We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Certificate of Excellence
glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful hotel !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Stayed here in september for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it - could have stayed longer ! The staff are one of the hotel's greatest assets - everyone from reception to spa to restaurant to housekeeping were delightful - customer service at its best.

Had breakfast and dinner in the hotel each day and thoroughly enjoyed everything - all good quality ingredients cooked to perfection and presented beautifully.

Only slight criticism would be the afternoon tea - we just felt the sandwiches and cakes were less dainty than usual. However this is more personal taste and didnt detract from our enjoyment.

All in all, a beautiful hotel in a lovely part of the country. Can recommend a trip onto nantwich and at least one visit to snugburys ice cream farm is a must !

Would definitely return to this lovely hotel!:-)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ayrshire1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, and yeas a trip out to Snugburys is indeed a real treat. On behalf of myself and the entire team here at Rookery Hall and we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes,

Gwyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,172
    393
    162
    59
    25
See reviews for
268
1,018
25
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
268 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

I/we only had one night in this beautiful hotel....sadly! It has a serenity about it which deserves to be enjoyed for longer! It is set in fabulous grounds in the middle of no-where! BLISS!
We had a superior room in the newer part of the hotel and it was gorgeous! Lots of space, a large bathroom with a large bath with a separate walk-in shower AND a television to watch whilst soaking in the bath.....indulgence indeed!
We ate in the fine dining restaurant and it was, indeed, fine dining! DELICIOUS dinner!
We had room service breakfast which was also delicious and beautifully presented!
All the staff were superb! We were met at reception by Brian and think EVERY hotel reception should have a Brian! Very welcoming, happy and amusing too!
There are Spa facilities here but we were not there long enough to enjoy them...next time perhaps! I can't wait to return!
All round this hotel provides well and it is no surprize that it is in the Handpicked group!

Room Tip: We booked the dinner, bed and breakfast package and paid up front....definitely worth doing!...the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FRANCES39A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and all aspects of the hotel. On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at Rookery Hall, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes,

Gwyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

Me and my Mom have just returned from a 2 night stay at Rookery Hall. We had a wonderful time from start to finish. Lovely deluxe room with beautiful views across the countryside. Tile TV in bathroom was amazing and the shower was brilliant with 3 settings, very invigorating! Breakfast was fantastic; everything you could wish for. Fresh fruit, dried fruit, lovely fresh yoghurt, honey, freshly grated nutmeg, cereals, even a jug of fresh smoothie and a selection of local cheeses - the list goes on and then you had a large choice of cooked food, cooked to order. Fresh coffee and pastries. Delightful.

We spent a day in the spa. Good Aqua Aerobics class followed by a swim. The swimming pool is wonderful and there is a lovely hydro pool. Champagne lunch, which was delicious and then one and a half hours of bliss being pampered. The treatment we had included warm oil being poured on to arms and legs and then you were wrapped up and given a wonderful facial, neck and shoulder massage and indian head massage. It is the first treatment were I have felt fully relaxed and I am sure I fell asleep on several occasions! This heavenly treatment was followed by a manicure and nails being painted. We then chilled out in the relaxation room which was well stocked with a lovely selection of herbal and fruit teas or chilled water and cordial.

In the evening we had dinner in the restaurant in the hotel. Every course was a delight. For the main course, we both chose haddock, which was a very generous portion and very tasty and the lemon cheesecake to finish was divine! We were very full! The only downside is the price of the drinks. The cheapest bottle of wine was £23.00. I had a small brandy which cost £8.30!!

The bar area lacked ambience and I feel if the drinks weren't so ridiculously priced it may encourage a few more people to enjoy an after dinner drink in there, which would possibly make it a more inviting place.

We were very lucky as my Mom had won this stay in a competition (she did pay for us to stay an extra night) and it included the treatments, champagne lunch, accommodation and 3 course dinner.

All of the staff were very friendly and we felt very comfortable there. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept.

I would recommend a visit to Rookery Hotel and Spa!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyh63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
Absolutely delighted you enjoyed your stay here at the Rookery Hall. You have highlighted the areas we really try and focus on especially a friendly team of staff offering great customer service.

I was very pleased to read you found the whole dining experience to be a delight and the spa to be wonderful and relaxing. As a hotel group we put a great deal of time and effort into the production of our wine lists and your feedback will be noted for future reference.

Very much and we look forward to your return visit.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

My husband and I have just had a one night break at Rookery Hall and it was fabulous. The place is beautiful and in a wonderful country setting. The staff are all extremely friendly, helpful and efficient for which nothing was too much trouble. They really contributed to making our stay that much more enjoyable. If it hadn't been raining so hard while we were there we would have explored the grounds more but instead we enjoyed the benefits of the lovely swimming pool and jacuzzi. The food at breakfast and also our evening meal was excellent, we also had afternoon tea as part of our deal which was very nice. We will definately visit this or one of the other hotels again in the future.

Room Tip: Our room was in the newer wing and was beautiful. It looked out over the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DuncanPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
Thank you for providing some great feedback following your stay.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed our dining experience, and the team looked after you well during your stay. I do hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,


Gwyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

I have just returned from a lovely stay at the Rookery. I have never visited a hotel where i have felt more welcomed. The staff were the best I've ever experienced in an english hotel, nothing was too much trouble. I loved the TV in the bathroom and I thought the snoozing cat instead of a do not disturb sign was a nice touch. Can't quite understand why this hotel is not a 5*. Will definately be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kim v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor. I was delighted that you enjoyed your brief stay with us and are happy to recommend the Hotel to others. I do hope that you will take the opportunity to stay with again in the very near future.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

This superb hotel has an individual welcome by one of the receptionist, who showed us to a luxury room with tile TV in the bathroom. Lovely short walks around the grounds and best spa in the area. Be patient with the service: the wonderful Afternoon Tea, delicious Diner and tasty Breakfast in our room are worth the wait. Sometime mistakes with orders were quickly fixed by a helpful and friendly staff. Being a wedding function venue spoilt our romantic break with noise til 3am in the morning (reported to reception) and smokers below our window and slamming doors. This was my worst night sleep at any hotel worldwide over many years. Best avoid days with wedding function booked during your stay. Even so, we would stay at any Hand Picked hotel for our next romantic break.

Room Tip: Avoid Rooms by Wedding Function Venue - Be patient with service, its worth the wait.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny1B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
I would like to take the opportunity of thanking you for your much valued feedback in relation to your recent experience with us here at Rookery Hall.

It would appear that we were inconsistent with the very high standards of service and care of which we have set ourselves. I was extremely disappointed to read your comments about mistakes being made with your order as we spend a great deal of time training our teams. I would always encourage you to advise us at the time of your stay if you had any concerns so that we can quickly put this right for you so you can still enjoy your time with us.

I was however delighted to read that the problems you encountered did not overly effect the enjoyment of your stay as you found all the food was delicious and the teams were warm and friendly. Customer service is something we are passionate about here at the hotel so thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Gwyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed at Rookery Hall for a wedding in September and were blown away by the level of service we received from the minute we made our booking, right up to check-out. Rookery Hall itself is a stunning building with a real grand feel about it. We had booked 2 nights stay as we were attending a wedding that was taking place in Rookery Hall itself. Every staff member we encountered on our stay was friendly, smiley and genuinely went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Nothing was ever too much trouble. The food was outstanding both at the wedding and at breakfast with a fantastic selection on offer for breakfast.
Having both worked in the hospitality industry for many years, we know how hard it is to achieve such high standards. The team at Rookery Hall have nailed it! We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room called May. It was beautiful with its own private balcony looking over the stun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
Thank you very much for a wonderful review of Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa. I am pleased the Hotel provided a superb stay and that our staff has shown what they are good at: looking after our guests. I will naturally pass your comments to the team as well and look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the future.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
4.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,045 reviews
17.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
20.2 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
17.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
14.2 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Main Road | Worleston, Nantwich CW5 6DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1816, Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa is a four AA red star, Grade II Georgian Hall situated close to Nantwich in Cheshire. Part of the Hand Picked Hotel collection Rookery Hall is set in 38 acres of private gardens and grounds offering a selection of 70 well-appointed bedrooms and suites, extensive meeting and event facilities, a Health Club & Spa and a 2 AA Rosette Restaurant. The Health Club and Spa is set adjacent to the main hotel and offers a variety of luxurious treatments with seven treatment rooms, manicure and pedicure suite, Rasul mud therapy chamber, waterwall sensory relaxation room, glass roofed 17 metre indoor swimming pool, fully-equipped gym, fitness studio and a Cafe Bar. Rookery Hall's spa is recognised as one of the top residential spas in the country and offers a full range of spa treatments by expert therapists using the Elemis product house. Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa was initially awarded 4 AA red stars in 2013 and has retained these for 2014 and 2015. The hotel was also awarded Hotel Restaurant of the Year 2014 at the Nantwich Food Festival and Solo Spa of the year 2014 at the Good Spa Guide Awards. Conveniently located 15 minutes away from the M6, Rookery Hall is within easy reach of Chester and Manchester and the medieval town of Nantwich, just 5 minutes away. Crewe station which connects via high-speed train to London and Manchester is also just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hall Hotel Nantwich
Rookery Hall Hotel And Spa
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa Nantwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing