We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, highly recommend. Good friendly service, tasty food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basmati

Basmati
Ranked #4 of 105 Restaurants in Nantwich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent, highly recommend. Good friendly service, tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Today we tried the £9.95 meal where you get popadoms, chutney, minty sauce and 2 pickles. Any starter, any main, any side, rice or naan bread then coffee or icecream. The service was excellent, they were friendly and couldn't do enough to make sure we were happy. The restaurant itself has been renovated since we last went so is clean, modern and comfortable and now has windows so you can watch the trains go by. Food was delicious and fantastic value for money. Will definitely be returning next time in Nantwich

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mummy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    33
    13
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A reliable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Having tried most of the restaurants in the area we always return to Basmati for that extra in taste and service.
The wonderful flavour of their dishes can only be attributed to the use of 100% natural ingredients and the level of service leaves one feeling we are the most important customers in the restaurant, representing extremely good value for money.
Both my wife and I would not hesitate to recommend Basmati to any lover of Indian cuisine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Phillip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“absolutely dreadful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I'm not sure if we caught them on a bad day but we decided to pop in for a sit in meal. From the moment we sat down it started to go down hill ! Menus where almost thrown at us not a warm welcome and we almost left before ordering. The main course my partner had was way too salty and we ended up sending it back, to be fair the manager did knock it off the bill and adjusted the curry to try and make it better (he did admit himself it was not right). My meal was OK but I doubt we would go there again. The place itself is really clean and modern it's just a shame that the food was not up to the same standards.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank tarkatronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Basmati”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Well worth a visit. Watch the trains go by as you dine. Ahmed and his staff are very friendly and courteous. As vegetarians the food is delicious and you can ask for what you want. For example I wanted a mushroom rather than vegetable balti and this was catered for. Portions are a good size (too much for me so my left-overs were packed for me to take away) and so reasonably priced. I have no hesitation in recommending Basmati.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“take away order”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We ordered a takeaway & had to been your restaurant before. Even though the food was good value. I could not eat my chicken passanda that I had ordered due to what it looked like was a water looking substance in the sauce. The curry didn't taste of much and also looked curdled. As I have ordered from Spices and also been Indian Ocean in Nantwich countless times & I have always ordered the same meal as really enjoyed it. We thought we would order from here from the highly rated reviews to try somewhere different. Extremely disappointed and wont be ordering again from here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basmati also viewed

Nantwich, Cheshire
Faddiley, Nantwich
 

Been to Basmati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing