We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed in new built Fairways, had a room with a balcony( 1st balcony whilst in UK), lovely view over water feature. Dining room excellent, you have same table after dinner to watch very good entertainment . All tables have a good view of the stage. Were with a coach trip, so only stayed for breakfast, dinner & evening entertainment. There were activities during the day but we did not join in, as out with tour. The food was very well cooked & had a good variety. The staff were helpful & very pleasant.
Only complaint was that on our last night our block had no water, it went off about 6.30pm & came back on about 7.30am. OK, so all new things have a hitch now & then but we never had a word of apology or even an acknowledgement that all was not as it should be. Rather spoilt the holiday.

Room Tip: New Fairways block, all rooms seem good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aylkea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaston W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
I am so glad you enjoyed the balcony on your new bedroom in the Fairways and the Cabaret Restaurant and you liked that you kept the same table for your meals and entertainment. I am sorry to hear of the water going off and would like to sincerely apologise that you did not have an apology whilst you were with us, this is not the way we usually deal with things.

Kind Regards

Gary Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    428
    142
    60
    43
See reviews for
187
758
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was our third trip to this hotel, the second since the renovations. We had both times a signature room in the new Fairways, very well designed and decorated. The chairs and the beds were very comfortable and an excellent choice of pillows ensured a good nights sleep. The grounds are beautiful and although the gardens have only been planted since the recent building work was finished they are lovely. The entertainment has always been very good, the quality food, and the friendly staff make for a good break

Room Tip: A Signature room with or without a balcony in the Fairways wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaston W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
I am happy to read that you have just enjoyed your second visit since the renovations and that you foung the room, grounds and gardens, entertainment, food and the team here all made for a good break.

Kind Regards
Gary Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is the first time we have been after the refurbishment.
We booked a royale room the day before we went,
just as we were leaving we got a call to say our room
had a problem and only a signature room was available.
While we were there a chap was on his phone saying
he had complained about his signature room being noisy
and got upgraded to a royale room, this was on the day we
arrived!! so I guess it was our room. Disappointed

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaston W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
I am sorry to hear that you had issues with your room while you stayed with us. We do try and accommodate everybody as best we can so I do apologize greatly. If you would like me to look into the matter I would be more than happy as I cannot see any reason for why your room would have been changed if it was available on the break in question. Thank you for taking your time to write this review and should you choose to stay with us again I am sure we can accommodate you in the room that you had originally booked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was our second stay at the hotel, first since the renovations. We stayed in the newly built Fairways with suite and patio. It most definitely has the WOW factor. It was beautifully designed with two spacious rooms and bathroom. Lovely to have our own private patio, but I do feel they need to either put an extra plant pot or a slight wall by the patio. This would prevent other residents walking through your patio and trying to squeeze through the fence by the terrace bar. In the room you have your own robes and slippers, which is a nice touch of luxury unfortunately the robes seems to be one size. My partner could not do his up, as he is 6ft 2in and rather broad. Also he is a size 13 shoe so the slippers were nowhere near a good fit. We loved the fact that there was a writing desk but after talking to other residents it seems everyone feels it would be nice to have a writing pad and pen. Our room was kept exceptionally clean while we stayed, our cleaner obviously took extreme pride in her work. Andrea was her name and any other guests would be privileged to have her. The grounds are extremely well kept and picturesque. The new entertainment/restaurant is really well set out. Our waitress, Gemma serving table 54 was attentive, helpful and genuinely showed an interest in us. She served us breakfast every morning and was always very nice. In the evening we had a different person every night, I have read in previous reviews that the staff are stretched by the extra guests. I wouldn't say this was the case, I feel that the new members of staff are not qualified, they are either not being trained or are not picking it up very quickly. This does cause a delay in service. If everyone was as qualified as Gemma it would be a well running dining experience. The entertainment was better than the last time we stayed, the young girl that sings with the black jacks is probably the best singer overall. The worst night was when there was a comedian Ricky Jay he was not funny at all. The majority of tables around us all left after about 10 minutes. Drew from the entertainments team was by far funnier than the comedian and really stood out for us. It is good that the hotel has been renovated to the highest quality but I do feel they should extend this to their brought in acts. One of the bars was closed for a few hours, so we did go to the fountain bar for a drink. It took us 20 minutes to be served as it is table service. There was plenty of staff. A few guests did complain to a lady behind the bar, I believe she was the manager. Whilst I was sat waiting for my drink, I did over hear her gossiping about the guests when they were still in the bar, it didn't show great customer service. She should really be setting an example to other members of staff. Alvaston Hall is a fantastic place to stay and has every bit of added luxury, the points I have mentioned were just a few tweaks that I felt would improve the quality even more. We are aged between 30-50 and thoroughly enjoyed it, obviously all the entertainment is aimed at a higher age group as are the events throughout the day. Saying this is was very enjoyable and we will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: Definitely pay a little extra for a room in the fairways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaston W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
How lovely to read that you really liked your new Royale Room, however we will take on board your comments regarding the dressing gowns,slippers, pens, paper and the patio. I will pass your kind comments on to Andrea, Gemma and Drew and we will look into the service and the retraining of our team.

Kind Regards
Gary Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We recently went to Alvaston Hall looking forward to being in one of the new rooms, they have spent millions of pounds doing up. Well we were not put any where near the new building we were put in the old Limes building! What a disappointment, we had booked a patio room, which we got but it was rather a small dirty patio with a dead plant at the side, the 2 foot of grass we had in front was full of weeds and we overlooked the service road. When we made enquiries about the new building we were told it would cost another £150 pounds to be put in there! We did enjoy the new entertainment / restaurant area and the food and service was very good but we had expected from all the advertising to have experienced the new rooms.

Room Tip: Ask how much for the new accommodation if you want the best rooms, otherwise they are average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beautybundle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaston W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
I am really sorry to read of your disapointment that you were not in one of our brand new rooms on your recent stay with us. if you are thinking about booking again for some time in the future please ring us at the Hotel where we will be happy to make sure that you are allocated one of these rooms. I am glad to hear that you did enjoy the food, new restaurant, entertainment and service.

Kind Regards
Gary Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Six friends went there for a weekend and had a wonderful time, all the staff were absolutely wonderful. The grounds were set out lovely and we spent a couple of hours walking in them then having a drink on the Terrace Bar. The food was first class and plenty of it, the rooms were set out nicely with everything on hand. The entertainment was as good as any in the West End and the entertainment staff were very professional and individually we're lovely people. We were asked what could be changed to make our stay better and our answer was, you cannot improve on perfection. We have been there before and will certainly be going back as our fiftieth wedding anniversary is coming up next year and we will celebrate it with the lovely staff there.

Room Tip: In my view the rooms at the back are the best for the view but there is a service road to the kitche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaston W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, I am happy to read that all six of you had a wonderful time enjoying our grounds, food, entertainment, the terrace bar and I look forward to welcoming you back for your fiftieth wedding anniversary next year.

Kind Regards

Gary Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have recently returned from four days at Alvaston Hall Hotel in Cheshire. We had a wonderful time. It has recently been upgraded and now boasts a wonderful new dining room with dance floor and stage. The bedrooms in the new wings are very stylish with very comfortable beds and air conditioning - much needed as we had very hot weather.
The entertainment was excellent and the staff in the hotel very helpful.

Room Tip: I would certainly ask for a room with air conditioning in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaston W, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
I am really happy to read that you had a wonderful time and that you really liked our new Cabaret Restaurant, the new bedrooms with the air conditioning and our team were helpful.
Kind Regards

Gary Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
0.9 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
4.2 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,125 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Nantwich
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
The Cheshire Cat
The Cheshire Cat
#5 of 5 in Nantwich
211 reviews
10.5 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel

Property: Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel
Address: Middlewich Road, Nantwich CW5 6PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience this superb 19th-century half timbered house with a range of facilities including a 9-hole golf course, fitness studio and indoor pool. Relax in our stunning contemporary Signature rooms, top of the range Royale rooms or the Courtyard outdoors room accommodation. Enjoy the evening entertainment whilst you dine in our splendid cabaret diner, The Grove Ballroom. Nearly everything comes complementary to your room, so make the most of our facilities and the service offered by our friendly team. Location: Alvaston Hall is located 40 minutes south-east of Chester, and 30 minutes west of Stoke-on-Trent. Set in the pretty Cheshire countryside, it's ideally located near Manchester and Liverpool too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alvaston Hall Hotel Nantwich
Alvaston Hall Nantwich
Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel Nantwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing