We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:30 - 16:00
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely Santa Cruise

We had a lovely time on the Santa Cruise. I booked for me and my little girl and my friends from... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
madamerangetout
,
Warrington, United Kingdom
Great Free Attraction

An attraction to please a wide age group. Interactive displays, film of the history of the lift, a... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Peter L
,
Northwich, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1,070 reviews
  
Reviews (1,070)
Filter reviews
1,070 results
Traveller rating
626
334
68
21
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
626
334
68
21
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river victorian engineering well worth a visit amazing piece of engineering falkirk wheel working order trent mersey canal souvenir shop country park car park industrial heritage nice cafe information centre small museum interesting visit sunny day plenty of parking
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,070 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went on the short boat trip along the river Weaver from the boat lift. A short boat trip with excellent commentary was followed by afternoon tea in the marquee. There were plenty of cakes and a scone and a few sandwiches. Plenty of tea and coffee served by very friendly staff. Highly recommended afternoon and excellent value for money.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank WhatNoBiscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was a repeat visit for myself and my husband as we had visied years ago and we weren't disappointed. The last time we visited was in summer but it was very busy and so this I suggested we go in me mid autumn, and I must say it was much easier to get around and so we stayed for 4 hours. I am a photographer and because there were fewer people around I could click to my hearts content. To me, it serves to remind us of represent the amazing engineers in history who designed and built such amazing structures as this and to see they are still standing proudly in this the 21 century but were built in the industrial revolution of over 100 hundred years ago and hoping they are still standing for many many years to come. If we had arrived in the morning we could have walked along side the river or maybe walk through the parkland, we shall save that visit until spring next year. Being a photographer I usually either landscapes/seascapes, wildlife, animal portraits however this spot gave me the opportunity to try something different and I wasn't disapointed, in fact I was delighted. I use only natural light and was so happy to see the beautiful light while shooting in the "golden hour" before I packed up to leave. As we waited for the "golden hour" we enjoyed a coffee and a slice of chocolate cake, which was really good and then we had a wander around the shop. One thing I noticed was the children's playground and the children playing there look as if they were having a great time.

Summarising we both really enjoyed our second visit, there were fewer people around, probably due to the time of the year, the playground was great for children, the cafe was lovely and our cake and coffee was really good and if like me you are a photographer
it's good too. P.S. I shall upload a photo just as soon as I've edited them.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank maggiehcarter7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Anderton Boat lift is somewhere I’ve been wanting to visit for ages. There is always the risk that it won’t live up to expectation. Not so here. It is a fascinating site. Entry to the exhibition centre and the grounds is free. There is a short video and a lot of information about the boat lift and its restoration, as well as activities for the children. It is worth taking time to read this before joining a boat trip.

You can also watch the person controlling boat movement up and down the lift.

The lift itself is an amazing construction, designed to lift boats the 50’ from the River Weaver to the canal above. It is still very much a working lift and we were surprised by the number of canal boats using the lift while we were there.

it is possible to book a boat trip up on the lift. The short trip takes about 30 minutes and there is a helpful commentary explaining the history behind the lift and how it works. The boat goes up so smoothly you are not aware of movement until you look out and see the iron framework moving down against the windows. Longer trips also include a trip along the River Weaver.

There is a small shop and very good cafe attached to the museum.

This was a very well worth while day and fully lived up to expectation and was enjoyed by all three generations of the family

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank EESW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2018

We attended the Remembrance Commemoration of 100 years since the end of WW1 today. Thousands of poppy petals allowed to fall from the top of the lift - also known as The Cathedral of The Canals. Two beautifully presented historic boats at the foot of the lift with poppt petals falling on them and a historic steam boat on the river to toot its whistle to signify the end of the silence. A fantastic service to remember the boatmen who gave the ultimate sacrifice but whose names do not appear on any memorial in any town or village because of the itinierant lifestyle required to operate the boats. We will remember them. Thank you to Canal & River Trust for making this a very special commemoration

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank janwT2714TR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2018

Awestruck by the engineering to join a canal on one level to River down below, recommend the cruise and lift experience as you don't actually see much while in the lift due to high sides of the tank, Commentary was very informative but felt they tried to tell me too much instead of allowing us to just savour the experience of the ride. There is very informative display in centre to find out more, lovely restaurant and obligatory souvenir shop, very interesting trip, worth a visit

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank backpackernot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews