the children could use the pool was limited (but we were told at the time of booking so have no complaints) My wife had a treatment that she said was excellent and worth the £75.

The Breakfast was excellent a great choice of fruit, Cereal, bread, meats etc. There were quite a few options for cooked breakfast all superb and the staff waiting on were all very attentive and first class.

Room Tip: Executive rooms seems worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IHorsfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Hello,

Thank you for completing a super review.

From your feedback it is clear you had an amazing stay with us and I know the team here will be really happy about this and we are grateful for your great comments about all aspects of your visit,

Sorry to read that there were a couple of maintenance issue in your room, rest assured the team will get these sorted straight away.

We hope to see you again very soon

Kind regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Stayed for one night as a treat for my husband's birthday. We stayed in a large, traditional room in the original part of the house with a lovely view overlooking the garden. We understand the rooms in the newer wing are more contemporary. Four poster bed was really comfortable with loads of pillows. Tea, coffee & water in the room. Big tv. Had a great night's sleep and didn't hear a sound from other rooms or other parts of the hotel. We had a lovely 3 course dinner with a nice touch for my husband's dessert which went down very well (see photo). We had breakfast cooked to order the following morning. There's also a cold buffet style breakfast if you prefer with choice of fruit, cereals, cheeses. Fantastic food and service for both meals. We used the spa, pool & gym and had a couple of treatments. Facilities are excellent and very well maintained. All of the hotel & spa staff were polite and helpful and very attentive - obviously a lot of work goes into training and it shows. All in all a fantastic place to go for a special occasion - can't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the original part of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZweiDrifters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenFearnley, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Hello,

What a lovely review, thank you so so much ford your wonderful words we all at the hotel really appreciate such feedback, it makes all the hard work really worth it.

I know tomorow when I share your comments my team will be over the moon.

We know how important all special occasions are and we really do try to pull out all the stops to ensure all expectations are beaten, because of this we are so thrilled with the way your stay ended up.

From your feedback I can tell you stayed in June, a really super room which is just about to have even more work on the bathoom this time as we did the room earlier this year, it is a junior suite and our honeymoon room but perfect for all occasions, the view over Cheshire really is stunning , i agree!!

Your pictures are really stunning and I am sure all readers will love to see this special suite!

Very best wishes to you both (see you soon we hope)

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
4.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,174 reviews
17.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
12.5 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,559 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,232 reviews
23.0 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Main Road | Worleston, Nantwich CW5 6DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1816, Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa is a four AA red star, Grade II Georgian Hall situated close to Nantwich in Cheshire. Part of the Hand Picked Hotel collection Rookery Hall is set in 38 acres of private gardens and grounds offering a selection of 70 well-appointed bedrooms and suites, extensive meeting and event facilities, a Health Club & Spa and a 2 AA Rosette Restaurant. The Health Club and Spa is set adjacent to the main hotel and offers a variety of luxurious treatments with seven treatment rooms, manicure and pedicure suite, Rasul mud therapy chamber, waterwall sensory relaxation room, glass roofed 17 metre indoor swimming pool, fully-equipped gym, fitness studio and a Cafe Bar. Rookery Hall's spa is recognised as one of the top residential spas in the country and offers a full range of spa treatments by expert therapists using the Elemis product house. Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa was initially awarded 4 AA red stars in 2013 and has retained these for 2014 and 2015. The hotel was also awarded Hotel Restaurant of the Year 2014 at the Nantwich Food Festival and Solo Spa of the year 2014 at the Good Spa Guide Awards. Conveniently located 15 minutes away from the M6, Rookery Hall is within easy reach of Chester and Manchester and the medieval town of Nantwich, just 5 minutes away. Crewe station which connects via high-speed train to London and Manchester is also just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hall Hotel And Spa
Rookery Hall Hotel Nantwich
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa Nantwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing