We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10 Minutes”
Review of Wybunbury Tower

Wybunbury Tower
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
462 reviews
187 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“10 Minutes”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

You can spend 10 minutes or so looking at the leaning tower without a church, but the only interesting feature is the information board that explains how it was returned to nearer vertical in the 1830s, and then again in the 1970s.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank L3K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Something to see for 5 minutes”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Considering there is not a great selection of things to do in the area, you may as well have a look at the tower. Perhaps combine with a walk or visit to the pub.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AJD84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
683 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Not a lot to see, but we were in the area and enjoyed our short visit. 2 nice Pubs nearby, but closed when we visited in the morning sadly! Info board tells you all you need to know.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jandlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wybunbury Tower Saved the Tower of Pisa”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The leaning tower stands about 100yds from my back door, I see it every time I go into my garden It is all that is left of the last of several churches built on this site over several hundred years. It is clear that previous generations of builds were slow learner, though the tower can clearly be seen for miles. The Tower is now administered by a village committee, two of who live close to me. Everyone concerned works hard to keep it all in good order.

The engineer who saved the tower developed the method of removing earth from below the foundations years ago, it is all on the Interweb and the stabilised the Tower. Visits to our tower were made by the Pisa people before they too used the same method

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Timwills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great views of South Cheshire from the top!”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Wybunbury Tower, or the “The Hanging Steeple of Wimberie” is a 15th century church tower saved from demolition in the 1980’s by a dedicated group of villagers now known as the Wybunbury Tower Preservation trust. Be sure to visit during the Wybunbury Fig Pie wakes - this is when you can go to the top. You have to climb a long spiral staircase to get to the top - very cramped and tight so not a good idea for very small children or the disabled

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Adamcurrie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wybunbury Tower also viewed

 
Nantwich, Cheshire
Nantwich, Cheshire
 

Been to Wybunbury Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing