We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disapointed with the breakfast !!”
Review of The Cheshire Cat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cheshire Cat
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Kidderminster
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disapointed with the breakfast !!”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

On arrival we checked in and was taken to a room which was not even made up and smelt of sick.The member of staff was very apologetic and gave us complementry drink which we kindly accepted, A fresh room was sort and was clean & fresh, power shower was a nice touch. breakfast was one of the worst i have ever endured
poached eggs which were cold and hard.bacon cooked on the griddle from the previous nights steak, sausage half cooked as were the tomatoes beans okay hash browns swimming in grease mushrooms inedable. fresh fruit was kept in fridge. and we had to ask for a portion which came 25mins after asking for it. you May ask your self was it busy ?,no a family of three was in thier who were also dissapointed.the waitress seemed to be rushed off her feet i can only imagine she must have been helping get Sunday lunch ready.we did mention to the waitress that egg was inedable.which she kindly replaced
and asked if we had enjoyed our Brekfast of course the answer was NO. when checking out we advised the desk that chief needs to book his/her ideas up as we were very disapointed .The gentleman did take note and made his apoliges. Lovely building nice staff & tried to be attentive..Food -10 for breakfast. shame

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bertiegemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCatAtNantwich, Director at The Cheshire Cat, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Hello Gemma. I've tried to take some positives from your review and so am pleased that you liked our building and found the staff to be nice and attentive. The breakfast was obviously a big disappointment to you and for that I can only apologise. We have many, many compliments on our cooked breakfasts from both hotel residents and from our regular customers coming in for breakfast throughout the week. On speaking with the Duty Manager you made your disappointment known and he did his level best to rectify the situation for you. Once again, please accept our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    56
    32
    15
    13
See reviews for
29
86
2
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We went for a romantic weekend. had a lovely welcome from behind the bar and also upon entering restaurant. stayed in the octagon suite. highly recommend it and room was quite clean. in the restaurant, the complimentary bread was a nice touch and the staff were attentive.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jemzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCatAtNantwich, Director at The Cheshire Cat, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Hi there, thank you for your review! It's lovely to see you enjoyed your romantic getaway and spending time in our Octagon Suite! I shall pass on your compliments to both the front of house and kitchen teams. Hopefully we shall see you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wem, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

We went for Sunday tea last night, a lovely welcome from behind the bar and also upon entering restaurant. Complimentary bread a nice touch, the attentiveness of the staff let the place down as had to ask for our order to be taken, had to ask for more drinks-all our glasses were empty, but when we spoke to the staff they were very chatty, friendly and engaging. A slight wait for our food but it was a delicious Sunday tea, I had roast pork, plenty of meat and veg, couldn't quite eat it all as so full! Had no room for dessert! We then went back to the bar to chill out, dirty glasses were all around and no one cleared them until late on, once again we all had empty glasses and should of a staff member come by we would of had another round of drinks. Overall lovely food and friendly staff but the lack of attention to detail let the Cheshire Cat down.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MoorheadBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCatAtNantwich, Director at The Cheshire Cat, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Hi Becca, thank you for your review. It's really good to see your were welcomed warmly and enjoyed our lovely Sunday Set Menu lunch. I'm really disappointed that you felt let down by the lack of attention to detail in terms of offering you more drinks and ensuring glassware is cleared as quickly as possible. This is something we are working really hard on with our new management team and I hope that on your next visit you will notice a marked improvement and have a thoroughly enjoyable time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed in the annex, a one bedroom flat with kitchen and sitting room, very clean, atmospheric bar and decent breakfast given it was news years day.

No double glazing so it might feel a bit noisy on a fri/sat night if you aren't used to town traffic.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCatAtNantwich, Director at The Cheshire Cat, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Great to have received your review on your stay in our Mews apartment! Thank you for taking the time to post and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

My partner booked the Octagon Room as a surprise. This was our second stay in this room and it matched our previous stay. The hotel and bar has a lovely cosy atmosphere. The staff are efficient and helpful. The room itself is luxurious - on the expensive side but worth it as a treat for a romantic night away. It is clean, the bed is comfy and the big double bath is a lovely touch. Breakfast was included with a good choice available, and was extremely nice. Service at breakfast was, again, very efficient and both check in and check out were swift. At weekends the pub plays loud music later on which you can hear in the room. To be fair they do inform you of this on their website and it didn't disturb us. All in all a lovely, friendly hotel with extra added touches to make you feel welcome. The staff are a credit to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karenwal77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCatAtNantwich, Director at The Cheshire Cat, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thank you, Karen, for your review. It's lovely to see you had another wonderful stay with us and how nice of your partner to book the Octagon as a surprise for you! I shall pass on your kind comments to the team and make sure they know what a credit they are to the company. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Right in the middle of Welsh Row, the pub and hotel mix contemporary design in an old building. Bar food and restaurant food of a good standard if not cheap. Gets busy on a weekend but generally plenty of seats.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iainricho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCatAtNantwich, Director at The Cheshire Cat, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thanks Ian for your comments on our venue. We really value our regular customers taking the time to post their review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Stayed here on a Thursday night on a business trip in Nantwich. Hotel is part of a pub/bar/restaurant complex, reached through the beer garden. Design and interiors very modern and contemporary- right up there with other boutique hotels I've stayed in around the world. Had dinner at its Italian sister restaurant, Firenze, across the road as the hotel's restaurant was booked out (always a good sign). Bed extremely comfortable, large bathroom with 'luxury' power shower- very nice. Freshly cooked vegetarian English breakfast included in room charge was nicely done. Non-vege option also available. Service wasn't great- waitress didn't ask which coffee or how eggs were preferred- disappeared quickly and no other staff to be seen (short-staffed maybe?) when I went to specify. Also had to ask for butter, juice glass and plate for toast once she came back with food. Not sure about Black Sabbath playing in the dining room before 9am- a bit heavy before the first coffee of the morning had been drunk- did wake me up though! Would def stay again.

Room Tip: Do note that the hotel is in an area near clubs and bars. I don't mind music- will sleep when ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank specialjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
2.3 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#5 of 5 in Nantwich
328 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe (Nantwich) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,156 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Hunters Lodge
The Hunters Lodge
#4 of 9 in Crewe
280 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crewe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheshire Cat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheshire Cat

Property: The Cheshire Cat
Address: 26 Welsh Row, Nantwich CW5 5ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheshire Cat 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Cheshire Cat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheshire Cat Hotel Nantwich
The Cheshire Cat Nantwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing