We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Period character but food could be better”
Review of The Holly Bush Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Holly Bush Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Northwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This pub has real period character, the bar oozes history and they don't make them like this anymore. Sadly the food is disappointing, you don't have to search to hard for better dishes at comparative prices......typical meal costs about £10 but no better than we have found at other places. I was genuinely shocked at the whitebait, never found it so poor - they don't even offer so much a dip with it and that's unusual....

I t was disappointing to see bored staff in an adjoining room, lying around, gossiping and clearly anxious to get away....overall, I would say head to the Leigh Arms along the road or the Riverside.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank thomda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed here and would highly recomend this hotel to anyone. The staff are all fantastic and very friendly they cant do enough for you. When we arrived we were greeted by Martin who is the manager, our room was ready for us even though we got there at 12.30, we stayed in the family room which was immaculate, lovely towels folded on all the beds and all the tea and coffee facilities you need.The beds were really comfortable, and anyone who says otherwise must obviously come from a luxury mansion, as in all the years i have stayed in hotels this is the best by far. The food is to divine and you can clearly tell that it is all fresh home cooked food, the chef is called Martin too and was a lovely chap, who came to speak to us whilst we were sat in the beautiful gardens, and when i say beautiful it really is outstanding and catered for all children and adults as they have a bouncy castle and a park in the gardens along with lovely clean garden furniture. The surroundings are stunning too. I would definatley return here and would highly recommend to anyone. A beautiful place with lovely staff that cant do enough for you. Thankyou once again to all the staff and the lovely friendly regular customers, we will be back. And a huge thankyou to Barry (the owner) for everything and making our stay so enjoyable.XX

Room Tip: Any room as the place is so serene and tranquil on a night, all with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Checked in about 3pm on Friday 19th July, was welcomed and checked in by Martin who offered us a drink from the bar to take up to the room (bar closed between 2 and 5pm). We had an upstairs double room en-suite, pine furniture, really comfortable bed and 32" flat screen TV. As it was a really hot day my husband asked Martin for a fan which he supplied straight away. We booked our meal for 7.30 and had a couple of drinks in the beer garden before dining. The food and service was excellent, very attentive staff and always on hand to help. After our meal we returned to the beer garden with a bottle of wine, it was a really lovely evening the beer garden is huge and has the usual picnic benches as well as plentiful garden furniture, swings, slides and bouncy castle for the young ones (I only wish we had found it when our son was young, it would have been ideal!). We booked breakfast for 9am, the table was all set ready with a jug of fresh orange and Martin offered us tea, coffee, toast and we both opted for the full English but you could have any variation of breakfast. The food was again excellent, everything is piping hot and fresh and plentiful portions.
I would recommend this Inn to anyone looking for a relaxing break away with excellent food and service. The Inn and bar is a listed building which dates back to the late 1700s and the accommodation is in the separate converted annexes. It was lovely to see the old fixtures and fittings still intact and the restaurant being kept within the character of the Inn. Everyone we spoke to were pleasant and helpful and made us feel welcome. There are other bars and restaurants within walking distance and plenty of golf courses in the area. We will definitely return again as soon as we can. Thanks to Martin for your excellent attention to detail and making our stay really enjoyable. Kevin and Barbara

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderer253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Lovely good quality food, massive portions.

Staff are very friendly and service was quick. Went on a Sunday around 6pm.

Restaurant looked a bit outdated, could do with redecorating.

Would visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lmw1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Went out for a works lunch a few weeks ago. To be fair the place is really picturesque and the staff are really friendly, but for a pub it lacks atmosphere and the food is avarage at best. But another plus side is that they do have really good guest ales at very good prices.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris_Atherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is a superb local pub in an excellent location just minutes from the M6. We stated in the (huge) car park in our Motorhome, as the pub has a reciprocal arrangement with a Motorhome owners club. So we cannot comment on the rooms, although the whole set-up looked really nice. But the food in the restaurant was great value, with an extensive menu. Wine prices were also very reasonable. We would gladly stay or eat at this pub again; in fact, I'm sure we will.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I repair catering equipment all over the country..and that how i stumbeled across this pub..its now one off my best pubs to visit ,stay,eat and drink...most kitchens i visit are not the cleanest and put me off eating there...this one i can kindly says is spotless...and food is lovely...even the chips are nice home made ones not frozen ..and the rooms in the barn convertion have a very warm feel..its a family run pub...which is gtreat to drink and eat outside in the summer..you can let the kids play on the bouncy castle and have a nice meal and drink without hassel....5 stars in my opinion

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Northwich hotels
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Northwich South Hotel
0.9 mi away
Wall Hill Farm Guest House
4 mi away
Hartford Hall
Hartford Hall
#1 of 1 in Hartford
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Northwich (Sandiway) Hotel
Show Prices

Been to The Holly Bush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holly Bush Inn

Address: Warrington Road, Northwich CW8 4QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Northwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Northwich
Price Range: £53 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Holly Bush Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holly Bush Inn Northwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing