We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definately return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Certificate of Excellence
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Would definately return”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We had a very enjoyable day away at this hotel. The leisure facilities were excellent and we enjoyed a couple of drinks in the leisure bar afterwards. In the evening we ate in the restaurant and although our meal was not cheap we both left our table saying what a totally fabulous meal that was ( The lemon Souffle was brilliant) so we were very happy. We found the Staff to be very helpful and we look forward to our next visit there.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pee783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
I would very much like to thank you for your kind comments in relation to your visit to Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa. We are very proud of our hotel and passionately aim offer a fantastic experience for all our guests, and it is very rewarding when guests pass on their feedback which indicates that our efforts are being appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,211
    408
    166
    60
    28
See reviews for
280
1,046
26
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Having visted several "Hand Picked Hotels", and had very mixed experiences, I felt the need to write a review about this one. To begin the service was a terrible from the off, we were attending a wedding and traveling for 100 miles, we enquired prior to arrival about an earlt check-in, they were helpful but explained that I would have to call on the day befoe they say 100%. I called at 9:00 on the day of travel only to be told they still could confirm an earlt check-in and I would have to jusy "turn up and see". We arrived at the Hotel, there was one member off staff on reception, who appeared to be shuffling papers around on her desk. She kept us waiting for 20 minutes before we had to ask her if we could urgently check-in as we had a wedding on go to. It took her a further 15 minutes to find us a key. When we finally got to our room, it had been cleaned or prepared in anyway, it in fact still had the preivous guests things in it. When we did finally get to the wedding on our return, (we had handed the key back to reception so they could clean), they couldn't find our key, and it took them hunting around for more than 30 minutes before we could get in. We found all the staff extremely self absorbed and uninterested in the guests. All this I may be able to execpt from a budget hotel, but we paid £180 for one nights stay. I WILL NEVER stay in another Hand Picked Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dazzler1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Thank you for posting a review. We do pride ourselves on our high standards of service at Rookery Hall and we are very pleased with the level of compliments we receive. I can only apologise if you have not enjoyed the same level of experience. I would always encourage you to advise us at the time of your stay if you had any concerns so that we can quickly put this right for you so you can still enjoy your time with us.

Perhaps you would like to discuss your is concerns with me personally on 01270 615611.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2012

My wife and I booked into the hotel mid afternoon. enjoyed a relaxing swim in the 18m pool then lay on loungers by the side of the pool reading a great book.
The evening meal was fantastic and the selection of fine wines was excellent.
We stayed on a special package which included a glass of Champagne & Canapes before the meal and a £30 voucher against our wine choice.
The best part of the hotel is that you can book in early and enjoy the spa facilities and indeed you can stay after check out and again use the spa facilities.
There was a wedding on at the hotel on the day of our visit, however this does not effect your stay at all as the wedding party was situated in a seperate building. This sometimes put people off but be assured this is not the case at Rookery Hall.This is our 3rd visit and I sure we will be back again.

Room Tip: Join the handpicked loyalty scheme and get free upgrades to your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a brief review of your recent stay with us at Rookery Hall. I was delighted to read that you had a fabulous time.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Thanks again for your kind words.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Please ignore the bad reviews as some of them simply are not fair. To give this hotel a rating of less than 4 is just simply not conceivable. We got married here last July and came again in April this year, and no it is not cheap (particularly the drinks) but the quality of the food is as good as I've had at Michelin star restaurants.
Service
The hotel does get a high volume of weddings due to the stunning nature of the venue, so if you are coming in the wedding season (at the weekends in particular) then don't expect to have an empty hotel. We came here as a wedding party and as guests (when weddings were on) and the service was excellent both times. If you are a hotel guest then the main part of the hotel is quieter at night, as the weddings are at the function hall on the far end of the building. Jane (the wedding coordinator) was AMAZING and couldn't do enough for us all day. We are at the age where we have been to many weddings over the last few years, and nobody has come close to how hard Jane worked for us.

Hotel
We stayed in both the old and the new part of the hotel, and loved both. The older part has more classical style rooms that fit with the original part of the hotel and the extended part of the hotel is more modern, with lovely quality rooms, showers, facilities (and even a tv in the bath). I think its very unfair for the earlier poster to comment on the newer part not matching the old part. I'm no building expert, but I imagine it is extremely hard to rebuild an extension to become an exact match, but the job they have done is very good in my humble opinion.

Grounds
The winding road coming up to the hotel gave my wife goosebumps as we drove into the hotel...it is stunning!! The grounds at the back our extensive and well kept. Our wedding photos were stunning as there is a pond, fountain, trees, old buildings etc. all which made great picures.

Food/drinks
Extremely good. Chef was very accommodating for our wedding breakfast and the food was stunning - everybody loved all 4 courses. The food that we ate on our weekend break was on a par with Michelin standard - as stated earlier. There is large selection of drinks but they are too expensive, and this would be the only area I think the hotel should take a look at. (Currently some drinks would be more expensive than some central London hotels and not reflective of the Central/North-West of England). It just encourages people to drink a lot less.
Breakfast is very high quality. You can go for the buffet or put your order outside your door the night before and it will be with you for the time asked. Did both - enjoyed both. If you get married there they do the breakfast buffet for your private wedding party in the function room - which was lovely.

Spa
Fantastic facilities in the Gym and the pool. The spa treatments are expensive, but everybody that was with us enjoyed them all. One of the nicest hotel spas I have seen all in all.

If I'm honest, it is not the sort of hotel you would go to regularly (unless you are very well off), but as a romantic treat / wedding I would highly recommend it to anybody who asked!!!

Room Tip: If you want a newer decor modern room, ask for the newer block. Executive rooms were a nice size. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iceman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments following your stay and wedding with us.

It is great to hear that the team worked so hard to make your day so special, we place a great deal of emphasis on recruiting the right people and developing these people to be ambassadors for our company

I have already passed on to the team your very kind comments about being attentive and providing great, friendly service because this is what we aim to provide for all of our guests and it is great for us that you keep coming back and indeed recommend the hotel to others.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rookery Hall in the very near future.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I was treated by my husband for a night away at Rookery Hall on the Sunday Club deal. Was very excited as had great reviews from family who have stayed on a few occasions, but was disappointed with our experience. Checked in on Sunday at 3pm (which is their check in time) was busy (also a wedding on), but staff were accommodating and helpful and showed us to our room efficiently, we didn't mind waiting, room was lovely, had paid for the upgrade room, great views.

We had a booked the afternoon tea - but were left waiting in reception for a while before we were shown through to the restaurant area where they serve afternoon tea - on the way we where walked through a wedding party and then sat at a table right next to the door where the wedding party were next door, quite noisy, although they moved on fairly soon afterwards.

Dinner was lovely, we had upgraded to the full a la carte menu. Service was a little slow to take away plates in between courses, but all staff were polite and food was really good.

Breakfast was very disappointing, first of all we were told we would have to wait to see if there was a table available (considering we had booked Bed and breakfast, I found this odd, there was a table!), service was slow, items were missed from the order, then were substandard of expectation when arrived on request, no extra tea/coffee/juice was provided, even upon request. Though this was not just us, the couple behind where also having problems and left before some of their order had arrived.

I think some of the slow service over the weekend was due to the fact there was a wedding taking place, but I would expect that the hotel should still be able to provide a high standard to other residents.

We discussed our disappointments on check out and amendments were made to our bill to compensate. However there was also an error on the bill, for which we were charged for items that we should not have been, although this was refunded once the error had been recognised.

Perhaps my expectations were too high, but unfortunately overall, although a beautiful building with lovely rooms and good dinner, we were ultimately disappointed with the level of overall service and experience for the cost and will be unlikely to stay in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLLChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent stay.

I was pleased to read your comments regarding the menu and reception staff, but very disappointed to learn of the problems you experienced at breakfast.

We do endeavor to ensure that every dining experience is a memorable and enjoyable one and sincerely apologise that this was not achieved on this occasion.

I have discussed your comments with the departmental managers, who in turn will discuss these issues with the hotel teams.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield UK
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed here with friends on a "gourmet break". The hotel itself is really nice, the executive rooms lovely, the problems arose when we got to the dining room and they didn't have the dishes we ordered. That's when all the little things started to niggle. We highlighted these on checking out and the Duty Manager listened, made notes and offered a free stay to make up for what he called was an unacceptable level of service. We were very impressed with the quick efficient way he dealt with our problems and we are going back for a second time to give it another chance, hopefully this time it will live up to expectations.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank btheset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
I was absolutely delighted to read your comments about the hotel however naturally disappointed to read that some items on the menu were not available. I am really pleased that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Your kind remarks are much appreciated by the whole team.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We enjoyed a great break at Rookery Hall last week. The staff were all polite and made a real effort, we were given a free room upgrade when they realised we were on our 'mini-moon' having just got married that weekend. Nice comfortable, well equipped rooms and the telly in the bathroom was a bonus.

Breakfast was very good, high quality selection of fruit etc and cooked options included. I had a very nice eggs Benedict.

We didn't eat in the restaurant, personal choice. We just felt that the prices looked very high, we live in London and have eaten in a lot of restaurants, including michelan starred restaurants, and the menu was more expensive than some of those central London ones. The standard may have justified the price, but we were not willing to risk it on a special weekend for us. We had two excellent meals in near by restaurants.

The spa facilities were great, spacious, bright and airy, high quality spa. Just one note on the spa though. It is almost like a small leisure centre really and had outside members. This mean't on the Sunday evening the place was busy with local families and there were a lot of screaming children. Good to know it is child friendly, but for us, wanting a relaxing swim and Jacuzzi, not so good. Not so much a complaint as an observation. If you're looking for an intimate, quiet space, this might not be the spa for you.

All in all very good value, especially with the deal through secret escapes.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexjsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Congratulations on your recent wedding. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review for our future guests; it is much appreciated. I was delighted that you enjoyed with stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Please be assured that I have shared your very kind comments with the team.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
4.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,157 reviews
17.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
20.2 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,624 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,161 reviews
23.0 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Main Road | Worleston, Nantwich CW5 6DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1816, Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa is a four AA red star, Grade II Georgian Hall situated close to Nantwich in Cheshire. Part of the Hand Picked Hotel collection Rookery Hall is set in 38 acres of private gardens and grounds offering a selection of 70 well-appointed bedrooms and suites, extensive meeting and event facilities, a Health Club & Spa and a 2 AA Rosette Restaurant. The Health Club and Spa is set adjacent to the main hotel and offers a variety of luxurious treatments with seven treatment rooms, manicure and pedicure suite, Rasul mud therapy chamber, waterwall sensory relaxation room, glass roofed 17 metre indoor swimming pool, fully-equipped gym, fitness studio and a Cafe Bar. Rookery Hall's spa is recognised as one of the top residential spas in the country and offers a full range of spa treatments by expert therapists using the Elemis product house. Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa was initially awarded 4 AA red stars in 2013 and has retained these for 2014 and 2015. The hotel was also awarded Hotel Restaurant of the Year 2014 at the Nantwich Food Festival and Solo Spa of the year 2014 at the Good Spa Guide Awards. Conveniently located 15 minutes away from the M6, Rookery Hall is within easy reach of Chester and Manchester and the medieval town of Nantwich, just 5 minutes away. Crewe station which connects via high-speed train to London and Manchester is also just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hall Hotel And Spa
Rookery Hall Hotel Nantwich
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa Nantwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing