We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So interesting”
Review of Weaver Hall Museum

Weaver Hall Museum
Ranked #13 of 32 things to do in Northwich
Attraction details
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“So interesting”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A place I had been meaning to visit for years, finally got there when a family member came to stay. It was very well laid out, very interesting and staff were helpful. Good value.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Frogletsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    29
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Weaver Hall Museum ex Salt Museum”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Nice little museum. Adult £3.00 entry. In the process of re-organisation with very little to do with Salt. More to do with local life and its time as a workhouse. An hour or so pleasant visit. Has a coffee shop.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Change of name”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This museum is now called the Weaver Hall museum. Artefacts relating to salt have been removed and are to be placed in the Lion Salt Works about 3 miles away in Marston.
The Lion Works look to be a major development , still being restored but I believe is due to open later in 2014.
The Weaver museum is now about local life and still worth a visit

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Edward587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
453 reviews
258 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Lovely little museum”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Fascinating little museum on the history of Northwich and the salt industry. It's quite small and doesn't have the whistles and bells that bigger more modern museums offer but it's charmingly laid out with great care and dedication. We spent a couple of hours there with our 9 year old who was fascinated with the old schoolroom.
They have started doing historical craft markets at weekends which are great for some unusual presents and well worth a visit- I hope these will continue (and perhaps be better marketed - I only caught the last one as I was driving past!!) There are also craft activities for kids over the holidays which my son has enjoyed and he liked the WW2 event - (if it had been during the week his whole class could have gone as that was what they were studying at the time!)
It's a real gem this place - do visit - we should treasure it.
If you are travelling a distance to see it, do the Anderton Boat Lift in the other half of your day out (but make sure the boats there are running!)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank neddyb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
169 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“small but interesting”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This small museum was excellent value and our visit lasted an hour and a half. The salt aspect was most interesting and informative. i particularly enjoyed seeing the displays and videos about the effects the mining has had on the surrounding area, and explanation as to why there are no very old buildings in the vicinity.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Tallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Weaver Hall Museum also viewed

 

Been to Weaver Hall Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing