We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow great place”

Residence Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Residence Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 106 Restaurants in Nantwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$44
Cuisines: European, Healthy, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: In a 17th-century Georgian mansion house, Residence Restaurant & Bar offers international cuisine, a sophisticated cocktail bar and an al fresco garden terrace, across 2 elegantly designed floors. Beautiful and sumptuous, the interior at Residence Nantwich has intimate tables, chandeliers and chic furnishings. Residence is a popular Cheshire restaurant serving steaks, grills and local produce. Innovative and creative, The Residence menu features seasonal dishes. Residence has an international wine list and the dessert menu features treats like Chocolate Orange Torte or Trio of Desserts to share. In the centre of Nantwich, Residence Restaurant is housed in a charming Regency building, and is open 7 days a week.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
329 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“wow great place”
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Great place to dine in Nantwich not been there for a couple of years and it's still top rate staff are all great they know what they are talking about with the menu drinks and wines are a little on the high side but I could live with that with the class of customer they get in keep the hard work up team Residence see you again

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank johnwhite18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    118
    58
    23
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I was so disappointed”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

I went here on good reports from friends and checking trip advisor as I always do, I went for my 35 bday with my family of 5, on arrival I was so impressed the decor is lovely and the bar staff and drinks were great good choice and cocktails impressive.
It was very cold inside so told the staff and they stated that they would put the heating on long story short I am hot bloody but spent the whole night with my coat on
We ordered the food and I had the mixed platter it was very nice my mum had mushroom choice and told the staff fit was cold the brought it back saying the chef said it should be cold I have eaten in many places and never had a course of mushrooms as a starter without it outlining it on the menu cold very upset
My main course came of steak skewers looked very impressive, 3 out of 5 had the same all cold and sent back, I complained again to staff so they brought us more out it was very quick maybe 3-4 mins as soon as I eat into mine it was cold, my partner had fish and chips and luckily for her they were fine
I complained and we had 25% off the bill and the main courses refunded the bill still came to £134 It was very expensive and we only had a couple of drinks each
Needless to say we will not be returning
I would like to think that we went on a off day, but people if you are thinking of going be WARNED it ruined my birthday anyway.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Just Gorgeous”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were invited by friends to celebrate a 40th Birthday & it was one of the best dining out experiences we've had for a long time. With elegant surroundings and an impressive cocktail list things were off to a good start - the bar staff were extremely professional and impressive remembering 2/3 customer orders at a time & all were constantly correct & delicious. The food could not possibly be faulted as a veggie I sometimes feel that I get the short straw but definately not here. Staff were attentive, chatty & witty with nothing too much trouble - all adding up to a fantastic evening. The icing on the cake was the bar was open until late too so after the meal we could even have a little boogie - perfect. We have already recommended it to other friends & family members & will be going back very soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jude B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Great food and atmosphere. A relaxing environment with professional staff. Dinner was superb a new favourite place to eat in Nantwich. Also no need to move on as the bar was great too. Fantastic choice of quality drinks and cocktails.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GAFDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, good value”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Visited 16th Jan at lunchtime. Had the fixed price menu - 2 courses for £15.95. I had the anti pasta misto. Prosciutto, tomato, mozzarella, olives. Absolutely delicious and plenty. My wife had celeriac and watercress soup with cheese crouton. I tasted this and it was gorgeous. Plaice with sweet potato "chips". Really really tasty. My colleague had steak cooked perfectly and was so tender. No one could manage sweet. The restaurant is really nice and well decorated giving a nice quiet feel. Staff were efficient and friendly without being overfamiliar, very professional. I would definitely recommend it and will return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelcr30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Residence Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Nantwich, Cheshire
Faddiley, Nantwich
 

Been to Residence Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing