We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:30 - 16:00
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely Santa Cruise

We had a lovely time on the Santa Cruise. I booked for me and my little girl and my friends from... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
madamerangetout
,
Warrington, United Kingdom
Great Free Attraction

An attraction to please a wide age group. Interactive displays, film of the history of the lift, a... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Peter L
,
Northwich, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1,070 reviews
  
Reviews (1,070)
Filter reviews
1,070 results
Traveller rating
626
334
68
21
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
626
334
68
21
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river victorian engineering well worth a visit amazing piece of engineering falkirk wheel working order trent mersey canal souvenir shop country park car park industrial heritage nice cafe information centre small museum interesting visit sunny day plenty of parking
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,070 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Anderton Boat lift is somewhere I’ve been wanting to visit for ages. There is always the risk that it won’t live up to expectation. Not so here. It is a fascinating site. Entry to the exhibition centre and the grounds is free. There is a short video and a lot of information about the boat lift and its restoration, as well as activities for the children. It is worth taking time to read this before joining a boat trip.

You can also watch the person controlling boat movement up and down the lift.

The lift itself is an amazing construction, designed to lift boats the 50’ from the River Weaver to the canal above. It is still very much a working lift and we were surprised by the number of canal boats using the lift while we were there.

it is possible to book a boat trip up on the lift. The short trip takes about 30 minutes and there is a helpful commentary explaining the history behind the lift and how it works. The boat goes up so smoothly you are not aware of movement until you look out and see the iron framework moving down against the windows. Longer trips also include a trip along the River Weaver.

There is a small shop and very good cafe attached to the museum.

This was a very well worth while day and fully lived up to expectation and was enjoyed by all three generations of the family

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank EESW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2018

We attended the Remembrance Commemoration of 100 years since the end of WW1 today. Thousands of poppy petals allowed to fall from the top of the lift - also known as The Cathedral of The Canals. Two beautifully presented historic boats at the foot of the lift with poppt petals falling on them and a historic steam boat on the river to toot its whistle to signify the end of the silence. A fantastic service to remember the boatmen who gave the ultimate sacrifice but whose names do not appear on any memorial in any town or village because of the itinierant lifestyle required to operate the boats. We will remember them. Thank you to Canal & River Trust for making this a very special commemoration

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank JanChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2018

Awestruck by the engineering to join a canal on one level to River down below, recommend the cruise and lift experience as you don't actually see much while in the lift due to high sides of the tank, Commentary was very informative but felt they tried to tell me too much instead of allowing us to just savour the experience of the ride. There is very informative display in centre to find out more, lovely restaurant and obligatory souvenir shop, very interesting trip, worth a visit

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank backpackernot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

Free to go in to the centre. ( Cruise which includes going up/ down in the lift is extra) Exhibition is very good. Some interactive exhibits for young children. Nice grounds with gardens and picnic tables. Good viewing area with information signs. Nice nautically themed playground with a maze. Cafe. Toilets.We went on a wet Tuesday afternoon during half term and it wasn't that busy. Might be busier on a sunny day at the weekend. We didn't take the cruise as we felt our children may be bored for an hour but it wasn't necessary. We saw the lift in operation and all of us found it very interesting. Very good for a couple of hours and reminds us of our important industrial history. NB. Big carpark which charged £2 for 3 hours.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank PStadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

I signed on a beautifully sunny day. Went around the boat lift and then walked along the canal both ways - very enjoyable.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Jilllian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews