We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Railway Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Nantwich
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
The Crown Hotel(Nantwich)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
29
16
5
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
16
5
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubbeatles memorabiliagreat live musicstayed herefull englishexcellent breakfastgreat facilitiescomfortable bedstown centreplace to staynext morningnigelbandweekendhostsmarqueecrewe
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel as a stop point on a long distance walk due to its location.
From arrival things seemed to be a little off, I know they had a busy weekend with the 'Jazz Feastival' going on, but it seemed that we were interupting things by arriving.
The room given was large but in poor condition, fittings in the Bathroom fell off the wall, it was all rather tired and dated.
Accepting that the noise from the music went on until midnight, the room was still not quiet, with banging of doors and noise through until 3am, not a great sleep.
Breakfast was adiquate, no real options and all fried, the breakfast room seemed to be bing used as a store room, maybe this was due to the bust weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chillie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Myself and 3 other friends stayed here as we were attending a friends 30th birthday party in nantwich. The room was clean and tidy with nice comfy beds and the owners were very welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. The cooked breakfast the next day was lovely with as much tea and coffee as we asked for. We were told we could check out when we wanted and there was no set time for breakfast which was great for 4 very hung over ladies!!!! We all said we would stay here again as its fantastic value for money and we felt very welcome here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny1981_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

My wife and I live in Northwich and decided to go to see a friends band playing here. Rather than drive and not being able to drink, or spending a fortune on a taxi, we booked a room. A warm greeting accompanying a really friendly atmosphere where the first points to mention. The room was lovely, it was warm, cosy and spotlessly clean. The bar was friendly and service good, band was terrific and in the morning the breakfast was excellent. We will be making this a regular jaunt as the value compared with driving or taking a taxi is excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philthedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

The Railway was a convenient place to stay after our works christmas night out. It was a great price so we were not expecting too much......but it was lovely, clean and hospitable. Nigel the landlord was really accomodating. We had an amazing cooked breakfast for only £5. We all said we would definately go back to stay there again and would recommed it. The only set back was the shower, it was awkward to get the temperature warm. I have to mention Oscar the old Alsatian, he is adorable and I wanted to bring him home with me.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanieandGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

My partner and I stayed here for three nights in order to make the most of the 2012 Nantwich Words and Music Festival and to explore the town itself.

The Railway Hotel is a classic Victorian inn run by friendly, music-enthusiast hosts who do their very best to give good value in what is becoming a VERY difficult trade.

The bars are split between a cafe-style dining room and a large open drinking-oriented area with a decent sized raised stage. There's a reasonable-sized car park at the back - though this gets crowded on busy nights, and sheltered areas front and back for the tobacco-addicted. In common with almost all such places, most period features went AWOL decades ago in misguided modernisation fetishes, though enough remain that it's not without some character.

Rooms could do with updating, and ours certainly would have benefitted from the attentions of a long-handled duster! But cleanliness was otherwise top-notch and we appreciated the provided toiletries. The bed was especially comfortable, and despite an uninterrupted view of a busy roundabout, we found the room peaceful. We're music fans, and let's face it - it's a working pub, so sounds from downstairs were of no concern.

Beer choices were limited, though Theakstone's Best was a welcome option and very well-kept. The food we had - full English breakfasts daily - was absolutely spot-on and with lots of variety included. Just be sure to specify any dislikes if, for instance, things like black pudding scare you!

Downsides were the iffy 1970s plumbing in the en-suite - we had to forgo a shower one day due to lack of hot water, but then we got up VERY late that day, so it was to be expected! The extractor fan in the bathroom was non-functional too, but that caused no issue.

Prices vary from bargain to fair depending which room you book and what dates etc, and with this in mind, plus the difficult nature of the pubs trade nowadays and the small family team running the place, you need to recognise this isn't the Savoy - be realistic, and make sure music is part of your life, and you will enjoy this friendly, informal, comfortable and very conveniently-situated inn.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are en-suite - check when booking. Be aware that an inn such as this will never be quiet in the evenings. Fab place for music fans - something different every night!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews