We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful new section”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Certificate of Excellence
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“beautiful new section”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were lucky in that our visit coincided with the grand opening of the new part of the hotel and the celebrations were brilliant with Len Goodman, National Symphony Orchestra and a brilliant singer. We stayed in the new part and the rooms and landscaping were really attractive. I would advise staying in the back rooms if you like peace and quiet and an open view over the golf course or a front facing room if you like more sun, the sound of the fountains and to see more people walking about.

All in all a very good stay. Would like to see a couple more waiting staff though, our lovely waitress seemed rushed off her feet.

Room Tip: Some rooms have walk in showers and no bath. Others a bath with shower over. Check yours will suit y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cressida638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaston W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are so glad you had a great time with us and you enjoyed your stay in one of our fantastic new rooms.

We hope to welcome you back again to Alvaston really soon.

Kind regards

Gary Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    734
    440
    145
    60
    43
See reviews for
193
787
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

There has been a massive investment in this hotel by Warners. The hotel itself is increased by 120 rooms and the dining room redesigned to take into account the increased number. It is now quite glamorously decorated and although the staff try really hard to serve the. Increased numbers we wondered whether it was now a little large ?

It took nearly 30 minutes to book in as the reception area remains the same size. We had been contacted by the Warners team about anticipating in an organised trip from the hotel but when we went to pay as arranged the day before , it had been cancelled without us being notified. Equally we felt the evening entertainment was not as good as previously.
Having said this, Warners remains superb value for money, the food was excellent and the countryside and attractions round the area make Nantwich a lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelagh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaston W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review

Firstly I would like to apologise that you had to wait 30 minutes to check in at the main reception, We have now changed how we operate check in and this has cut the waiting dramatically.
I also apologise that you were disappointed that your trip did not take place. We have to have a minimum number of guests for any trip to go ahead and unfortunately this was not the case on that particular day.

I shall pass on all of your feedback to the team and really hope we can welcome you back to Alvaston Hall very soon.

Kind Regards

Gary Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

From the moment we arrived we had a good time !!
We had 2 single rooms. 1 in the old building(room 3) for my mum,a bit small(shower only),and me a courtyard room(41),mine was a bit noisy in the morning,as it backed out onto the service road at the back,where Warners staff arrive and leave.
food was Excellent !,a wide choice from Indian,chinese to carvery to the table served menu.
A bonus was the National Symphony orchestra ,Len Goodman officially opening Alvaston Hall and a spectacular firework display later on !! .
Hope to return soon !!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaston W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us at Alvaston Hall and enjoyed Len Goodman's visit.

We really hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards

Gary Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was our second trip to Alvaston - we came last year just before the building works began, therefore we can give a balanced ''before and after'' review. Also we are in our 40's but both visits have been with our elderly parents who are in their 80's - my father in law has had mobility issues as he is recovering from a stroke.

Firstly, WOW! - you can really see where £13M has been spent. The ball room is simply lovely, with great seating, meaning great views for all and a fab stage and dance floor. One of the main reasons we like Alvaston is the allocated seating, no fights for seats after diner!

If you don't want anything from the Al a Carte Menu - the buffet food is served from a huge island unit - never did we have to wait for more than a couple of minutes to be served. All of the food we had was hot and delicious with lots of choice.

We stayed in the new wing in Signature rooms - they were spacious, comfortable and beautifully decorated. My Father in law had a disabled room - lots of space for the wheel chair and the bathroom was a large wet room with lots of handles and a seat for the shower - fantastic.

Some reviews are saying that some of the rooms are too far from the main hotel - well my father in law (using his walker) took 4 minutes to get from our rooms to the ball room and we were positioned about as far as you can get away from the main hotel.

The new cafe areas and patios are also well thought out and very pretty. The newly planted areas are lovely now and will only get better as they mature.

The entertainment was really good with the same 'friendly'' feel as last time. Even though they have doubled the audience - those guys work very hard.

Most of the new serving staff are still finding their feet a little bit, but really nothing to complain about.

One of the bars was still be completed - I just hope that the make over continues into the Spa area.

All in all a lovely stay and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Signature Room - just that bit more special
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MartS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaston W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I would like to thank you for your fantastic feedback. It is great to hear that you had such a good time while you were with us and love the changes to Alvaston as much as we do.

I shall pass on all your lovely comments to our team, and I really look forward to welcoming you back to Alvaston Hall in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards

Gary Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We booked this 12 months previously so were unsure if the new developments would be completed. Thankfully they were although we stayed in the older part of the hotel. Our rooms were a good size and clean and offered very good accommodation. We just felt that a lick of paint was required both to our block and to the main, original hotel building.
However we had an extremely enjoyable stay. One particular thing we liked was we sat at our assigned table for dinner and remained there for the entertainment. Other Warners we have visited require a dash and a bun fight between eating and going to a separate venue for the entertainment.
The golf course was far better than expected. It should be better described on the Alvaston web page as it offers quite a test and is kept in good condition.
Certainly one of the best Warners hotels. I would certainly go again!!

Room Tip: Try to get one of the new rooms. Having read the reviews, they would seem better than those in the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaston W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

It’s so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and liked the new changes to Alvaston Hall as much as we do. We are very proud of all the new accommodation and our amazing Cabaret Diner.

I will give our Grounds manager all of your positive feedback with regards to the golf course as they have been working extremely hard on this.

I really hope we will be welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards

Gary Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Been to a number of Warner's Hotels now and this is the best so far.
Had one of the new rooms and despite a few teething problems it was great. bed was huge and garden view wonderful, we were in 503 ( big thanks to the gardeners which we all tend to forget )
Food top notch and staff well you could not fault them, so good in fact that I took to the stage and got everyone to give them a massive round of applause.
One little problem and that is the swimming pool area, very dated and tired looking, tiles cracked, roof looks dirty, and Jacuzzi did not work all week, told they were waiting for parts but three of the locals told me it has been on the blink for months.
Still staff were as everywhere else first rate, come on Warner's do not spoil the place just for a half penny of tar.
Would we go there again, well if I had my way we would have just booked in again and stayed longer but we were on a coach trip 10 out of 10 for the staff. ROY

Room Tip: Try and get a table that faces the stage then you will not spend all night looking sideways
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank royston c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaston W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

It is so nice to hear that our guests are having such a fabulous time while they are with us. I shall pass on all of your feedback to the team, it does really lift the spirits when our guests take time to give us such lovely comments.

Im sorry the Spa wasn't in use when you were with us. We have had a water pressure issue which is now being addressed and you will be pleased to hear it will be fully operational soon.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Alvaston Hall in the not too distant future

Kind Regards

Gary Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Myself and five friends enjoyed a great weekend break, excellent food that wouldn't go a miss on many a cruise ship, great entertainment, friendly staff, that are only to willing to resolve any problems that you may come across. Would I go again ? Defiantly

Room Tip: Most of Alvaston Hall has undergone a huge refurbishment, the main house has lots of character, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaston W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post you review.

I am so glad you and your friends had a lovely break here with us at Alvaston Hall.

I really hope we will be welcoming you all back again in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards

Gary Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
0.9 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
4.2 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
2,167 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Nantwich
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Travelodge Middlewich
Travelodge Middlewich
#1 of 2 in Middlewich
149 reviews
5.2 mi away
Wychwood Park Hotel
Wychwood Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weston
925 reviews
18.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel

Property: Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel
Address: Middlewich Road, Nantwich CW5 6PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience this superb 19th-century half timbered house with a range of facilities including a 9-hole golf course, fitness studio and indoor pool. Relax in our stunning contemporary Signature rooms, top of the range Royale rooms or the Courtyard outdoors room accommodation. Enjoy the evening entertainment whilst you dine in our splendid cabaret diner, The Grove Ballroom. Nearly everything comes complementary to your room, so make the most of our facilities and the service offered by our friendly team. Location: Alvaston Hall is located 40 minutes south-east of Chester, and 30 minutes west of Stoke-on-Trent. Set in the pretty Cheshire countryside, it's ideally located near Manchester and Liverpool too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alvaston Hall Hotel Nantwich
Alvaston Hall Nantwich
Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel Nantwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing