We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve party”
Review of The Railway Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nantwich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Railway Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Nantwich B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 February 2013

My wife and I live in Northwich and decided to go to see a friends band playing here. Rather than drive and not being able to drink, or spending a fortune on a taxi, we booked a room. A warm greeting accompanying a really friendly atmosphere where the first points to mention. The room was lovely, it was warm, cosy and spotlessly clean. The bar was friendly and service good, band was terrific and in the morning the breakfast was excellent. We will be making this a regular jaunt as the value compared with driving or taking a taxi is excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philthedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2012

The Railway was a convenient place to stay after our works christmas night out. It was a great price so we were not expecting too much......but it was lovely, clean and hospitable. Nigel the landlord was really accomodating. We had an amazing cooked breakfast for only £5. We all said we would definately go back to stay there again and would recommed it. The only set back was the shower, it was awkward to get the temperature warm. I have to mention Oscar the old Alsatian, he is adorable and I wanted to bring him home with me.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanieandGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

My partner and I stayed here for three nights in order to make the most of the 2012 Nantwich Words and Music Festival and to explore the town itself.

The Railway Hotel is a classic Victorian inn run by friendly, music-enthusiast hosts who do their very best to give good value in what is becoming a VERY difficult trade.

The bars are split between a cafe-style dining room and a large open drinking-oriented area with a decent sized raised stage. There's a reasonable-sized car park at the back - though this gets crowded on busy nights, and sheltered areas front and back for the tobacco-addicted. In common with almost all such places, most period features went AWOL decades ago in misguided modernisation fetishes, though enough remain that it's not without some character.

Rooms could do with updating, and ours certainly would have benefitted from the attentions of a long-handled duster! But cleanliness was otherwise top-notch and we appreciated the provided toiletries. The bed was especially comfortable, and despite an uninterrupted view of a busy roundabout, we found the room peaceful. We're music fans, and let's face it - it's a working pub, so sounds from downstairs were of no concern.

Beer choices were limited, though Theakstone's Best was a welcome option and very well-kept. The food we had - full English breakfasts daily - was absolutely spot-on and with lots of variety included. Just be sure to specify any dislikes if, for instance, things like black pudding scare you!

Downsides were the iffy 1970s plumbing in the en-suite - we had to forgo a shower one day due to lack of hot water, but then we got up VERY late that day, so it was to be expected! The extractor fan in the bathroom was non-functional too, but that caused no issue.

Prices vary from bargain to fair depending which room you book and what dates etc, and with this in mind, plus the difficult nature of the pubs trade nowadays and the small family team running the place, you need to recognise this isn't the Savoy - be realistic, and make sure music is part of your life, and you will enjoy this friendly, informal, comfortable and very conveniently-situated inn.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are en-suite - check when booking. Be aware that an inn such as this will never be qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the railway hotel on a family visit and found it a charming place. The landlord and landlady were extremely friendly and the room spotless. There was a live band which we could hear in the room but they were that good that we went back downstairs and joined in so it wasn't a problem at all.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsmantwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This hotel is in desperate need of an upgrade. The rooms are single glazed and very outdated. The Railway Hotel is exactly what you would expect from a huge Victorian building. HOWEVER - our room was spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable and we slept very well. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and nothing was too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandieCaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

My husband, sister-in-law and I stayed here for a night en route to board our hired narrowboat for a trip on the Shropshire Union Canal system. Innkeepers Jane and Nigel had communicated with us via email prior to our stay and had recommended the two-beddroom building detached from the main building, a fun Victorian pub and inn decorated in a Beatles theme. The Railway draws qyute a crowd on weekends as it is a klive music venue. Our quarters were totally quiet and we all had a great night's sleep plus a fine full English breakfastthe next morning. The bathroom in our little cottage was long and narrow and panelled in wood which gave us good practice for the compact quarters of a British narrowboat, 72 feet long and just 6.5 feet wid (to fit though the canal locks) Nigel was an absoloutely perfect host and took time to help us with anything we needed. This inn is handy to both the Nantwich and the larger and busier Crewe rail stations. There's a supermarket across the road and our favorite market, Aldi's is next door, terrific for provisioning your hireboat. We'd definitely stay here agin -- it's a bit like the Cheers place where you feel like a local immediately. Even Oscar, the huge German Shepherd, was welcoming!

Room Tip: If you want peace a nd quiet, do requestthe detached en suite quarters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AECNorthBrunswick_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

great place confortable room, we love the dog many thanks

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank concord35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Nantwich
341 reviews
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Crewe Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Cheshire Cat
The Cheshire Cat
#5 of 5 in Nantwich
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
The Swan Inn Rooms
The Swan Inn Rooms
#1 of 1 in Wybunbury
150 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe (Nantwich) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Railway Hotel

Address: Pillory Street, Nantwich CW5 5SS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Nantwich
Price Range: £35 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Railway Hotel Nantwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing